• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 259 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Oahu, Hawaii
  • Duration:  15 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 259 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The Big Island tour of the volcanoes was the unexpected highlight of my recent trip to Hawaii. We started off bumpy. I purposely booked the Hawaiian Air ticket which costs more but even so, unexpected mechanical problems caused us to switch aircrafts and we were delayed in getting to Hilo on the Big Island by about an hour. We were picked up by Polynesian Adventures right away at the airport and our day began!
Our tour guide, Jane, was fantastic. Our tour group was small, less than 10 of us all together. She tailored the day to what we wanted to do and see and the pace of all our stops seemed just perfect. She let us know exactly where we were going and why we were making our stops in that order. She made it so that we would be able to squeeze in time to see the light from the lava in the caldera at twilight. We had a jam packed day but it was all worth it. You will have to wake up before dawn and you will get back to your hotel at 9 or 10pm but it will be an experience you'll always remember. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who has never seen the volcanoes in Hawaii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I loved it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Had an amazing time. Would recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a great tour! Our guide Leroy was very knowlegable and made the trip enjoyable! I would def recommend to anyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Great tour........But made for a long day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Loved this tour! Sharon our tour guide has a GREAT knowledge of Hilo. Loved seeing nature as its best.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our driver/guide was Keao. We all had a great time on this tour, what with his knowledge and experience as a local resident. He knew more than he could tell us in that short time, and kept us entertained with singing and movie making background. He had a laid back sense of humor and some of his jokes took on a local flavor, for example, some ladies on the bus had kept on giving him nuts. Finally they had been questioned why. They explained they were too hard to chew, but had sucked off the chocolate first. Another was about the girls calling out of the windows: "More men, more men" after the missionaries had been sent out. Then also, "Bring 'em young, bring 'em young". It struck me as funny, with all due respect.
We all took away many great memories and information about the island, such as too size, population, a bit of history, sports, building codes, prices, water problems, etc. Great learning curve.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An excellent tour. Pick up at hotel was prompt (if very early in the morning) and everything was explained upon arrival at the airport on how the day would proceed. Time at each stoop was good and we had plenty of time to view, walk and learn about the Volcanoes National Park. A long day but well worth it, both in terms of time and money. Hawaiian Air transfer was a lot quicker than the cheaper GO option when returning. Would recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

it was raining that day and but the sun peeped out at the right time giving us such a good experience of the volcanos, the lava tunnel, the rain forests etc. The tour bus driver, Captain Rob was very knowledgeable and kept us informed along the way...no hard sell here and I like it that way. Also be prepared to walk in mud etc so follow instructions on proper clothes and shoes. The flight connecting us to Big Hawai'i were on time and efficient. Slept like a baby on the way back home! I'll do it again with Viator on our next trip to Hawaii!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour. Would have loved to stay later though.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great tour, great guide! Definitely worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The day trip to the Big Island (Hawaii) was wonderful. It was like stepping back in time but with all of today’s luxuries. Our tour guide /bus driver was a wealth of local and historical knowledge. He gave us a grand tour of the local attractions including the magnificent scenery of black sandy beaches, local wild life that included the large turtles that visit the island, remnants of age old lava flows and the experience of seeing a live volcano and the after effects of many eruptions. It was like being in Jurassic Park without the dangers. A great day’s adventure. Well worth the experiencing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was a great trip. The tour person was very informative and knowledgeable of Big Island.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It's fine, the driver pretty good give explanation about the history and the way she drove good as well. She gave a time for us to take a picture pass some lava, and or view. Thanks Sharon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had a great time and the guide was extremely informative and helpful. I would recomend to others.

From USD $ 375.28

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2360H2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message