4 star rating: Recommended 897 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Washington DC Day Trip from New York. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 897 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Would do this tour again. A long day but very enjoyable. According to my 12 year old son this was the highlight of the holiday.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was definitely worth it. We got to see all the major spots of Washington in the short time that we had. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and very entertaining.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent trip well organised from start to finish.A very comfortable bus and the guide Eddie was excellent giving a good commentary on the sites visited. A long and busy day but well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very good trip, especially the tour guided provided info not only the history but also the economies and the social sides of the places visited and passed by places..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent trip with great guide. Heavy snow night before, but trip still went ahead. Only criticism was wasting time at Madame Tussauds and Museum of Air and Space, with only MacDonald's available as lunch option. I'd have preferred a couple of hours to wonder round Washington and would have liked to stop at theatre where Lincoln was assassinated rather than quick drive-by. But overall a great trip for the price, and would go again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well organized trip with stops at the major attractions in Washington DC. Tour guides were thoughtful and explained to us the history of the sights whilst we were on the bus so we had more time to explore the sights ourselves when we actually arrived.
The bus ride was very comfortable, clean and prompt. We were shown a movie on the way back to break up the long journey.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent bus and excellent guide and driver. I had a good overview of Washington , DC. Thanks,. Alicia verduzco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent the best activity of my Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was great! My group got to see all the sites including The White House, The Capital, Lincoln memorial, etc. Our tour guide was informative and it was a great day! Highly recommended.

Lyds C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour if you have limited time to explore Washington. Had ample time at each stop for photos and guide also made time for a stop at the souvenir shop as many of us have requested for it. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Washington was great it was a long day but well worth it the tour guide was well informed and very helpful would recommend this tour to anyone thinking about travelling to the east coast of the USA and wanting to see as much as they can.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was an excellent tour even though it was a long day, the tour guide made the long bus ride very bearable. Washington DC is beautiful, and although we went on a day where the weather was not favourable, the tour guide was quick on his feet in taking us over to Virginia to drive pass the Pentagon to give us a few more minutes to let the rain subside. It didn't subside completely but did lighten. The Lincoln Memorial is something that I have wanted to sight for a very long time, and it absolutely did not disappoint along with the Washington Monument in all its glory. It is truly a beautiful city and a unique part of the United States. I high recommend taking an entire day out of your visit to NYC and doing this tour. It truly is an amazing part of the United States to see. You will absolutely not be disappointed no matter the weather.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was a great choice to take this tour. We were in New York for a few days and we took advantage of this tour to visit the capital city. The tour guide was very helpful. He gave us very good information and he was humorous. Unfortunately we visited Washington DC on the 15th of October where there was a tornado!! The tour guide and bus driver stopped at a souvenir shop so that we could buy ponchos if we wanted to and also changed the program of the tour in order to enjoy it at its most. It was a long day but definitely worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Mayan was a very knowledgeable guide she gave us a good insight into American history without it being boring. We got to see all the major sights of Washington.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great trip well worth it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very nice trip, have seen all the important places that we wanted. Only travelling by coach all day can be exhausting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing tour, well worth doing. The trip starts early in the morning and arrives back into NYC late evening so is a long day but is totally worth it. The trip to Washington DC is about four hours each way but our guide allowed people to sleep for some of the morning journey and then starting giving information about the places we were seeing or passing. You also stop at a service station about half way into the journey for breakfast (good choice of food) and again on the way back for a snack. The first visit is to the Memorials (Washington, Lincoln, Korean and Vietnam) and the reflecting pool. We were given ample time here to wander round all the memorials and take photos and info was given on each one. Next we visited the White House and you get to walk right up to the gates to take photos. The tour guide (Marco) was very good to take photos of people at attractions. Next stop was at Madame Tussauds for a visit to the Presidents Hall to meet Obama. After that we travelled to the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum where we had about an hour and a half to explore. The lunch stop was also here. The only restaurant here was McDonalds which was fine but maybe if you don't enjoy fast food you may want to bring you own snacks. The Air and Space museum is very interesting. After that we visited Capitol Hill (which unfortunately is under scaffolding at present but is still spectacular). After that is was time to return to New York. On the way back the tour guide played Movies to pass the time. The Tour Guide was very good and full of information about DC and NYC and also the places we passed through on the trip. A very good tour well worth the price and the long day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Dc tour was fantastic. Good learning about American history and seeing the major attractions

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The trip was fantastic - I think we were pretty luck with the weather in Washington D.C. as it was 9th November and 18 deg Celsius. The guide was very knowledgeable, spoke 3-4 languages and managed to keep the group of 28 people all on track on this feature packed day trip from NYC. Very long day though - start at 7 am and not back til after 9 pm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour...comprehensive. Tour director was cordial and knowledgeable. Wish we would have booked a two day tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great trip so much to see! bus trip broken up well,doesn't feel too long and
tour guides very informative :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic day that squeezes in so much and shows off Washington DC so well.A must do trip for those with limited time

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is an excellent tour. Informative.

Special Offer
$159.00 Save $16.00

From USD $ 143.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3857DC1

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message