4.5 star rating: Recommended 63 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the New York Pub Crawl. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 63 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

We enjoyed our pub crawl of Greenwich Village...once it got started. Four of us were waiting and waiting for our guide until one of the participants managed to find a contact on this cell phone for the company. For awhile. it seemed to be a "no go" as the after hours number of the company was of no help--there was no one there!!
But once it started the guide was informative, and entertaining.

Message for the company--it was not a good recommendation for the organization of your business.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

This was a little disappointing, there were only three of us on tour, and the guide talked pretty much the whole time instead of letting everyone socialise and have a good night out - I would probably like a little less "tour guiding" and more time to enjoy the pubs. The pubs we went to were great though - McSorsley's was fantastic

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Our tour guide was over an hour late. She did apologize and stayed with us for the full three hours, which was the original scheduled time for the tour. It was a good opportunity to see some of the local pubs and learn a bit about the history of Hells Kitchen area.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

Very good guide, but I think the info about the tour, the Hell's Kitchen one, was a little misleading. I was expecting more stories about gangs and less about buildings. Anyway, it was nice.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Great way to see different parts of the city especially at night.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

It wasn't what I expected, we were only 4 people

ditchdigger45
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

We purchased this tour before leaving home and on the saturday night arrived at White Horse Tavern at 7,00 pm and our guide Michael didn´t arrive until 8.00 pm having been delayed in traffic and rented a bicycle to get to Tavern.Our fellow tourists one young couple and mother and son arrived late as they also had traffic and taxi problems.That´s why you have to ride the subways in NYC just too much street traffic to use cabs or buses.

We killed time by talking about our travels in NYC and when everyone was together something about ourselves what we did for a living and our travels experience..not much was discussed about NYC or the White Hose Tavern - I pointed our various Dylan Thomas photos and having visited NYC frequently since 1968 knew more about the city than our guide I believe.Maybe i just cramped his style as he was always very nervous.
We did visit a couple of other bars one of which appeared to one more of a popular gay singing bars
where they made us check in our coats for $3.00 pp but we didnt stay too long as we wanted to move on its definitely nothing like the pubs we are used to so third pub was much better and a young 30ish crowd of yuppies were very friendly.We felt like the grandparents of most of them but we had a very good time after our guide Michael excused himself and we stayed on with one of the couples until 0230 Sunday morning.Most of these socalled guided tours are not as interesting as the propoganda they put out but now we know the area of Greenwich Village to revisit and which bars to stay away from but our companions were very nice couple.We ended up having fish and chips @ 0300 in all night arab owned place on a corner of bitterly cold street before walking to subway station to get back to Court Square and our rented flat.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The tour was very interesting and it was good to see apart of New York that you properly wouldn't see on your own. It was also a shame that the tour was only for my party as no over groups took part in it. Overall the tour was good and got to see some interesting places and movie shots, but socially very disappointing.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

My tour would have been better with a different tour guide. He talked more about himself than about why we were doing the tour. Had fun but it was due to the other participants not the tour guide.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

We chose the East village tour for no particular reason, but perhaps chose wrong. I think I misunderstood 'pub' and expected something more like a bar, instead, we went to old beer houses- and not being a big beer fan, I was quite annoyed at the last pub that only served 2 beers - nothing else. Not to mention the putrid dank smell of the place. Apaprently famed for being the bar Lincoln drank - it smelt like he is still there.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

I'm sure it would have been great if someone actually turned up to take us on the tour!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Awkward, uncomfortable and overpriced. The tour guide was very pleasant, however, I was expecting to be taken around old cool music bars but it really was more like an oaps day out. Total waste of money. We had an ace night getting drunk in fabulous bars without a tour guide.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2011

Tour guide was 30 minutes late. Said he thought it was in Hell's Kitchen. Went to 3 bars. None seemed prepared for us to be there. 1 beer at each bar. Definatley overpriced.

From USD $ 75.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5196PUB

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message