• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 149 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  4 - 6 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 149 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Great guide, amazing mass, "happy days"! :-)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Brilliant - no other words would describe this. Loved every minute of the tour, great guide and the music from the church was awesome. Tourist participation was also another plus. Would totally recommend this tour

Rob
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Overall, a fantastic tour and well worth the money.

Specifically, the chaos at the meeting point populated by people barking orders (and even getting angry at those of us who either didn't comprehend their convoluted instructions, or understand their accent, or language) makes one want to walk away. Surely a simpler system could be implemented, and people employed to make us tourists feel welcome.

The guide was lovely, entertaining, and informative.

The highlight was the gospel singing - what a TREAT! The church was totally packed with tourists - sadly some didn't care much about those behind as they stood up for long periods to take videos. My tip: go in late when the seats are full - then stand along a wall where the view is clear.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

It was worth coming to New York just to do this tour. Amazing singers and Harlem was nothing like I expected. The lunch at Sylvia's was delicious and after seeing it on Masterchef, couldn't wait to visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Wonderful look at the areas you might not be comfortable going to alone, with plenty of history along the way. The Gospel singing was really good to watch, definitely the highlight.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our Harlem Gospel Tour experience. Alvin was a fantastic guide, with humourous and insightful commentary. Sylvia's was a real treat - especially since it had featured on Australia's MasterChef.

bosun
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Loved this tour. Very spiritual and our guide Shiela was very informative. Enjoyed the soul food at the restaurant on the completion of the tour. Would recommend you take the lunch option.

jtho73
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

We had no idea how beautiful Harlem is. It completely destroyed the stereotype that we had before we saw the stunning architecture and parks. The Gospel service was fantastic and lunch was delicious! This was one of our favourite New York experiences.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Every part of it was fabulous:The tour guide, the tour, the history of Harlem and of course the gospel choir and lunch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

was really good and defo worth it, the food was great aswell :)

Ronald N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

A very knowledgeable guide. Slightly repititious views of Harlem. Magnificent gospel singing. Would do justice in an Opera House.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Totally awesome

Vesna S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

What a fantastic tour this was. Was nearly up singing and dancing with the singers!!! A must if you like gospel. This was the only tour that did not have our details that we had pre booked but lucky they had room for us. We took the lunch package which we thoroughly enjoyed. We were well looked after.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I enjoyed everything about this tour.

Walter D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

We did the Sunday service 18 months ago, so we selected the Wednesday tour this time. We loved BOTH. My partner preferred the Sunday service, while I just LOVED the Wednesday one as it had songs I knew and could join in, and no I am NOT a deeply spiritual person, but I love the Harlem Gospel music and the energy and joy those people have ... Praise the lord and Hallelujia folks, miss this and you are missing a part of America.

From USD $ 58.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3453TG3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message