4 star rating: Recommended 276 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Waikiki, Oahu
  • Duration:  15 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 276 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The tour was excellent. The guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Transport was good and we were left feeling happy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We had a wonderful experience and tour was well organized and on time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great trip and certainly worth doing. Just be aware of that if you want to take sunscreen in a normal size bottle, that you have to pay to check in a bag when you fly to the Big island. We had a great guide on the island and all the volcanic formations are outstanding. The lava tube, steam vents etc. are really interesting and you are given plenty of time to see everything and walk on the old lava flows. Even though it was a long day it wasn't too tiring, highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Well worth waking up early and picking the Hawaiin airline option.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Fabulous - worth every cent - a long day, but just amazing - highlight of my trip. The only disappoint was that there were no "tacky" Volcano souveniers to be purchased!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

It was a really long day, but totally worth the day trip to the Big Island. It made me want more adventure though! A couple of stops were so beautiful or made me want to venture deeper, but were too short of a stay. I guess I will have to make another vacation for the Big Island to hike the volcano and hang out at Black Sand Beach longer.

Also, I don't know if it's just me wanting to know the plan, but I felt out of the loop from the pick-up at the hotel, to the airport heading to the Big Island. We waited for the bus to pick us up at 5 am, so we were out there at 4:50am, but that's when the bus STARTED pick-ups. We were the last to be picked up.. Then after going through security at the airport, I felt lost on where we were heading. I would've felt comfortable having a guide because I was nervous that we'd miss the plane.

Tip: Bring a jacket! It rained on and off the entire day (September).

Tip: Eating at Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory is cheaper than the restaurant they take you before the volcanoes. The restaurant wasn't too bad though, just a little expensive.

In the end, I would recommend this tour because we did A LOT in one day! I would totally look for another tour like this for future vacations.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Very well organised from the time we got picked up from our hotel and dropped off again. Well worth doing this tour . Our tour guide was very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Absolutely brilliant!
We were tossing up whether to pay the big bucks and do this or not, but wow.. so glad we did.
Definitely a highlight. The tour was wonderful. Our guide Sharon was just awesome, and so patient with us and was so knowledgable about the island and the culture and how the volcanoes worked. Fantastic day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Excellent! Would recommend it to anyone. Well organized and an excellent driver/guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

We were not staying at a hotel so drove to the airport ourselves, but one of the guides had already checked us in and made sure we got our boarding passes. On the big island we were met by our guide, James, and the tour bus. It is a very busy day, but you see a lot! The macademia nut factory and orchid center are enjoyable. The guide was very knowledgable about the island as a whole and all the places we visited. We did not go to the Volcano House as it was closed due to the sulfur emissions. There was no lava flow accessible to us since we were informed you can only see it by helicopter so don't have high expectations on that front. Lunch was at the lava cafe, which was pretty good. It was a bit rainy so the tour finished early, since we did not stay in some places too long (by choice), so James took us to a local mall for dinner before our flight, which was considerate. If you want to get an idea of the big island and hit all the highlights this is the tour to pick.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The best adventure of our week-long trip to Hawaii was Volcanoes National Park. Most of our time was spent on Oahu but the one-day tour to the Big Island will always hold special memories for us. Both my husband and I enjoyed it immensely. If you are on the fence and deciding whether to take the trip, you will not regret it. For those that love history and geography, it is truly an amazing adventure. Just fyi, I have asthma and did not experience any problems at all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was a great trip! Great, knowledgable guide, fantastic sights and just a little bit of walking. I highly reccomend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Dennis, our tour guide was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. Thoroughly enjoyed the tour.

Toni J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Really enjoyed our day and our driver/guide John was so entertaining and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

This trip was amazing. It was well run and organized. We'd recommend it to anyone travelling to Hawaii.

From USD $ 375.28

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2360H2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message