4.5 star rating: Recommended 342 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  Varies3.5 hours through May 31, 20152.5 hours beginning June 1, 2015

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the New York TV and Movie Sites Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 342 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

This tour is good but would be a lot better if more time was allocated.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

A little disorganised at first, with not much information being shared by our guide, Gary, as people were asked to shuffle seats in the coach. Once the tour kicked off, it was fine. Gary was funny and engaging although, by necessity at times as we sped past multiple film locations, he gabbled a bit. If we as native English speakers had difficultly understanding him, goodness knows what others thought. That said, Gary regularly reminded us that he'd be happy to repeat anything or answer questions.
There were three stops on the tour. Two were fine, but the one in Soho to "go shopping" for 20 minutes was utterly pointless and, apart from the fact that the Kasdahians' Dash store was somewhere nearby, not relevant to a film and TV locations tour.
One more quick point - as this is a visual tour, they really should clean the bus windows.
On the whole it was OK, but not fantastic.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

not really that good but im not big movie buff.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Interesting tour , gives you a different view of New York , not many stops , tour guide was very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Hard to see the sites from the back of the coach bus. Windows not tall enough to see talk buildings. Tour guide would point things out from the front of the bus but by the time the back got to it we didn't know what we should be looking at

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Cab be shorter, 45 min stop doing nothing can be squeezed

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

This was a great tour, but only concentrated on a very small part of Manhattan, we decided we would have like to have paid a bit more for a wider tour, but on the whole very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Good tour and nice to see the sites from various tv shows/movies. Only bit i didn't like was the half an hour unguided in soho.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

This tour was worth doing and we saw some interesting sites. The tour guide tried hard to keep the passengers entertained but was overall quite average in his ability to engage.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

good tour, recommend to all movie buffs

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Had a great time on this tour would recommend it if u are in to your tv shows and films. Friends building is a great one to see.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Pretty good tour. and the guide was reasonably knowledgeable, unfortunately we had trouble with the coach and had to change part way through, the 2nd coach also had problems with the onboard video not working, so not the best experience

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

The tour guide was great. Had problems with the bus and DVD equipment. Tour one hour shorter than stated. Not as good as similar tour in San Fransisco.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

The guide was lively and personable. But the tour included stops to "fill in time", such as the stop in lower Manhattan, where we walked around, really seeing nothing of interest. A medium event in our great travel experience.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

This tour was ok and tour guide was informative. We had a few issues with the bus leaving before we were back o and then the bus breaking down. Friends part was good. I didn't really know all the shows they were referring to.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2010

A BIT STRANGE WITH ALL THE SINGING BUT NEVERTHELESS A GOOD EXPERIENCE

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

was ok was abit disappointing you dont actually visit and sets just outside buildings but tour guide was great and i did have fun.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

Not bad a lot of shows mentioned that we dont get in Australia, but got to see the out side of the friends building.

Rick L
Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2010

Very informative tour, our tour guide was great and made the trip enjoyable. As for the sights, I guess you have to be a real movie buff to really enjoy it. But worth the 33 bucks. Bus was really nice too

Catelina R
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2010

Worth doing if you have half a day spare. Although you see most things from other normal bus tours, it is very good if you are really interested in movies.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Went on a bit too long. I went on this trip 4 years ago and there were very few changes. I had a nasty fall chasing the lady with the blue umbrella (guide) and she didn't even notice or if she did, she never said. Wittered on a lot.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

I thought is was okay, I did not think it was great.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

Not what you expect...basically its a bus tour where you drive around New York (not that thats a bad thing) and stop at the odd location here and there....most sights you simply pass by on the bus so be ready to take some pictures quickly...with the glare of the bus window, unfortunately....not too bad, in fairness, but very pushy guides seeking tips at end

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2011

The guide was way to cheesy for my liking. He picked on each nationality which was entertaining at the start however it got too much by the end of our 2.5hours tour. He was however friendly and pointed movie set that I wouldn't have covered myself given the time.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

It was ok. Not what I expected. I would do another tour instead of this one next time.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

This tour was very disappointing. The tour guide did not appear to have any real knowledge and the directions to look, take photos etc were very general to the point you were usually past the "attraction" before you know about it... do the "slice of brooklyn tour' it was sensational and substantially better value

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

Not as I expected. There was nothing wrong with the guide and she was clearly knowledgable in all things film and TV, but we do know that its not real life!!! Some of the comments were unintentionally hilarious as the guide either really believes that Friends/Spiderman is true..or thinks that we do!! It was great seeing the Friends apartment building, but unless you have seen Spiderman or Enchanted then alot of it wont mean anything.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2010

This tour was pretty average - unless you are a die-hard tv fan, most of the places won't mean much. Barely anything on Seinfeld which was disappointing.

Pamela B
New Zealand

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

I have done the Sex & the City tour before by the same company which I throughly enjoyed so I was expecting awesome things from this tour, however it wasn't that great. Okay, but nothing special.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2010

In truth it was ok. I did a San Francisco movie tour and that was much better it went more in dept and spent a bit more time at locations.I could think of hundreds of blockbuster movies in New York that i never seen locations too.I know you cant see them all but there were some better than where we actually went.But as my rating says its just about ok but definately could of been alot better. Our guide tried hard and just about pulled it off in atrocious weather conditions.

Allen J
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2010

We were disappointed with this tour as content was not as expected. Many of the sights were dated and had limited relevance to non USA visitors.

Kendal G
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

The tour guide was great and seemed to know his material, but from a personal point of view it would have been better if more films were featured as opposed to Americian sitcoms. Maybe more suited to a younger audience.

Emma C
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

Very disappointing, if Friends stop was first I wouldn't have stayed on the bus!

Sana S
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2008

The tour was good however the focus was on a lot of old films which I had not seen. It would have been better if the footage had been more up to date.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2006

This was not the best tour. I thought we were going to see more about Friends, but we did not realize that the show was filmed in L.A. But it's a good way to see the city, I suppose.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Tour started 30 minutes late. Didn't stop at any interesting spots. The 20 minutes given to shop in SOHO was a waste because you didn't have enough time to shop, purchase and get back to the bus. I would pass on this tour. You see basically the same things on the hop on hop off bus.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

We did not get to go on our tour because the people told us it wasn't the right bus and left. We asked another bus and they told us the bus that just left was our tour. So I paid for something I didn't even get to do.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

Our guide was lame and spoke in an uncomprehensive way. He was talking all the time just to tell irrelevant facts about his own life and dreams. Most of the tour was within the bus. The guide wasn't also able to give us the "best point of view" for some sites. Lame!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012

This tour is crap, the tour guide was a wannabe actor and really had no people skills. They had us watching movie clips but umm...we are NYC why would we want to see movie clips why not sure more movie sites.

Overall, not a good tour. I wouldnt bother with it. Just do the New York in One Day Sigtseeing Tour as they tell you the same thing but the tour is more involved and detailed.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2010

not recommended ...a lot of this is the outside but not used all done in studios ...maybe for younger client ...

Daniela C
Venezuela

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2010

This tour is not entertaining at all. I thought they would walk you around the places where TV series and movies were taped but the only thing they do is drive you around NY in a bus and point to things with their finger and tell you "This movie was filmed here", "This comedy show was taped here". Not fun at all. I even fell asleep.

Matthew D
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2008

Great tour for women but not for guys. We left the tour 45 minutes in. They had too much info on Enchanted - they should call it the Enchanted tour.

From USD $ 43.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2218TVTOUR

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message