4 star rating: Recommended 820 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Washington DC Day Trip from New York. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 820 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous tour. Well worth the long journey, Washington is so different to NYC. Take food and drink with you for the bus. Worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was excellent value for money, we loads in quite a short space of time and our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgable. I you don't have much time but want to see as much if DC as you can go on this trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

To only have 15 minutes to see Washington and Abe Lincolm monument was a joke that's what we went on the tour to see it was very rushed and for the tour guide he didn't present himself very well a bit underdressed for a tour guide very untidy I am highly recommending this tour it would be great to see with the right tour guide and more time to take photos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a great trip, very satisfied with the tour and the transport, the tour guide was great he had explained things very well and had no problems apart from lunch which was at the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum nice venue for having a museum visit but not lunch as you cannot eat your own food.

Upon return saw great attractions of New York City but there had been a lot of delay by the tour guide in terms of punctuality and timing we had arrived later than the 8.00pm time mentioned. But all in all good tour with a great film to finish it off White House Down.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

was a great day ,well organised but a long one ,be prepared to travel 4 hrs there and 4 hrs back

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Everything was great !!!!!!!!!!!! Very helpful our tour guide, everything on time. The bus was clean.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

WE HAD A GREAT TIME IN DESPITE OF THE AIR CONDITIONING OF THE COACH STOPPED WORKING AND WE HAD TO WAIT TO PICK US UP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I love this tour, its not a whole day and you don't have to get up early and the group size is small which was awesome. The guide is relaxed and knowledgeable. The gators are cute and the plantation homes are not only beautiful but the guides there do a fantastic job, especially at Laura plantation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

IT WAS THE BEST VERY GOOD DAY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Easy to find pick up point. Comfortable coach. Knowledgeable guide. Good timing at each location.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful tour. Loved seeing the memorials, the Capitol, the White House, etc. The Tour Guide was exceptional and kept us moving and on time, especially since time is precious, due to the 9-hour round trip bus ride. At the end of the tour tho' he mentions tipping and a typical percentage which I thought was strange. Maybe its a Company policy since Guide at the Philly Tour did the same thing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was very good and the guide Luis was fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Firstly I'd say this tour is well worth doing although there is some negatives to it too, the day starts at 6.30am everyone should be at the meeting point by then but we had to wait for 2 guests who were 45 minutes late and didn't even apologise, our guide was Sharon, she was definitely the least friendliest guide we had on our whole 10 days in New York kind of spoilt it a bit, they say wifi is available on the bus but that's only if it works and it didn't it was awful and you're travelling for hours so that also was a let down, when you eventually reach Washington though it is lovely, you begin at the memorial for the war dead and pause to hear some interesting facts, you can see the Jefferson Memorial also as it stands so tall, you then move onto the Abraham Lincoln statue and if you look closely you'll see the actual step Martin Luther King did his famous speech, that was lovely and the views are amazing there too, you carry on in that area for about 20 odd minutes before moving onto Madame tussards for a quick photo with the obamas etc and then go to the White house, you will be surprised when you see the building but it is amazing, next stop smithsonian air museum for lunch and tour for an hour or so, that was ok before ending the day at Capitol Hill. Leaving there you depart on the long journey back to New York, you do stop at Deleware servive station for a quick 20 minutes break going/returning, we didn't get back to New York until 10.30 pm which really is far too late but traffic was awful, they do expect a tip of about $25 per family although they say it's optional, if our guide had been nicer and less patronising when everyone made it back on the bus on time she would've got a bigger tip than I left, saying that though Washington is lovely to visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

From USD $ 159.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3857DC1

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message