3.5 star rating: Worth doing 79 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the New York City Holiday Lights Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 79 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

john j s
Ireland

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

excellent service, great scenery

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

I think the guide spent more time talking about himself than he did the Christmas lights. The tour was very focused around a couple of streets and you were lucky to see any of the windows because of buses and trucks parked on the road. I would have liked to see more displays.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

This wasn't a great tour, although in part driven by the weather and protests. The tour is largely viewing store windows (which are very beautiful) as the only lights on the streets are those outside stores / hotels and the Rockerfella centre. Please don't expect Oxford street type decorations as Manhattan streets are not dressed like this at all.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Unfortunately it was rainy evening, which nobody can help. We were undercover on top of the bus, but the roof leaked on us the whole trip, made it miserable. The guide did a great job keeping up a good conversation, but we spent a lot of time just sitting in traffic. I didn't realize we wouldn't even slow down at the sites. It would have been great to pull over at Rockefeller Center even for 30 seconds to get a quick picture. If you blinked you missed it, very disappointing. There was mention of seeing decorated windows. We were told where they were, but couldn't see anything. Not something I would do again or recommend.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Unfortunately the weather was awful and it rained and rained. The coach misted up and dripped and it was difficult to see. Hard to see how they could have got round that. Roads gridlocked not great.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

I'm glad we went on this tour.. But it could have been so much better. The guides seemed vaguely interested, and the bus was scratched all over. Saw a couple of places we missed which were pointed out, so worth doing for that alone. Some lights weren't pointed out until asked. Poor.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Unfortunately, the tour was taken during pouring rain. We went to the upper level because the bottom floor was full. The roof leaked on the upper lever and fogged up so we couldn't see anything. We decided to go outside and sat in the rain for the 2 hour tour. We were given free rain ponchos but by the end of the tour we were very cold and wet and didn't really see as much as we had hoped to see.

sem65
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

This is really just a night tour of New York, it's a bit do a stretch to call it a Christmas lights tour, didn't really meet my expectations and well, your driving past some of the lights at a distant speed, by the time you crane around to look, you've passed it. The tour presenter was very good mind you and very entertaining, I could have let him show me New York all night, he was very knowledgeable and a credit to his company. W ell worth tipping.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

I felt this was very expensive for what you get I was expecting to see more in the way of Christmas trees and lights but most of the tour was sat in traffic it was cold and raining they provide you with a plastic poncho I don't advise doing this tour in the rain as your camera gets wet. The bus goes down 5th avenue so its nice to see the shop windows but other than that you don't see much else you don't see the famous rockefella tree something I thought you would see so the main photogragh you see for this tour is a con as you don't see it. my advise is save your money.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Not as expected

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

Too cold and streets to busy. Once you're on you can't get off so was not to enjoyable

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2012

Time of year (December) on an open top bus made this trip less enoyable than it could of been but with that said, its pretty obvious it'll be cold so more an error on my part than the trip itself. Downside of the trip is that you are generally stuck in so much traffic and I personally felt that we saw more walking around the city than on the tour itself.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

Other than changing the name, this was basically just the city tour and we expected to see more displays. We enjoyed our guide and am sure had it not been raining (thanks for the ponchos, by the way), it would have been more enjoyable. We were on a tour and already had most of the information, but the store fronts were new to us at least.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2011

not so good in winter.. bus windows get steamed and you cannot see that much of the city.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Bit of a disappointment, but ok, wouldnt do it again tho. n gibb

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The worst tour i've been on in NY. Would definitely NOT recommend this tour to anyone! Scheduled to depart at 6pm and didn't until close to 7pm! it was a cold evening in December, i was stood waiting for a long time just to wait for the bus to arrive. Even when the bus arrived there was no apology from the staff or explanation as to why it was delayed.

The audio headphones were not working. Not worth the money, i could have done the tour by walking.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

It was a disappointment on many levels - I had anticipated seeing all the beautiful Christmas lights I was sure NYC had displayed. Our guide, Johnny, clearly had a different agenda. His primary purpose was to solicit for tips, which I counted 11 times during a 90 minute tour. That's roughly every 8 minutes and while sometimes it was a subtle hint, 3 times he went through his script of "$5 if you enjoy the experience, $10 if was really fabulous, $20 and he would go home with you, $100 and you could keep the bus. He and Hector (the driver) are a team and would split everything placed in the tip jar." I'm sure he thought he was being cute; he was not. He compared himself to waiters and waitresses in the service industry that relied heavily on receiving tips to survive. I've never had a waitress ask me for a tip, certainly not every time he/she fills my water glass or visits my table. While he did possess and share his knowledge of NY trivia; his approach made for an unenjoyable experience, bordering on harassment. My primary purpose was to see some beautiful Christmas displays without having to walk for miles in the crowds and cold weather. Either NYC didn't put much effort in Christmas decorations this year or our driver decided to take an alternate route due to the heavy traffic on a Saturday evening. Either way, it was disappointing as we didn't see that many Christmas decorations. At one point my companion and I even discussed the possibility that we got on the wrong bus……..…..sadly we had not.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

It was the worst touring experience I've ever had. Couldn't see out of bus, bus fumes in side vehicle. 6 people in my party got off the tour as soon as we could.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

Although this was advertised as the "holiday Lights" tour it was just a night tour as the tour operator in New York was only doing the "Holiday Lights" tour from the 3rd of December (when the majority of lights were on) and our booking was for the first. The pick up was very badly organised with people jumping the queue and pushing their way onto the bus and the tour people did nothing to prevent it, resulting in us and others, who were there in good time, having to wait for second bus and the same queue jumping was allowed again. Overall a disappointing experience.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

Was the worst trip I hav ever done!! The driver was dangerous and the commentator really had no idea what to tell her guests!!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

This tour was horrible. Not even half of the price. This is not a holiday lights tour but a general tour which happened to have lights. Don't even think of attending if there's snow, we couldn't see a thing and were encouraged to "bang the snow" off the windows. Terrible. Worst part of our trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

Many issues with is tour. Mixup about pickup point made us nearly miss it. Snow on roof completely obscured view from upper deck windows, some comments by the guide were not family friendly, Bold solicitation for a gratuity by the guide. No pauses at the main lighting sites.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

You know you made a bad choice whern the first words out of the tour guide are: I haven't done this before but I will do my best and use the notes given to me. I am fine with the cold (it was December) and I am fine with the traffic (it is NYC) but the tour guide was worthless. He didn't know wnything about the history of the buildings for the lights. He would read the name of the building and say. Aren't those lights beautiful? Save your money and walk. You will enjoy it much, much more. (BTW, the entire group on the bus felt the same way. )

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

It was not a good tour at all. It said we were to go to Rockefeller Center - well you had to quick look about a block down to see anything at all. It was raining and one could not see out of the bus. It should have been cancelled or you need a cover on the second tier as you cannot see out of the windows in the main area, they have sunshields. It was total waste of time and money.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

This was a big disappointment. Our tour guide spoke broken English that was difficult to understand and it seemed that the driver raced past the highlights.

From USD $ 44.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2625HL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message