3.5 star rating: Worth doing 65 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the New York City Holiday Lights Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 65 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

I think the guide spent more time talking about himself than he did the Christmas lights. The tour was very focused around a couple of streets and you were lucky to see any of the windows because of buses and trucks parked on the road. I would have liked to see more displays.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Unfortunately the weather was awful and it rained and rained. The coach misted up and dripped and it was difficult to see. Hard to see how they could have got round that. Roads gridlocked not great.

sem65
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

This is really just a night tour of New York, it's a bit do a stretch to call it a Christmas lights tour, didn't really meet my expectations and well, your driving past some of the lights at a distant speed, by the time you crane around to look, you've passed it. The tour presenter was very good mind you and very entertaining, I could have let him show me New York all night, he was very knowledgeable and a credit to his company. W ell worth tipping.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

I felt this was very expensive for what you get I was expecting to see more in the way of Christmas trees and lights but most of the tour was sat in traffic it was cold and raining they provide you with a plastic poncho I don't advise doing this tour in the rain as your camera gets wet. The bus goes down 5th avenue so its nice to see the shop windows but other than that you don't see much else you don't see the famous rockefella tree something I thought you would see so the main photogragh you see for this tour is a con as you don't see it. my advise is save your money.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Not as expected

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

Too cold and streets to busy. Once you're on you can't get off so was not to enjoyable

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2012

Time of year (December) on an open top bus made this trip less enoyable than it could of been but with that said, its pretty obvious it'll be cold so more an error on my part than the trip itself. Downside of the trip is that you are generally stuck in so much traffic and I personally felt that we saw more walking around the city than on the tour itself.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

Other than changing the name, this was basically just the city tour and we expected to see more displays. We enjoyed our guide and am sure had it not been raining (thanks for the ponchos, by the way), it would have been more enjoyable. We were on a tour and already had most of the information, but the store fronts were new to us at least.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2011

not so good in winter.. bus windows get steamed and you cannot see that much of the city.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Bit of a disappointment, but ok, wouldnt do it again tho. n gibb

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

Was the worst trip I hav ever done!! The driver was dangerous and the commentator really had no idea what to tell her guests!!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

This tour was horrible. Not even half of the price. This is not a holiday lights tour but a general tour which happened to have lights. Don't even think of attending if there's snow, we couldn't see a thing and were encouraged to "bang the snow" off the windows. Terrible. Worst part of our trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

Many issues with is tour. Mixup about pickup point made us nearly miss it. Snow on roof completely obscured view from upper deck windows, some comments by the guide were not family friendly, Bold solicitation for a gratuity by the guide. No pauses at the main lighting sites.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

You know you made a bad choice whern the first words out of the tour guide are: I haven't done this before but I will do my best and use the notes given to me. I am fine with the cold (it was December) and I am fine with the traffic (it is NYC) but the tour guide was worthless. He didn't know wnything about the history of the buildings for the lights. He would read the name of the building and say. Aren't those lights beautiful? Save your money and walk. You will enjoy it much, much more. (BTW, the entire group on the bus felt the same way. )

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

It was not a good tour at all. It said we were to go to Rockefeller Center - well you had to quick look about a block down to see anything at all. It was raining and one could not see out of the bus. It should have been cancelled or you need a cover on the second tier as you cannot see out of the windows in the main area, they have sunshields. It was total waste of time and money.

From USD $ 43.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2625HL

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message