Insider's Guide to New York City

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 437 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a super day. The guide was really informative and made everybody feel at home.

We went to some interesting places before the service.

The service was vibrant and we were made to feel welcome. Such an uplifting experience.

Food at Sylvia's was terrific and plentiful. Chicken-fish-ribs- wonderful potato salad-rice.
Great singer there - again everybody was friendly .

Would recommend this trip to anybody.

marilyn j. w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What a wonderful experience! Lots of great information was gained about Harlem, but the visit to the Green Pastures Baptist Church in the Bronx, was the highlight!!

Kristin J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was everything I hoped for and more. We learned a lot about Harlem and had a couple stops along the way to see the sites. The finale at the Baptist Church for their Praise and Worship service was amazing! Highly recommend!

Joanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved this tour. Booked after a recommendation from a friend. Harlem was not anything like I expected but the area, the church and gospel service were wonderful. Loved the atmosphere and welcome from the congregation. Shame was we were called out of the church after an hour for the next part of the tour. Would have liked to stay longer to hear more.

Damian our guide was full of interesting facts all the way around the tour. He was enthusiastic and engaging.

Lunch wasn't the soul food experience I was expecting.

Alicia Newburn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful food great experience

NEVILLE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved this tour. It was amazing. Harlem was not anything like I expected but the church and gospel service were wonderful. Loved the atmosphere and welcome from the congregation. An experience I will always remember. Shame was we were called out of the church and back on the bus much too quickly. Would have liked to stay longer.

Þórhildur L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip was superb, excellent guide and driver and the visit to the Bronx church was superb. I highly reccomend this tour to those who are interested.

Judi K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This trip was amazing from start to finish our tour guide Darren was superb and the gospel choir were awesome

Alan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was the highlight of our stay in New York, what a great experience, we ended up at the THESSALONIA WORSHIP CENTRE in the Bronx, we witnessed genuine worshippers going about their Sunday worship singing and talking about their community, at the end they all turned around and waved us off shaking a few hands along the way, if you are going to New York this trip is a must, my wife and I are not religious you will not be preached at but you will be invited to join in and ITS FUN.

lynnebrownlow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very interesting, Damian our guide was full of interesting facts. He was enthusiastic and engaging.

Eli M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. The congregants welcomed us with open arms, and the singers and musicians were amazing!

ann t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was ineresting and a lot of fun

david p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

very informative,the whole tour was perfect,guide great, very comfortable ride,enjoyed the Gospel,wanted to do it for a long time.

Attorney Lydia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Everyone was welcoming and Friendly. Wow. And Selma the Tour Guide was New York City itself. She knew the history. The past. The present and the future of every street.
Selma. Took great care of us. Took our names and had the choir sing happy birthday to my daughter.
The Cotton Club was a treat

Lowell G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A memory to keep

George E B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We wanted to see Harlem and had limited time. this was a great way to explore the area by bus, learn about its history and architecture. The tour guide did a great job, the sunday service was very unique, and the brunch with entertainment was great.

Jeffrey J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour is not to be missed
It takes into the lives of passionate people who do not set out to entertain you
But entertained you certainly are

Brenda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide, Alvin, was fantastic. I never knew anything about Harlem before this tour and learned so much about the rich history that borough has. The Gospel Church was amazing to see! They had such energy and spirit! Truly a unique tour that I would highly recommend!

Maria Victoria H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The experience was excellent! We took the spanish tour and it was wondeful. I don't remember the name of our guide but he was excellent: once we left the meeting point at Times Square, he started explaining everything that was in our way to Harlem/Bronx. He gave us very good information in general about NYC and specially about the neighbourhoods we visited. The gospel ceremony was excellent and interesting to have the chance of seeing a part of the culture that you rarely could see in other way. I would definitely recommend it!

Melissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a great tour. I highly recommend this tour for a completely different experience. The tour guide was great and knew a lot about the areas we went past. I had an infant and toddler who enjoyed the church and music. All members of the church welcomed us.

Harry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We loved this tour. We learned a lot about Harlem and loved worshiping at the Kelly Temple. The congregation was warm and welcoming and the service was lively and uplifting. We would highly recommend this tour!

Gary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour really shows a side of New York that most tourists would not think about.

lesley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fabulous tour! The guide was really well informed and the congregation at the gospel church were genuine in their warm welcome. A great experience!

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was excellent. We pre booked before leaving Sydney. The tour guide Ronnie was engaging very knowledgeable and entertained us throughout the tour. On the return trip the bus dropped people off wherever they wanted which was very nice.the tour of Harlem was informative and very interesting. The church we visited was in the Bronx I noticed the queues for Harlem churches which we drove past were very long.
Our church service was at the Green Pastures Baptist Church. We were made very welcome there were two coach tours which supplemented the congregation and added to the atmosphere. The singing was fantastic and the the congregation had both tour groups up on their feet joining in the singing very enthusiastically. There were two collections one for the local poor and one for repairs to the church caused by hurricane Sandy. The damage was quite evident. I would recommend this tour.

Robert and Trisha stark
Cromer Heights
Sydney

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Unforgettable experience! The guide was very helpful and we learned a lot about Harlem. The ceremony was very moving and the people very friendly. A must in NY city.

Viewing 3 of 18

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 58.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3453TG1

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message