4 star rating: Recommended 283 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Waikiki, Oahu
  • Duration:  15 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 283 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Excellent! Would recommend it to anyone. Well organized and an excellent driver/guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

We were not staying at a hotel so drove to the airport ourselves, but one of the guides had already checked us in and made sure we got our boarding passes. On the big island we were met by our guide, James, and the tour bus. It is a very busy day, but you see a lot! The macademia nut factory and orchid center are enjoyable. The guide was very knowledgable about the island as a whole and all the places we visited. We did not go to the Volcano House as it was closed due to the sulfur emissions. There was no lava flow accessible to us since we were informed you can only see it by helicopter so don't have high expectations on that front. Lunch was at the lava cafe, which was pretty good. It was a bit rainy so the tour finished early, since we did not stay in some places too long (by choice), so James took us to a local mall for dinner before our flight, which was considerate. If you want to get an idea of the big island and hit all the highlights this is the tour to pick.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The best adventure of our week-long trip to Hawaii was Volcanoes National Park. Most of our time was spent on Oahu but the one-day tour to the Big Island will always hold special memories for us. Both my husband and I enjoyed it immensely. If you are on the fence and deciding whether to take the trip, you will not regret it. For those that love history and geography, it is truly an amazing adventure. Just fyi, I have asthma and did not experience any problems at all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was a great trip! Great, knowledgable guide, fantastic sights and just a little bit of walking. I highly reccomend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Dennis, our tour guide was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. Thoroughly enjoyed the tour.

Toni J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Really enjoyed our day and our driver/guide John was so entertaining and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

This trip was amazing. It was well run and organized. We'd recommend it to anyone travelling to Hawaii.

johnjane
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Well organised enjoyable trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

It was a great deal for the price and very organized for the number of hours it involved. the driver was very nice and informative about the flowers, trees and the island.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Outstanding! Every part of the day went smoothly. Our guide for the volcanos tour was amazing! So many interesting things we learned. We thoroughly enjoyed our day! 10-21-11

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

awesome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

pretty good trip worth do it with long hours, Like the black sand beach!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

This was the first time we have used Viator and it certainly wont be our last. The whole day trip was fantastic and the tour guard very informative. We are so glad we did this day trip to see an active volcanoe. It was a long day but worth the effort. I would highly recommend this Day trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A great tour! They took us to many different places on the Big Island, not just VNP, and our driver was very knowledgeable and kept us entertained during the longer drives between locations. Very reasonably priced considering that $299 included airfare and admission to all of the sights. Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

The tour was great!!! Highly Recommended

From USD $ 375.28

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2360H2

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message