Insider's Guide to New York City

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 115 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:New York City, New York
  • Duration:4 - 6 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 115 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The Gospel is good a bit expensive my tour guide was wonderful

thankyou

STEPHEN M
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Interesting.
Would not recommend the lunch option, very rushed.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Quite interesting, food pretty good. The church service was not a regular service but a show for the tour buses. 95% of the congregation were on tours.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

A good guide on thebus and very short walking tour. Church singing good but very obviously aimed at tourists. Food at Sylvia's ok but little atmosphere, partly because of all the tourists!

Kevin D
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

If you want a true gospel service experience you might be disappointed, and should look at the Sunday version of this tour. We had an excellent and informative guide( Len) and enjoyed the tour, but the church 'service' element is largely an opportunity for the excellent choir to have a blast and try to sell some dvds to tourists. Having attended gospel worship in Barbados, this was a mild imitation!

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

The highlight of the tour is the ARC gospel performance. Other than that, you may spend too much time sitting in the bus and listen to the guide.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

The highlight was definitely the Gospel choir. They were excellent. The remander of the tour was good but if doing it again I wouldn't go for the lunch. A lot of time was wasted waiting around afterwards for the bus to return. I would also suggest that rather than driving around again after the gospel choir that visitors should be brought directly to the Schomburg Center. We were given 10 minutes to visit it. There is so much worth seeing in this museum visitors shoud be afforded at least 30-45 minutes to appreciate what is on display

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

didnt do the tour due to hurricane sandy :(

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

good tour of harlem - gospel choir wasnt as exepcted - full of ex drug users who sang but wasnt like anything in sister act with uplifting songs

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

To be honest we were a little disappointed. Our tour guide was excellent - interesting, efficient and knowledgeable and we enjoyed seeing Harlem.
Although we thoroughly appreciate that the Gospel Choir helps many people through its drug rehab programme, which we highly commend, from our point of view it was totally unsatisfactory. Firstly the church was too crowded and even upstairs in the gallery, we were unable to see more than two or three people in the choir. We were expecting a concert rather than just a rehearsal and I think that overall the tour was poor value for money. We sing some gospel songs in our own choir and we signed on to the tour to hear the real thing. Maybe we misunderstood, but it was not what we were expecting.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2009

Expected something more gospellish. Our guide was excellent though.

Alma E
Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2008

The Gospel service was very moving, and the soul food lunch extra charge both abundant and tasty. We were very disappointed in the tour bus guide- no information provided that would help us put gospel music into context and even less information about Harlem than was in our guide books. The guide did not make any of the supposedly scheduled stops so we could walk around and take photos or even just look at important sites e.g., Centre for African American Culture-even after reminders and specific requests. On the way back from the lunch, I was reading from the guide book out loud, to share info about landmarks we were passing with my companion the bus driver also made a few comments- and several other passengers said they learned more from the reading and the bus driver's few remarks than they had during the entire guided part of the tour! Very disappointing. Local guides better acquainted with 'spiritual Harlem', or better informed guides with some interest or even some minimal knowledge of Harlem's rich musical history or even architectural, sociological, or political history, any context would have been interesting! Would have made the tour worth recommending. Too bad, because, as mentioned in the beginning, the gospel service and choir were a very moving and interesting experience.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2012

I dont recommend thise trip.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2010

This was very disappointing. There was a random stop for 45 minutes which was simply a toilet stop. My tip - get a cab and for about $10 each way, you will get to the church. You can then attend the service for a fraction of the price, without the length of the tour. Most of it was a waste of time.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2010

There was no service at the church and the locals took all the front seats and stood up so we couldnt see anything from the back. The Soul Food brunch was just ordinary food spare ribs, rice. battered fish, fried chicken, no black eyed peas!!

From USD $ 58.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3453TG3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message