4 star rating: Recommended 243 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  3, 4, 5, 7 or 10 attractions

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the New York City Explorer Pass. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 243 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

With a limited time in NYC, this is one of the best things we could've done. We so saw so much more of the city than we would've seen otherwise. All the guides were friendly and knowledgeable

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I really enjoyed the Empire State Bldg. and Museum tours with my family. Using the Explorer pass was convient and easy to use. When I am in New York again, I would use the pass again. It gives you so many options to choose from for being a tourists. thanks

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

This pass certainly saves you money whilst seeing the sites in NY. My only criticism is that you couldn't book ahead at certain places and had to just show up on the day and hope there was space on the tour for you.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

I found this card very handy to have, saved a bit of money on trips, however it would have been 5 stars if it wasn't for the bus tours. The book states that they can't be booked over the phone, and have to be booked in person, however when we went to book the majority were fully booked, and phone bookings were being taken... There is a lot of choice with this card, and it was widely accepted.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Everything was good, except for the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Cruise. It took me so long to find the guy to get my ticket, and the guy was rude. Others are fine.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This pass was a great deal and really helped us plan out our trip well. We bought the 3 event pass and managed to squeeze everything in to the 2 days we were here, but it was a lot of intense running around. If you'd like a more laid back trip, you might want to plan for one event a day. We did the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry the first day, which, as the other reviews suggest, is pretty confusing with this pass but totally worth it in the end. Because instructions on how to get tickets with the EP are impossible to find, I'll lay out the details regarding what you should do if you plan for this here so you don't get lost like we did: when you pick up your Explorer Pass from one of the locations (do this as early as possible so you can get your event booklet and decide ahead of time what you want to do), tell them you'd like to do the Statue/Ellis ferry ride and they will give you ticket vouchers. Once you have those vouchers, take them to Battery Park. At the edge of the park, near the bus stations at the base of the tall black building on State Street there will be a few people in red jackets. Take your vouchers to these people and they will give you your tickets (if this is confusing, just ask one of the security guards near the boats. Tell them about your pass and vouchers and they should be able to direct you). Once you have your tickets, hop in the security line and you'll be good to go! Dress warm, the top of the ferry offers great views but it's chilly up there!

On our second day we did the TV/Movie bus tour and the Top of the Rock. We needed to get tickets for the TV/Movie tour ahead of time, so we picked those up after our ferry ride on the first day. It's a ways away, so plan ahead. Call the office if you are confused. For the Rock just show up with your EP and they send you right up, you can skip the line! Both events were wonderful--the Rock had breathtaking views and the movie tour is great for both TV and film enthusiasts!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We took the guided tour of the 9/11 memorial. The tour guide was a survivor of the 9/11 tragedy and provided us with some very touching personal stories. We ran out of time and wanted to head back and look at everything in this organizations museum. I would suggest allotting 2-3 hours for this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This pass is well worth the money and I would recommend it. Apart from the procedure for getting the tickets for the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island tour. First you have to get a paper voucher, this was ok because we were near a pick up point. When you get to the area of the tour you have to get the actual ticket.The insructions on how to do this are unclear, we asked a number of people where to go, including security people but nobody knew. When eventually we found the person, she was sitting on a wall eating her lunch and we thought she was just some person eating her lunch, there was nothing to show that this was the place, no sign or booth or anything. We wasted a lot of time on this and meanwhile the queue for security to get on the boat had grown considerably. This procedure really needs to be improved. Everything else we did using this pass was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The pass was great, we picked it up very near our hotel and were able to see many sites around the city as easily as expected. Thank you.

Janice O
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I thought this was good idea, enabling you to budget ahead of trip and make saving at same time. Was straight forward to use at most of the attractions we picked apart from having to revisit Citysights kiosk several times.
1. Collect passes.
2. Pick up tickets for bus tour.
3. Pick up tickets for Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island Ferry which we had to subsequently exchange for actual ferry tickets at Battery Park. This was no easy task as rep was hard to track down.

Would I buy it again...probably but for different attractions.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Easy to use. Good selection of locations to visit.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very good, made things easy to get into and having already paid was good. A lot of things to choose from

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We still had to stand in queues for ages to get tickets even though we had the pass! At one attraction e.g the Statue of Liberty, we had to go to two different sites to obtain the tickets.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We had a great time. Choose Ripley's TS, Empire State Building and Top of the Rock. These 3 tours along with the Carriage ride in Central Park filled our day from about 8am to 2am. There are many great choices on the Explorer Pass to suit everyone. It is hard to choose just three. Love that we could buy other pass sizes had our time in NYC allowed for such a purchase. Good value and great way to explore the Big Apple. Nice extra value items added with the pass as well.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great value and flexibility. The "hop on, hop off" bus was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Saved some $ !

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We only chose a 3 attraction pass and found it a great saving. The list of attractions was quite large and offered a great deal of choice. However we were a bit disappointed with the staff's knowledge of the pass at the New York office and had to return a number of times to get the answers to the queries we had regarding our selections.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A great pass that allows you to experience all the attractions in NYC. I would highly recommend the bike tour around Central Park

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A great thing to get but make sure to make the correct decision on what to use it on.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We had the five attraction pass and we felt it was value for money. But once again, the process to convert our pre paid printed voucher was a nuisance as we had to find our way to the office which was incorrectly written on the voucher. Instructions said 3rd floor and in actual fact it is ground floor.
Viator need to sort this out as the street number is incorrect. It is the ground floor of the visitor centre next to the address given.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A very good way to see the sights economically. However, the complexity of process to see Statue of Liberty discouraged us from selecting it as an Explorer Pass choice. We booked it independently.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The explorer pass was great , the only thing was to find out how to use it .

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was a good value with lots of great options. I didn't like having to run to some of the places to get vouchers and when we lost a pass, nobody could help us replace it!

Saffy1976
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This tour was great fun and a great marketing tour for the city. I took a friend out for dinner at Buddakan after it was featured on the tour! It was good to cover the movies as well as the series. I liked that we were reminded of the scenes with the television in the bus too!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This pass is ok. We would pick ik up at the NBC Expierence Store, but their was it not more available, so they send us to an other pick-up place. Maby it is necessarry that you adjust your internet site.

Special Offer

From USD $ 75.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3958EXPNYC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message