4 star rating: Recommended 195 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  3, 5, 7 or 10 attractions

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the New York City Explorer Pass. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 195 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

This si the second time I have used this pass for my trips to NYC and it was once again well worth it. Big savings on great attractions. I plan on picking up this pass every time I go in the future.

Paul H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

The Explorer pass was very handy. No messing about with money at each attraction. The pass also came with a booklet which showed all the attractions available and all the places you could use the passes for discounts. Id use one again. Very good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Was easy to obtain pass. Booklet provided guided us throughout the city easily, including subway routes which was very beneficial for my travel!

Jaime B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

We got a 5-trip Explorer Pass for our trip in april 2010 and was worth evey penny, would highly recomend anyone traveling to New York to get one as it saves time and money when you're there.

Sandra W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Excellent, well worth buying this pass before you go.

Lynda S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We have just returned from NY, and found the pass to be excellent value for money and very easy to use. We upgraded the 'hop on hop off' tour bus tour for 12 to one that could be used for 48hrs, and took advantage of the night tour and free circle line cruise, both of which are really good things to do with a family. We chose the 5 option pass and found it ideal for a 4 day stay. We also booked the Central Park Bike tour had to confirm from the UK before we left - not difficult and this was probably the real highlight of our trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A very good concept however, for a big city like NYC there are only a few spots to obtain the pass.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

An excellent pass for the whole family, culminating in a huge saving!

Elizabeth S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

We were a group of 4 with ages between 27 and 49 staying for 7 days and so opted for a 5 trip Explorer Pass. We had an idea before arriving in NY which trips we were interested in. We found no problem in picking up the Explorer Pass or booking any of the individual trips; in fact we upgraded the pass for certain tours once we were there. It was definitely worth the money, and the fact that you have to pick the pass up from a different place to where you need to book the individual trips is just another walk, and you should not visit NY if you have an aversion to walking. It was brilliant!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

We had a fab time. The explorer pass was brill, and we saved a bit of money buying the pass as opposed to paying for entrance fees individually. The staff at the desk where we had to get tickets were always very helpful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Perfect for one week in NYC. Only thing we couldn't do was Ellis Island - the line was way too long!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This pass was a great deal and really helped us plan out our trip well. We bought the 3 event pass and managed to squeeze everything in to the 2 days we were here, but it was a lot of intense running around. If you'd like a more laid back trip, you might want to plan for one event a day. We did the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry the first day, which, as the other reviews suggest, is pretty confusing with this pass but totally worth it in the end. Because instructions on how to get tickets with the EP are impossible to find, I'll lay out the details regarding what you should do if you plan for this here so you don't get lost like we did: when you pick up your Explorer Pass from one of the locations (do this as early as possible so you can get your event booklet and decide ahead of time what you want to do), tell them you'd like to do the Statue/Ellis ferry ride and they will give you ticket vouchers. Once you have those vouchers, take them to Battery Park. At the edge of the park, near the bus stations at the base of the tall black building on State Street there will be a few people in red jackets. Take your vouchers to these people and they will give you your tickets (if this is confusing, just ask one of the security guards near the boats. Tell them about your pass and vouchers and they should be able to direct you). Once you have your tickets, hop in the security line and you'll be good to go! Dress warm, the top of the ferry offers great views but it's chilly up there!

On our second day we did the TV/Movie bus tour and the Top of the Rock. We needed to get tickets for the TV/Movie tour ahead of time, so we picked those up after our ferry ride on the first day. It's a ways away, so plan ahead. Call the office if you are confused. For the Rock just show up with your EP and they send you right up, you can skip the line! Both events were wonderful--the Rock had breathtaking views and the movie tour is great for both TV and film enthusiasts!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We took the guided tour of the 9/11 memorial. The tour guide was a survivor of the 9/11 tragedy and provided us with some very touching personal stories. We ran out of time and wanted to head back and look at everything in this organizations museum. I would suggest allotting 2-3 hours for this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This pass is well worth the money and I would recommend it. Apart from the procedure for getting the tickets for the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island tour. First you have to get a paper voucher, this was ok because we were near a pick up point. When you get to the area of the tour you have to get the actual ticket.The insructions on how to do this are unclear, we asked a number of people where to go, including security people but nobody knew. When eventually we found the person, she was sitting on a wall eating her lunch and we thought she was just some person eating her lunch, there was nothing to show that this was the place, no sign or booth or anything. We wasted a lot of time on this and meanwhile the queue for security to get on the boat had grown considerably. This procedure really needs to be improved. Everything else we did using this pass was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The pass was great, we picked it up very near our hotel and were able to see many sites around the city as easily as expected. Thank you.

Special Offer
$79.99 Save $7.99

From USD $ 72.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3958EXPNYC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message