3.5 star rating: Worth doing 85 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the The Hamptons, Sag Harbor and Outlet Shopping Day Trip from New York City. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 85 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Desite the rain was still a good day, would have liked more time though at the outlates. Staff seemed to be more interested in getting home early!

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Tour needs to leave on time regardless of if all booked travelers are there - those that manage to get there on time are disadvantaged. Also need to use common sense in letting unwell people on tours who then pass their germs to the rest of the tour as happened. Not enough time in the Hamptons or Sag Harbor - more time spent driving there. Also tour was meant to be in English which it was but was not expecting to have to wait for it to then be translated into German. Need seperate tours with multiple languages. What we saw was great. Would suggest the outlets are dropped as part of this tour - it should either be the Hamtpons or Outlets not both.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

it would have been better to spend more time seeing the hamptons than going to the outlets.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Thought there would be more time in Hamptons

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

I enjoyed this tour except for the shopping which was far too long. I would have preferred more time in the Hamptons seeing more places there rather than spending most of the time at a shopping outlet. Lunch at Sag Harbour was very enjoyable. The guide was very good too.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Nice trip but too little time at the Tangier Outlet

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

The guide was great and did his best to try to ensure that everyone was having a good time, but I really can't recommend this trip.
For our tour, we were 13 people squashed into a mini-van. The weather, unfortunately, was atrocious. Driving rain made doing anything almost impossible. After an hour and a half of driving, we pulled into a Holiday Inn for a continental breakfast (optional/extra cost) but I don't think anyone on our bus actually ate anything....so personally I think that part of the trip should be omitted.
Sag Harbor and the Hamptons, I'm sure, are very pretty places in fine weather and it would have been nice if we could have strolled the streets but the weather was against us.
The outlet shopping part of the tour would appeal to some but, once again, the weather was against us as it is an open mall with not much under-cover.
With peak traffic and lashing rain, the entire trip took 12 1/2 hours and that was really too long, particularly as squashed in as we were....

Bronwyn M
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

We didn't really stop at SAG harbour due to bad weather, thought we should have had more time at the outlets since we didn't spepnd the time at the harbour, Was ok felt very hurried at the factory outlets and all the driver and guide wanted to do was get back to beat the traffic

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

In general , tour was good ,but I should spend more time in the villages especially at noon in East Hampton to have a reasonable time to lunch and to see the village , also Sag Harbour is nteresting enough . I should spend less time in the outlets ,also because there is nothing to see for men !!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

The first half of the trip was very nice with a good vehicle and nice guide. However, the restaurant he recommended at Sag Harbor had not opened for the season and a number of stores at Southhampton had not opened either. The return trip was not so satisfying - we spent 3 hours at the Tanger Outlet which only 2 couples really wanted to do. We knew we would be stopping there, but had no idea it would be for 3 hours. I would have preferred a shorter trip without the Outlet Mall visit.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Too much to fit in in one day for this tour. We didn't have much time to see the places. The outlet shopping was good but perhaps as a separate day.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The driver was very good and the tour guide was outstanding. Very informative, helpful and fitted in with the whole tour group. I did not like the idea that we had our lunch and afternoon at the outlet shopping centre when the hamptons or sag harbor would be a far better venue to have had our lunch.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

This tour is not worth it during winter. Most of the shops are closed during winter in the Hamptons. The outlet shopping needs to be separate from the tour. As a couple of hours is not long enough to do shopping especially in view of the size of the outlet.

Vikki
Hong Kong

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Not enough time for the lunch in Sag Harbor, I can say very rush to do so. The place is very beautiful and relax, but cannot relax there. I recommend to shorten the time for the breakfast in the first stop and even skip for that. Price is pretty expensive as there's no entrance fee for this tour, only the tour bus shouldn't be cost that much.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Ok sort of trip. Not much to see in the hamptons and sort of hard to tell Australians how good the beaches were.. Not a patch on ours. We didn't spend anywhere near enough time at the outlets. The bus driver got lost a number of times leaving the hamptons and trying to get back to riverhead. T
Would think the tour bus driver would know where he was going!!!!! Coat us valuable shopping time. You would be much better off hiring a car for the day and doing this trip yourself. There was really no need for a guide as there was not a lot of information provided about the hamptons
more about the boroughs of Brooklyn and
Queens on our way out of manhattan.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

such a shame that the Hamptons had closed for the season, a fact that had been told we would not have gone. Weather easnt on our side and it was hard ro find a cafe that we could dodge the weather. Our guides were informative but his accent was at times hard to follow - however the outlets wee good but not enough time

lizyperry
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

not enough time - anywhere!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

I was really looking forward to this tour and was disappointed. Guide was not that keen. We got to sag harbour and he told us of 2 restaurants, both were closed. Then said oh yes are closed on Tuesdays , a s were a lot of shops. Why have a. Tour on a Tuesday when many things are closed. Found only one place to eat and many on bus ate there and they were so slow to serve food some nearly missed bus.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

I was disappointed in the area we were shown there were not shops for souvenirs or post cards and the one block we had time to walk had only shops the locals would be interested in and and discount mall we spent the most time at had no interest for me so it should be stressed that the shopping is the most important part of the tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

Bus was late, old and broke down. You had no other buses to send and we stood for an hour until driver got it going and then he could not turn it off gain. Cut down on our shopping at end of day. Air conditioning was not working on bus!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

We were disappointed in our trip for a few reasons. 1st the length of time on the bus.It was a lot more driving and a lot less visiting the towns and shopping than we anticipated.
The country breakfast was good but was at a fast food type restaurant. The stop in each of the towns was 1 hr long. The 2nd one, just long enough for lunch but didn't step foot into a shop. Stopped at a beach for 20 mins. Then only 2 hrs at the outlet mall. We felt like we were constantly running in order to keep to our time limits. Suggest having the Tangier outlets as a separate trip. Also would be awesome if the bus could spent that 2 hrs at the beach instead.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

Our tour guide had a thick accent and I couldn't understand half of what was said. Also, I would have liked to see more of the mansions on the tour. We drove by so fast you couldn't see any detail. Coopers Beach was very nice. Sag Harbor was beautiful with a great ice cream shop located on the way to the dock.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

Not worth the money. They drive you out to the Hamptons which is a bit of a ride and you see a few homes by the beach (nothing spectacular). I've seen just as nice of beach homes in other areas. Then you go shopping at the outlets. I knew ahead of time outlet shopping was not what I wanted but all these tours are the same and it's a part of the trip. They should skip the shopping and go to the other fork of the island which is where the old mansions are (much more of what I would have wanted to see). Guess I'll have to do that trip on my own some other time because I can't find any tour company that does that. Disappointed.

Wayne L
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2010

The tour was ok. We saw South Hampton and did some outlet shopping, however the tour could have been better and the tour guide and driver could have been more focused on the travellers. They were frustrated with the size of the bus small van the company provided them which I think put them off side for the day, but didn't work that hard to resolve and make it fun and interesting for the travellers.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2010

14 of us were packed into a 15 seat van with some passengers not congenial enough to rotate seats when they knew the back seats were terrible. We saw the exquisit homes only from the main road which didn't show us much and most of the stores in the villages we visited were closed. Driver was busy talking on the phone and swerved right into the oncoming traffic. I really was not impressed with the tour guide as he said no more than he had to. I did not get value for my money.

From USD $ 159.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3857NYCHAM

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message