4 star rating: Recommended 183 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  3, 5, 7 or 10 attractions

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the New York City Explorer Pass. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 183 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Was easy to obtain pass. Booklet provided guided us throughout the city easily, including subway routes which was very beneficial for my travel!

Jaime B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

We got a 5-trip Explorer Pass for our trip in april 2010 and was worth evey penny, would highly recomend anyone traveling to New York to get one as it saves time and money when you're there.

Sandra W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Excellent, well worth buying this pass before you go.

Lynda S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We have just returned from NY, and found the pass to be excellent value for money and very easy to use. We upgraded the 'hop on hop off' tour bus tour for 12 to one that could be used for 48hrs, and took advantage of the night tour and free circle line cruise, both of which are really good things to do with a family. We chose the 5 option pass and found it ideal for a 4 day stay. We also booked the Central Park Bike tour had to confirm from the UK before we left - not difficult and this was probably the real highlight of our trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A very good concept however, for a big city like NYC there are only a few spots to obtain the pass.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

An excellent pass for the whole family, culminating in a huge saving!

Elizabeth S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

We were a group of 4 with ages between 27 and 49 staying for 7 days and so opted for a 5 trip Explorer Pass. We had an idea before arriving in NY which trips we were interested in. We found no problem in picking up the Explorer Pass or booking any of the individual trips; in fact we upgraded the pass for certain tours once we were there. It was definitely worth the money, and the fact that you have to pick the pass up from a different place to where you need to book the individual trips is just another walk, and you should not visit NY if you have an aversion to walking. It was brilliant!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

We had a fab time. The explorer pass was brill, and we saved a bit of money buying the pass as opposed to paying for entrance fees individually. The staff at the desk where we had to get tickets were always very helpful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Perfect for one week in NYC. Only thing we couldn't do was Ellis Island - the line was way too long!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This pass is well worth the money and I would recommend it. Apart from the procedure for getting the tickets for the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island tour. First you have to get a paper voucher, this was ok because we were near a pick up point. When you get to the area of the tour you have to get the actual ticket.The insructions on how to do this are unclear, we asked a number of people where to go, including security people but nobody knew. When eventually we found the person, she was sitting on a wall eating her lunch and we thought she was just some person eating her lunch, there was nothing to show that this was the place, no sign or booth or anything. We wasted a lot of time on this and meanwhile the queue for security to get on the boat had grown considerably. This procedure really needs to be improved. Everything else we did using this pass was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The pass was great, we picked it up very near our hotel and were able to see many sites around the city as easily as expected. Thank you.

Janice O
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I thought this was good idea, enabling you to budget ahead of trip and make saving at same time. Was straight forward to use at most of the attractions we picked apart from having to revisit Citysights kiosk several times.
1. Collect passes.
2. Pick up tickets for bus tour.
3. Pick up tickets for Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island Ferry which we had to subsequently exchange for actual ferry tickets at Battery Park. This was no easy task as rep was hard to track down.

Would I buy it again...probably but for different attractions.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Easy to use. Good selection of locations to visit.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very good, made things easy to get into and having already paid was good. A lot of things to choose from

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We still had to stand in queues for ages to get tickets even though we had the pass! At one attraction e.g the Statue of Liberty, we had to go to two different sites to obtain the tickets.

Special Offer
$79.99 Save $7.99

From USD $ 72.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3958EXPNYC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message