4 star rating: Recommended 1638 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  Flexible

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1638 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent for exploring the city. Actually this may be the only way you can relax and see the city. I got the Freestyle package which includes entrance to 3 attractions. One of the things I recommend is take the ferry trip to Liberty and Ellis - the view is spectacular especially at sunset. The Night tour is also impressive. Manhattan is a very very crowded place this is why this hop-on hop-of tour is not appropriate if you just want to get around. There may be the case that you have to skip one or two buses because they are too crowded to get on or get stuck in traffic for half an hour. This is no one's fault , it is just the way it is. So, take some patience with you when going to NY.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Not a lot can go wrong with this tour. Guides were very knowledgable and despite some of the worst traffic ever, made it interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We really loved the Hop on Hop off bus tours. We located the bus office really easily and collected our tickets. We never had to wait for very long to catch a bus and once on board, everyone one of the tour guides was really friendly and very informative, constantly keeping us updated on what we were driving by, and including some very funny little stories. We caught the night time tour which was fantastic. Great views of the Manhattan skyline at night. We would definitely use these again on our next visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My friend and I visited NYC to celebrate our daughters 18 birthdays. We were not disappointed. From the city that never sleeps we had 6 days of fun and great memories. The 9/11 tour was outstanding! We used the hop on hop off tour bus and city pass - a must. Absolutely amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour! The tour guide was very informative. The staff were very helpful and courteous. It was worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was good. There were many circuits to choose from, with for most, the possibility to get-off at many different sites of interest. Waiting times were also reasonable. When redeeming the voucher, I was offered the option to buy a queue-cutter for an additional $25, which would have also allowed me to use another network of hop on/off buses and drive a bike in Central Park for free for an hour. I would advise against this option because a) while the queue cutter did work, sometimes the lines are so crowded that other customers waiting would not actually allow you to get close to the person checking guests into the bus to show you have priority access; b) there is enough to do already with the routes included in the online price, I for instance did not have the time to try any of the extra circuits; c) the collection point for the bike is actually not inside central park so you need to take the bike there. It's 2 blocks away, however the pavements are usually busy and crowded, you cannot ride the bike at that point and there are traffic lights. Expect to lose 10 to 15min. Counting the same time on the way back, we are really talking about a 30min ride. Any time extra is charged by the hour so you may end up paying more.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our NYC hop on hop off experience was really quite good. Not really happy about the earphones. They were hard to use and staticky. On only one occasion did we encounter a poor guide. The remainder do the time our guides were knowledgeable and interesting to listen to. We had a guide for our uptown tour that was remarkable. We could have listened to him all day.
Our tour was a very very positive experience. We would use the service again and would highly recommend it to others. Do review the earphone thing though. It was wonderful when the guides did not use that system.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a great way to get a feel for New York. Also includes entrance to some of the attractions. I only managed 2 - Empire State building and the Metropolitan Museum as ran out of time! I used the on off bus for 3 days and did all the lines - uptown, downtown, Brooklyn tour, Bronx tour and the night tour. Found most of the guides really amusing and interesting. It is a good way to see the main tourist attractions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour with amusing and very informative guides. We did all 3 tours over 2 days and would definately recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Graet value and saved some money booking on line - remember to go to the office though to redeem the voucher for tickets - first class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a great time in New York and we were able to see so much with the hop on hop off bus.
This was a great way to see New York City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent value for money. The guides are entertainment themselves.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tours! Have been to NYC many times but learned much more about the city during the Hop On Hop Off tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great way to get your bearings. We did Downtown Loop first day then used the bus on 3 other occasions. Night tour was good but we did have a very annoying guide. Would recommend overall if visiting for the first time.

From USD $ 48.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2625AL

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message