3.5 star rating: Worth doing 93 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the The Hamptons, Sag Harbor and Outlet Shopping Day Trip from New York City. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 93 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Ee Him O
Singapore

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

This day trip offers the opportunity to visit the houses of the riches outside Manhantan and also have an idea how New York beaches look like.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Generally OK but could have definitely done with more time to visit Sag Harbour, possibly to include a drive along the foreshore, and achieve this by either reducing the time in Southampton village and/or the outlet mall

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The tour was very good and the guide excellent. We were not aware that The Hamptons would be practically 'shut down' in September, making it hard to find somewhere to eat lunch! We were not particularly keen on the outlet shopping part and so, to us, it was a long 2 hours wasted!

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Very little time at sag harbour (1 hour) only enough time to eat lunch and have a very short look around
To much time at the shopping outlets (just over 2 hours) trip not really worth the money

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Very enjoyable tour, love Sag Harbour, thought The Hampton time spent in the main street was far too long. Because of the end of season many shops were shut, there was nowhere to have a coffee, and I would have preferred to spend longer in Sag Harbour, to relax over lunch and explore the shops.
The tour Director (young lady) was great.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Loved seeing Southhampton and walking on the beach it was a glorious day. Lunch at Sag Harbour in a restaurant overlooking the water and boats. Had a great shopping spree at the outlet.
Felt the bus was getting old, some seats damaged. Also having a translator sat just behind us talking at the same time as the English guide was very difficult, it was listed as an English tour.

Anne W
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Would of liked to be told when booking, that majority of the hamptons shuts down in winter, not worth doing as there was nothing open. As an international tourist, we did not know that. Didn't enjoy sitting on a bus looking out at just scenery and high fences!! We would liked longer at the outlet shops if that was the case!!!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

The tour was ok. We felt they should have a Hamptons Tour or a shopping tour but not try to combine both as there was not enough time at either place so we were left disappointed in both. Our guide was not good - he never bothered to introduce himself or the driver which is something I have never seen on a tour - normally that's the first thing they do. Would only recommend if the tour was split - if you want to see the Hamptons you don't want to go to an outlet centre and vice versa.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Desite the rain was still a good day, would have liked more time though at the outlates. Staff seemed to be more interested in getting home early!

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Tour needs to leave on time regardless of if all booked travelers are there - those that manage to get there on time are disadvantaged. Also need to use common sense in letting unwell people on tours who then pass their germs to the rest of the tour as happened. Not enough time in the Hamptons or Sag Harbor - more time spent driving there. Also tour was meant to be in English which it was but was not expecting to have to wait for it to then be translated into German. Need seperate tours with multiple languages. What we saw was great. Would suggest the outlets are dropped as part of this tour - it should either be the Hamtpons or Outlets not both.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

it would have been better to spend more time seeing the hamptons than going to the outlets.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Thought there would be more time in Hamptons

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

I enjoyed this tour except for the shopping which was far too long. I would have preferred more time in the Hamptons seeing more places there rather than spending most of the time at a shopping outlet. Lunch at Sag Harbour was very enjoyable. The guide was very good too.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Nice trip but too little time at the Tangier Outlet

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

The guide was great and did his best to try to ensure that everyone was having a good time, but I really can't recommend this trip.
For our tour, we were 13 people squashed into a mini-van. The weather, unfortunately, was atrocious. Driving rain made doing anything almost impossible. After an hour and a half of driving, we pulled into a Holiday Inn for a continental breakfast (optional/extra cost) but I don't think anyone on our bus actually ate anything....so personally I think that part of the trip should be omitted.
Sag Harbor and the Hamptons, I'm sure, are very pretty places in fine weather and it would have been nice if we could have strolled the streets but the weather was against us.
The outlet shopping part of the tour would appeal to some but, once again, the weather was against us as it is an open mall with not much under-cover.
With peak traffic and lashing rain, the entire trip took 12 1/2 hours and that was really too long, particularly as squashed in as we were....

Bronwyn M
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

We didn't really stop at SAG harbour due to bad weather, thought we should have had more time at the outlets since we didn't spepnd the time at the harbour, Was ok felt very hurried at the factory outlets and all the driver and guide wanted to do was get back to beat the traffic

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

In general , tour was good ,but I should spend more time in the villages especially at noon in East Hampton to have a reasonable time to lunch and to see the village , also Sag Harbour is nteresting enough . I should spend less time in the outlets ,also because there is nothing to see for men !!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

The first half of the trip was very nice with a good vehicle and nice guide. However, the restaurant he recommended at Sag Harbor had not opened for the season and a number of stores at Southhampton had not opened either. The return trip was not so satisfying - we spent 3 hours at the Tanger Outlet which only 2 couples really wanted to do. We knew we would be stopping there, but had no idea it would be for 3 hours. I would have preferred a shorter trip without the Outlet Mall visit.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Too much to fit in in one day for this tour. We didn't have much time to see the places. The outlet shopping was good but perhaps as a separate day.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The driver was very good and the tour guide was outstanding. Very informative, helpful and fitted in with the whole tour group. I did not like the idea that we had our lunch and afternoon at the outlet shopping centre when the hamptons or sag harbor would be a far better venue to have had our lunch.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

This tour is not worth it during winter. Most of the shops are closed during winter in the Hamptons. The outlet shopping needs to be separate from the tour. As a couple of hours is not long enough to do shopping especially in view of the size of the outlet.

Vikki
Hong Kong

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Not enough time for the lunch in Sag Harbor, I can say very rush to do so. The place is very beautiful and relax, but cannot relax there. I recommend to shorten the time for the breakfast in the first stop and even skip for that. Price is pretty expensive as there's no entrance fee for this tour, only the tour bus shouldn't be cost that much.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Ok sort of trip. Not much to see in the hamptons and sort of hard to tell Australians how good the beaches were.. Not a patch on ours. We didn't spend anywhere near enough time at the outlets. The bus driver got lost a number of times leaving the hamptons and trying to get back to riverhead. T
Would think the tour bus driver would know where he was going!!!!! Coat us valuable shopping time. You would be much better off hiring a car for the day and doing this trip yourself. There was really no need for a guide as there was not a lot of information provided about the hamptons
more about the boroughs of Brooklyn and
Queens on our way out of manhattan.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

such a shame that the Hamptons had closed for the season, a fact that had been told we would not have gone. Weather easnt on our side and it was hard ro find a cafe that we could dodge the weather. Our guides were informative but his accent was at times hard to follow - however the outlets wee good but not enough time

lizyperry
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

not enough time - anywhere!

From USD $ 159.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3857NYCHAM

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message