4 star rating: Recommended 319 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Waikiki, Oahu
  • Duration:  15 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 319 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was excellent and our tour guide was wonderful

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The Big Island tour of the volcanoes was the unexpected highlight of my recent trip to Hawaii. We started off bumpy. I purposely booked the Hawaiian Air ticket which costs more but even so, unexpected mechanical problems caused us to switch aircrafts and we were delayed in getting to Hilo on the Big Island by about an hour. We were picked up by Polynesian Adventures right away at the airport and our day began!
Our tour guide, Jane, was fantastic. Our tour group was small, less than 10 of us all together. She tailored the day to what we wanted to do and see and the pace of all our stops seemed just perfect. She let us know exactly where we were going and why we were making our stops in that order. She made it so that we would be able to squeeze in time to see the light from the lava in the caldera at twilight. We had a jam packed day but it was all worth it. You will have to wake up before dawn and you will get back to your hotel at 9 or 10pm but it will be an experience you'll always remember. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who has never seen the volcanoes in Hawaii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I loved it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Had an amazing time. Would recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a great tour! Our guide Leroy was very knowlegable and made the trip enjoyable! I would def recommend to anyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Great tour........But made for a long day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Loved this tour! Sharon our tour guide has a GREAT knowledge of Hilo. Loved seeing nature as its best.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our driver/guide was Keao. We all had a great time on this tour, what with his knowledge and experience as a local resident. He knew more than he could tell us in that short time, and kept us entertained with singing and movie making background. He had a laid back sense of humor and some of his jokes took on a local flavor, for example, some ladies on the bus had kept on giving him nuts. Finally they had been questioned why. They explained they were too hard to chew, but had sucked off the chocolate first. Another was about the girls calling out of the windows: "More men, more men" after the missionaries had been sent out. Then also, "Bring 'em young, bring 'em young". It struck me as funny, with all due respect.
We all took away many great memories and information about the island, such as too size, population, a bit of history, sports, building codes, prices, water problems, etc. Great learning curve.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An excellent tour. Pick up at hotel was prompt (if very early in the morning) and everything was explained upon arrival at the airport on how the day would proceed. Time at each stoop was good and we had plenty of time to view, walk and learn about the Volcanoes National Park. A long day but well worth it, both in terms of time and money. Hawaiian Air transfer was a lot quicker than the cheaper GO option when returning. Would recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

it was raining that day and but the sun peeped out at the right time giving us such a good experience of the volcanos, the lava tunnel, the rain forests etc. The tour bus driver, Captain Rob was very knowledgeable and kept us informed along the way...no hard sell here and I like it that way. Also be prepared to walk in mud etc so follow instructions on proper clothes and shoes. The flight connecting us to Big Hawai'i were on time and efficient. Slept like a baby on the way back home! I'll do it again with Viator on our next trip to Hawaii!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour. Would have loved to stay later though.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was a great trip. The tour person was very informative and knowledgeable of Big Island.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It's fine, the driver pretty good give explanation about the history and the way she drove good as well. She gave a time for us to take a picture pass some lava, and or view. Thanks Sharon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had a great time and the guide was extremely informative and helpful. I would recomend to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We loved it, we got soo much info of the island and its volcanoes activity and some fantastic pictures.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Terry and I enjoyed every minute of our trip! Leroy was knowledgeable, funny, and entertaining. It is apparent that he loves the big island of Hawaii and is anxious to share his passion for it with others. It was a day that we will never forget! Thanks for the fantastic tour!
Sincerely,
Sue Ritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was an amazing tour. Our tour guide was fantastic and kept us entertained throughout the day. We had our two teenage children with us who enjoyed the black sand beach tour, the waterfall and the macadamia nut tour however were asleep on the bus by the time we arrived at the Orchid Farm. We left them on the bus whilst we toured the Orchids. After lunch and once we started the Volcano National Park tour we were all blown away by what we saw it was amazing and so interesting. That was definitely the highlight of the tour for all of us. The only negative was that our flight back to Honolulu did not leave to approx. 8.20 pm that same day, however we had to drop others on the same tour back to the airport at 5.30pm so really the tour was over by then. Our tour guide was kind enough to drop those who had the later flight into the main street and she recommended places where were could have some dinner. In that time she dropped the early flight guests off at the airport and then returned to collect us. We still had a couple of hours wait at the airport which maybe could have been avoided if we had an earlier flight. All that aside it was an amazing day, my husband, teenagers and I were so glad that we did this tour and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Well worth the memories.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very enjoyable and informative!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Our day started off cloudy but the weather improved before lunch. Our guide was very informative in a casual way. She kept an eye on everyone and was friendly and helpful. The places we visited were good and we had ample time to see everything and take lots of pictures.Lunch was ok but my husband said his hamburger tasted funny and he became ill about an hour after. Another lady said her salad had an insect in it. The Macadamia farm and the Orchid farm were wonderful. Our guide spent plenty of time in the lava fields. On the way home she told island ghost stories which we all enjoyed. Tho on the pricey side it was well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

OMG,you are good,Sharon is Wonderfull.Like to go at night on Helecopter!Jan 2014

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

The tour brings you to see many places you never able to find from google. For the price includes tickets and ground transportation is very economic. Recommend this tour for anyone likes to explore Big Island.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We had a fantastic day during this tour. Our tour leader was "Leroy" and he was very knowledgable, friendly and made the day very enjoyable. It's a very long day meeting the bus at 5am and not getting back to Honolulu until about 9.00pm the same evening. The only thing I could pick would be that we had to wait two hours at the airport for our flight back to Honolulu when there were two earlier flights which meant that we could have left earlier. There is quite a lot of getting on and off the bus and walking so if you have a disability or are elderly this may not be for you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great tour! Lots are locations and shops.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The tour was excellent. The guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Transport was good and we were left feeling happy.

From USD $ 421.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2360H2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message