4 star rating: Recommended 859 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: New York City, New York
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Washington DC Day Trip from New York. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 859 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful tour. Loved seeing the memorials, the Capitol, the White House, etc. The Tour Guide was exceptional and kept us moving and on time, especially since time is precious, due to the 9-hour round trip bus ride. At the end of the tour tho' he mentions tipping and a typical percentage which I thought was strange. Maybe its a Company policy since Guide at the Philly Tour did the same thing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was very good and the guide Luis was fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Firstly I'd say this tour is well worth doing although there is some negatives to it too, the day starts at 6.30am everyone should be at the meeting point by then but we had to wait for 2 guests who were 45 minutes late and didn't even apologise, our guide was Sharon, she was definitely the least friendliest guide we had on our whole 10 days in New York kind of spoilt it a bit, they say wifi is available on the bus but that's only if it works and it didn't it was awful and you're travelling for hours so that also was a let down, when you eventually reach Washington though it is lovely, you begin at the memorial for the war dead and pause to hear some interesting facts, you can see the Jefferson Memorial also as it stands so tall, you then move onto the Abraham Lincoln statue and if you look closely you'll see the actual step Martin Luther King did his famous speech, that was lovely and the views are amazing there too, you carry on in that area for about 20 odd minutes before moving onto Madame tussards for a quick photo with the obamas etc and then go to the White house, you will be surprised when you see the building but it is amazing, next stop smithsonian air museum for lunch and tour for an hour or so, that was ok before ending the day at Capitol Hill. Leaving there you depart on the long journey back to New York, you do stop at Deleware servive station for a quick 20 minutes break going/returning, we didn't get back to New York until 10.30 pm which really is far too late but traffic was awful, they do expect a tip of about $25 per family although they say it's optional, if our guide had been nicer and less patronising when everyone made it back on the bus on time she would've got a bigger tip than I left, saying that though Washington is lovely to visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Awesome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely loved this trip. Long day but worth doing. Was our last day in NY and my husband and our two teens thought we finished on a high. The tour guide Nena was brilliant!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour! Long day of driving - got back to NYC at around 9.30pm instead of 8pm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Had such an informative day and it was well worth the money

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my day in Washington, the pace of the day was quite challenging considering the heat, but it was still a great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I went on 4/7/14 when we had to walk more but we saw the end of the parade.It was free into madame tussards and the space museum and we saw the memorials and the main sights like Lincoln memorial and the white house.A very full and informative day by the guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Had an amazing day. Weather was in the nineties. Our guide was great. The only thing they bothered me was the only place we could have lunch was in the mcdonalds in the smithsonian and I hate McDonald's. It would have been better if an hour was added to go somewhere else to eat as it's a long day x

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great way to see Washington DC if you have limited time. We saw all the sights.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Was excellent although tiring, but the coach bus was comfortable... the guide covered a lot of things to see and to tell.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our trip to Washington was amazing. We did not know it would take 4 hours to get there though. When we did get there it was like a dream. We were close up to everything and got the Washington experience. Our tour guide was amazing. She took so much time to explain everything! We loved her style!! A+++ Great tour!! Truly and Thankfully The Bueches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Long day but well worth it and our tour guide was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A very Long day but a highlight of our Honeymoon. Excellent guide who's name escapes me (young man).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really enjoyed day trip to Washington and recommend going!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great day everything was well organised. Tour guides and driver done a great job. We were well pleased.

SHANE P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A long but wonderful day. Ben was our tour guide and Mike was our bus driver. We had a smooth trip and Ben was very knowledgable and we learnt a lot about Washington. Also had plenty of free time at each place for photo's and to have a look around. Stopped on the way there and back for a break. A great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Enjoyed thoroughly. Tour guide first class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent service, the guide Jose Luiz was very friendly, expansive, show very high knowledge on sightseens he presented, very pleasant trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This might seem a strange review , but due to medical problems I was unable to fly to the US and hence take the tour but my two friends still managed to go and the feedback I have received from them was excellent.
A long day but worth every penny and may I say, VIATOR bent over backwards to ensure that my friends made the trip even though I , the lead traveller, was not present Many thanks for minimising any problems and making my friends' trip one to remember

From USD $ 159.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3857DC1

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message