Insider's Guide to New York City

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 37 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Jacqueline S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Great seats, all well organised. We can recommend Viator to others. The Viator outings were the highlights of our trip.

Paula A

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Our New Year's Eve Dinner Cruise went as expected. The crew/staff and food/drink were excellent. Our only disappointment was that dessert was served just before midnight so had to wait till much later to have this - our priority at such a time and occasion was to go on deck and see the magnificent and unforgettable view of the midnight fireworks alongsided the Statue of Liberty - what an sight! After going back below and kicking off the New Year with some dancing (the choice of music was good though a live band would have been much better of course), when we returned to our table the dessert and coffee had already been cleared up due to the time. Overall a great experience and I would recommend this to anyone.

Kirsty S United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Dinner cruise was lovely, staff extremely friendly. Only thing that could be improved would be stating the boat name on the email confirmation as on the night someone was calling 'anyone for The Tempress this way' but I did not know if that was our boat or not so had quite a wait in the snow wondering if we were queuing in the correct area

Tim W United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

We both had a great time, and the food was good too.

Oliver M Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

This was a very enjoyable experience and having travelled with our two adult children it was enjoyed by all. The fireworks were super and the meal was very well presented. Out hotel had overlooked Times Square and we were somewhat overwhelmed by the amount of people there so we were very glad to have the cruise booked.

Albrecht H South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

A lovely evening, though the meal was not fantastic. Some of the courses were cold. A wonderful night view from the boat of all the major Manhattan sights and the fireworks at midnight were fantastic.

Sharon M Ireland

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

Overall, we enjoyed the evening. One thing to watch for though - we received our main course at 11.55! It looked lovely, but we didn't get to eat much of it as we wanted to go up top to watch the fireworks! Aside from that, we had a lovely evening, staff were nice and friendly.

ADRIANA C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2012

WE WISH YOU HAD GONE CLOSER TO THE STATUE OF LIBERTY. AND FOR THE FOOD WE GOT , IT WAS TOO EXPENSIVE

Timothy O USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2007

The service was slow. Food was horrible, except for steak. Food was actually cold, due to slow service. Was basically an over-rated booze cruise.

Laura B USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2007

We took the New Year's Eve cruise. I must say that I was more than a little disappointed with the entire experience. Although the wait staff was friendly and courteous, they were not always timely. We were two courses behind those seated around us by the time our waiter came to ask for our meal choices. And, unfortunately, the food was worse than disappointing. I think when one spends more than 600 for two meals the food should taste pretty good. In fact, I think the food should rival in taste and quality that of some of the city's better restaurants. The cured beef appetizer had the same texture as my cats canned food the seared swordfish was overcooked, dry and tasteless and the chocolate desert was less attractive and less tasty than a Hostess Cupcake. The skyline was a lovely sight and the open bar was open and serving. Perhaps providing passengers with ample libations was their attempt to disguise their exceedingly expensive yet poorly prepared and poor tasting food.

woebent

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

In all my years of visiting New York this is the first occasion I have felt ripped off, so perhaps I shouldn.t complain. We were onboard at 20,30 having waited in line for ten to fifteen minutes in the open air. The disco style music started shortly after wards and continued non stop until 1a.m. the seat was by a window which did not fasten securely so there was a draught with the top of the window steamed up and a clear patch underneath. Saw little flashes of fireworks as we sailed along backwards and forwards up and down the port. The food was edible but nothing special similar to U.K. motorway food and the service very poor. We started our main course 1hr 25mins after our starter and had two drinks in the 4hours 40 minutes we were on board 1small dubonnet and I glass of white wine each. Thank God we came back on the Queen Mary 2, pro rata it was lessexpensive

Michael R United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2010

We boarded the boat at 8:30pm and were served three courses by 9:30pm, but didn't get the main course until 11:50pm, just before the New Year celebrations. We had to wait 20 minutes to get a knife and it took 4 requests.

Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2

From USD $ 400.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3100NYE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message