4 star rating: Recommended 863 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Washington DC Day Trip from New York. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 863 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Mayan was a very knowledgeable guide she gave us a good insight into American history without it being boring. We got to see all the major sights of Washington.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great trip well worth it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very nice trip, have seen all the important places that we wanted. Only travelling by coach all day can be exhausting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing tour, well worth doing. The trip starts early in the morning and arrives back into NYC late evening so is a long day but is totally worth it. The trip to Washington DC is about four hours each way but our guide allowed people to sleep for some of the morning journey and then starting giving information about the places we were seeing or passing. You also stop at a service station about half way into the journey for breakfast (good choice of food) and again on the way back for a snack. The first visit is to the Memorials (Washington, Lincoln, Korean and Vietnam) and the reflecting pool. We were given ample time here to wander round all the memorials and take photos and info was given on each one. Next we visited the White House and you get to walk right up to the gates to take photos. The tour guide (Marco) was very good to take photos of people at attractions. Next stop was at Madame Tussauds for a visit to the Presidents Hall to meet Obama. After that we travelled to the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum where we had about an hour and a half to explore. The lunch stop was also here. The only restaurant here was McDonalds which was fine but maybe if you don't enjoy fast food you may want to bring you own snacks. The Air and Space museum is very interesting. After that we visited Capitol Hill (which unfortunately is under scaffolding at present but is still spectacular). After that is was time to return to New York. On the way back the tour guide played Movies to pass the time. The Tour Guide was very good and full of information about DC and NYC and also the places we passed through on the trip. A very good tour well worth the price and the long day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Dc tour was fantastic. Good learning about American history and seeing the major attractions

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The trip was fantastic - I think we were pretty luck with the weather in Washington D.C. as it was 9th November and 18 deg Celsius. The guide was very knowledgeable, spoke 3-4 languages and managed to keep the group of 28 people all on track on this feature packed day trip from NYC. Very long day though - start at 7 am and not back til after 9 pm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour...comprehensive. Tour director was cordial and knowledgeable. Wish we would have booked a two day tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great trip so much to see! bus trip broken up well,doesn't feel too long and
tour guides very informative :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic day that squeezes in so much and shows off Washington DC so well.A must do trip for those with limited time

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is an excellent tour. Informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well organized and a fantastic guide. A pity that the bus or guide did not take us to the front of the White House though. Overall the best tour we did in the states.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a great day. Our guide Dvir was very informative with a great sense of humour. We saw everything we wanted to. Well worth the time spent travelling.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was amazing, A nice experience, My tour guide was patient and careful, I could see the most famous places of Washington. it's better to do this by bus because you can admire the landscape. The bus stop in nice places to take a break and eat. I REALLY ENJOYED...!!! Very good job!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic really enjoyed every moment.would go back for a few days next time

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A great day out, even though it quite long and tiring. The bus was comfortable and having wifi on it was great and helped pass all the hours on it, even if it dropped out now and again. The tour guide was vey knowledgable and great at controlling the group to make sure we didn't loose time during the day. Some aspects were a little rushed, but you do get to see a lot during the time there. We loved Washington and the places we were taken. We would suggest dropping the Madame Tussaud's visit as you can do that in New York, if you want to, to give more time at some of the other stops. The memorials were very rushed, so more time there would have been good. We had great weather for the time of year, which only added to a great day out. Well worth the trip to see an amazing place.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous tour. Well worth the long journey, Washington is so different to NYC. Take food and drink with you for the bus. Worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was excellent value for money, we loads in quite a short space of time and our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgable. I you don't have much time but want to see as much if DC as you can go on this trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

To only have 15 minutes to see Washington and Abe Lincolm monument was a joke that's what we went on the tour to see it was very rushed and for the tour guide he didn't present himself very well a bit underdressed for a tour guide very untidy I am highly recommending this tour it would be great to see with the right tour guide and more time to take photos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a great trip, very satisfied with the tour and the transport, the tour guide was great he had explained things very well and had no problems apart from lunch which was at the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum nice venue for having a museum visit but not lunch as you cannot eat your own food.

Upon return saw great attractions of New York City but there had been a lot of delay by the tour guide in terms of punctuality and timing we had arrived later than the 8.00pm time mentioned. But all in all good tour with a great film to finish it off White House Down.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

was a great day ,well organised but a long one ,be prepared to travel 4 hrs there and 4 hrs back

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Everything was great !!!!!!!!!!!! Very helpful our tour guide, everything on time. The bus was clean.

From USD $ 159.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3857DC1

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message