3.5 star rating: Worth doing 79 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the New York City Holiday Lights Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 79 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Andrew P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Beautiful lights, very good value for money. It leaves you feeling very 'Christmassy'.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

although it was raining it was an enjoyable experience

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

It was quite cold but informative. Tour guide very amusing.

Garrick P
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

Not the best as bus has a plastic roof that is so scratched you can barely see through it and as it was winter very cold if you sat outside the roof on top, saw more of the lights walking around afterwards.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

This was good however it was absolutely freezing on top of the double decker bus, maybe if a blanket or something was offered. The lights were good although I thought it was going to be slightly different and see more lights but still a nice night.

john j s
Ireland

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

excellent service, great scenery

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

I think the guide spent more time talking about himself than he did the Christmas lights. The tour was very focused around a couple of streets and you were lucky to see any of the windows because of buses and trucks parked on the road. I would have liked to see more displays.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

This wasn't a great tour, although in part driven by the weather and protests. The tour is largely viewing store windows (which are very beautiful) as the only lights on the streets are those outside stores / hotels and the Rockerfella centre. Please don't expect Oxford street type decorations as Manhattan streets are not dressed like this at all.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Unfortunately it was rainy evening, which nobody can help. We were undercover on top of the bus, but the roof leaked on us the whole trip, made it miserable. The guide did a great job keeping up a good conversation, but we spent a lot of time just sitting in traffic. I didn't realize we wouldn't even slow down at the sites. It would have been great to pull over at Rockefeller Center even for 30 seconds to get a quick picture. If you blinked you missed it, very disappointing. There was mention of seeing decorated windows. We were told where they were, but couldn't see anything. Not something I would do again or recommend.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Unfortunately the weather was awful and it rained and rained. The coach misted up and dripped and it was difficult to see. Hard to see how they could have got round that. Roads gridlocked not great.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

I'm glad we went on this tour.. But it could have been so much better. The guides seemed vaguely interested, and the bus was scratched all over. Saw a couple of places we missed which were pointed out, so worth doing for that alone. Some lights weren't pointed out until asked. Poor.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Unfortunately, the tour was taken during pouring rain. We went to the upper level because the bottom floor was full. The roof leaked on the upper lever and fogged up so we couldn't see anything. We decided to go outside and sat in the rain for the 2 hour tour. We were given free rain ponchos but by the end of the tour we were very cold and wet and didn't really see as much as we had hoped to see.

sem65
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

This is really just a night tour of New York, it's a bit do a stretch to call it a Christmas lights tour, didn't really meet my expectations and well, your driving past some of the lights at a distant speed, by the time you crane around to look, you've passed it. The tour presenter was very good mind you and very entertaining, I could have let him show me New York all night, he was very knowledgeable and a credit to his company. W ell worth tipping.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

I felt this was very expensive for what you get I was expecting to see more in the way of Christmas trees and lights but most of the tour was sat in traffic it was cold and raining they provide you with a plastic poncho I don't advise doing this tour in the rain as your camera gets wet. The bus goes down 5th avenue so its nice to see the shop windows but other than that you don't see much else you don't see the famous rockefella tree something I thought you would see so the main photogragh you see for this tour is a con as you don't see it. my advise is save your money.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Not as expected

From USD $ 43.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2625HL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message