4.5 star rating: Recommended 57 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  Flexible

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the The Russian Tea Room Dining Experience. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 57 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Bob
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

great atmosphere and the beef was to die for, highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Excellent experience. The staff and food were out of this world. We went on a Friday afternoon for lunch and it was a little quiet. But it's a fantastic place to see. Wine prices were fine and I would recommend going.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

The food was excellent. The service was great. Worth the visit.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Lovely atmosphere and food again though not very much choice

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Very good , food was lovely .

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Lovely experience, very attentive staff. When we arrived there were hardly any customers, the place felt a bit empty. It would probably have been better to come later.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Good food and service. A bit expensive.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Exceptional meal and service, but rather expensive.

Tracey I
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

we enjoyed our experience here but found the menu limited, the staff were a little on the formal side abit cold in personality!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

A very enjoyable afternoon in an historic site. We were allowed to change the fixed lunch to afternoon tea, whih was excellent. A great experience overall

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Had a great time well worth the money

Ella S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Very good! Deserts have nothing to do with Russian cuisine however

Jane P
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

What a great way to end a wonderful week in NYC! The wait staff were very attentive, the food very good. The only down side the price of alcohol was quite expensive. Would go back there and I have recommended this tour already.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Dinner and atmosphere at the Russian Tea Room were amazing! We probably could have just made a reservation there and gone without this booking though. Make sure you tell them you have the Viator voucher when you check in, we forgot and had to pay a little bit extra.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Wine List was magnificent especially the prices overall an enjoyable experience in a beautiful setting

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Service excellent,food very good,location good.I recommend the Russian Tea Room to anyone looking for that little extra thing to do.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Really enjoyed this outing but wish we had just made a reservation and not picked the set three course meal option. The meal was excellent and the staff were excetional. Glad I went!!

Linda
Belgium

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

We enjoyed the food and the surroundings (the venue was just as you see it in the movies). The staff were helpful; and the wine list quite good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Die Location ist gut. Besteht aus zwei Etagen, wobei unten besser ist. Den Platz kann man sich aber nicht aussuchen und wenn man im vorderen Teil sitzt, kriegt man von der Azmosphäre nicht so viel mit. Essen ok, aber nicht mitreißend.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

I was so looking forward to visiting the RTR, however my experience was not a good one. I had booked this as gift to my friend who was along with me. I ordered a starter of market salad and when I started eating it buried amongst the salad was a considerable size of a piece of clear plastic. I called our waiter over and pointed this out to him and asked him to find out where the plastic originated from. He was apologetic, offered me another choice of starter, which I did take and took the plate to the kitchen. He came back to inform me that the plastic was from the bag the same had been in. I am sorry to say that from this on, my enthusiasm for my meal was not as it should have been. Myself and my guest felt we were avoided from then on and no member of the management even came forward to apologise for the plastic in my food, were we offered anything by way of apology, or goodwill gesture. Our waiter was nowhere to be seen when we were leaving our table and I wanted to tip him, as I know it was not his fault, however he appeared to be avoiding us. Every other aspect of our meal was fine, the RTR is a beautiful ornate restaurant and I am still glad to have been there, as I was looking forward to it. I do feel we could have been spoken to by the manager to apologise at least.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Whilst food was nice....I was very disappointed about the fact that there is a compulsory 15% tip based on the ticket prices regardless of the fact that we had prepaid for the tickets through viator. There should be a warning on the information page that a 15 % tip is compulsory, that way people have a choice to go through with the purchase or not. It was a bit of a shock getting the bill...Particularly for those that do not come from countries that tip!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Beautiful place but found it very over priced considering the limited menu. Don't know what I was thinking as all drinks were vodka variations which I suppose makes sense. Not as big as it looks in photos. The stroganoff was fair I tried it as it got a good write up probably cuisine not for me. From what I could see the other people seemed to be enjoying it but mostly groups of 6 or more people. Place had quite a number of vacant table at the time we went for 7pm.

Helen R
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

My friends and I really got into the spirit of things and 'dressed up' for our visit to the Russian Tea Room, I was surprised to see other diners dressed casually. This place is amazing, absolutely beautiful, genuine paintings hanging on the walls, lots of glitz. The food was good value, traditional, I enjoyed borsche, chicken kiev and a gorgeous chocolate dessert. Drinks are quite expensive but I suppose in keeping with the surroundings. I was surprised at how quiet it was, very few diners although we booked for 8 pm. I felt it did lack atmosphere, possibly down to it being so quiet. The Manager 'talked' us through some of the paintings and was charming. We did query the final bill as it seemed high, but discovered tax is payable not only on the bill of the evening but also on the pre paid cost of the tour. We did find the waiter we queried the bill with quite rude, he argued with us in a raised voice, which was embarassing and uneccessary- we just wanted a breakdown of the bill. It did rather spoil what was an otherwise enjoyable evening. The Manager did give us tour of the rest of the Tea Rooms which were beautiful and very impressive. A great trip if you appreciate glitz, glamour and art and like to dine in quiet luxury.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

Good food ok service

From USD $ 59.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5187RTR

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message