4 star rating: Recommended 321 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Waikiki, Oahu
  • Duration:  15 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 321 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our tour guide really helped make this a totally enjoyable day with her knowledge and humor throughout the day. Although a long day, it was a good value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My tour of Volcanoes National Park was very thorough and worth the money. The tour guide was very knowledgeable as he attended University of Hawaii and learned their language and history. I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

All went well except the weather, no control over that. Foggy and drizzle most of day. But tour on bus was good guide was entertaining. Weather cleared for about 30 minutes and we did get to see the volcano, steam vents, walked on old lava flows, thru lava tubes, etc. I think we got on and off the bus at least 25 times at different places. All went well and my wife and I had a great time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A must when visiting Hawaii. Was well and truly worth every cent. HUGE day but worth it. got to see everything up close. great bus driver had lots of local knowledge and was very entertaining. Lots of stops for food and breaks and freedom to go explore at your own leisure then meet back at the bus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Jane our tour director was AWESOME!! Very knowledgeable, very pleasant, great speaking voice, very well spoken. Great trip!! Thank you!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Wonderful tour guide! He was very knowledgeable. Tour was fabulous. Learned a lot about Hawaiian culture. Various stops/sites along the tour were great! Black sand beach was a little underwhelming. Overall, great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Long day but well worth it. The Tour Guide shared his knowledge and as he grew up on the island he was very interesting and easy to listen to. A must do.....

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was the highlight of our 2 week stay in Hawaii. Hugh(our tour guide ) was a wealth of information and very pleasant. I was a little disappointed that I didn't see red hot lava but there were so many stops that I didn't expect it made up for it. The orchids were awesome and the macadamia nuts delicious. The most meaningful part of the tour was devastation trail which really bought home the power of nature.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was more than I could've asked for! Though it does make for a long day you get to experience so many great aspects of the big island. We were met at the airport by our guide for the day John. He was extremely knowledgeable as he has lived on the island for 20-30 years and had items for "show and tell" which gave you a great perspective on exactly what he was talking about. Our first stop was at a local store in order to stock up on water (which I promise you will want and need) as well as to get breakfast or snacks for the day. After that we were off to touring. Stops on the tour included a Japanese garden, a black sand beach with an opportunity to see a little bit of green sand, a visit to the Mauna Loa macadamia nut factory, rainbow falls, visit to an orchid nursery, lunch and then the rest of the day was spent in volcanoes national park. You really get to experience so much on this tour and we thoroughly enjoyed every aspect. Ample stops are made within the park getting to experience craters, different types and anomalies in lave flow, and the lava tube. You get back to the airport in plenty of time and we even ended up with extra time at the end of our tour so john stopped where there were some fast food and coffee options to choose from so that we could have dinner and not rely on the very limited options at the airport.

This is definitely a long day but without having to break up your vacation and actually stay on the big island ,this is the best way to get the total experience. We brought a small backpack with TSA size sunscreen, and rain jackets just in case but I would highly recommend some sort of jacket as the weather in different areas of the park can be quite different. We also brought some snacks that we purchased prior to this day trip so that for the day we only had to purchase lunch and water/beverages.

Highly, Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Simply amazing tour and guide. Sharon was fun and knowledgeable. Bus a/c died part of the day but windows down mode worked fine. Won't see spewing lava as sort of implied but lots of older lava flows and the crater. Left with 20 lbs of macadamia nuts i think! Great day trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Captain Rob showed us so many things on this tour and was very knowledgeable about volcanoes and The Big Island. The tour was very well paced and managed to fit in a great diversity of places of interest. I'd also like to say how very grateful I am that the tour operator was willing to change our tour dates when our whole Hawaiian trip was rescheduled due to the hurricanes. We are extremely appreciative of the flexibility shown to us and the efficiency of the good people at Viator for sorting things out for us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trip to the Big Island with Granddaughters was very nice. I was there several years ago but saw different things on this trip. Our trip guide JANE was very good and answered any questions we had.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fun, stress free trip. The tour guide was funny, and very informative. We would defiantly go again!
It was very neat to see a different island, and learn about the Big Island of Hawaii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour from the word go. The rep Robert (Cap'n Rob) was superb. He's funny, knowledgeable and very informative. There's never a dull moment and the Cap'n kept everyone upbeat and clued in all the time. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone coming to the islands.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was very interesting, guide was knowledgable about the area

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Captain rob was on point, it's like he owned the company. He is always researching ways to make his tour better. Captain rob is what all of driver should be if their not. Great job captain rob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

wonderful trip very informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

You must take this tour

deluded
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This one was absolutely fantastic. The tour guide (Sharon) was very knowledgeable and kept the day interesting.

We had a clear sunny day and was able to take in the beautiful surroundings.

Doing a day trip means that it was a very long day, so be prepared.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Outstanding experience. The logistics all worked as advertised, and the tour itself was amazing. Our guide Robert (aka Capt. Rob) was simply the best. He was a botanist, a vulcanologist and and expert on all things about the island of Hawai'i. His narrative was so informative, and his demeanor was so pleasant and accessible, that it was truly a pleasure to be on an organized guided tour with him - something we usually avoid as a rule. The guides for this trip rotate, so I can assure you that it is worth finding out when Capt. Rob is going to do the trip (if possible) and book the day he is the lead.

Wonderful, memorable trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I would like more stars to rate this experience properly!!!.................

Darren S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour. A once in a lifetime event. I was glad that we did the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Guide/driver was awesome, informative and funny
Dont fly "Go" unless you dont mind delays

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

this is a must see if you are interested in volcanos. One more item to tick off my bucket list. Thank you Viator 1

From USD $ 421.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2360H2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message