4 star rating: Recommended 304 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Waikiki, Oahu
  • Duration:  15 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 304 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The people were GREAT. On your voucher you should put more information about who is to pick us up at the airport and the actual name of the tour company. I only found the name on the email you sent saying you could not pick us up. We loved our guide. Very informative and sweet and funny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The trip to the Big Island to see and learn about the Island was well worth the time. You will see a Volcano but, you will not be guaranteed the sight of lava. The day we were there the lava flow had changed direction and was about 6 miles from us. Guess if you were up to the hike you could have left the tour and went on your own. Our guide was very well informed about all things the Island had to offer and was very funny. He would take time to answer any questions you had and I don't think he ever said "I don't know". If you are looking for a good time and want to see some great countryside this is a trip worth doing. I just wish I would of had more time.

Raymond S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

We had an excellent guide-driver. The trip was extremely interesting, educational and informative, and we would do it again.

Amanda M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

I definitely recommend this tour! It was a very long day but well worth the time as it was an awesome experience. The tour suits people of varying physical ability - my parents and I had a wonderful experience that will last forever in our memories. Go for it and enjoy! Two thumbs up!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

Fantastic! Our tour guide made this one of the best tours I have ever been on. He was very knowledgeable and funny. He even brought us to a private black-sand beach to see some sea turtles at the end of the day since we had some time to kill. A must-do if you are visiting the Big Island.

Tracie M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

Fantastic trip - it covered everything we hoped for. Everyone should do it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2007

The volcano trip was fantastic! Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining! He was one of the best guides I have toured with. I would have liked to spend more time walking over the lava flow and would have liked to skip the orchid stop. The orchid stop was not worth while and was the worst part of the trip. The trip was much better than I expected and I would recommend this trip to anyone.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

This was a great tour - the rain forest, lava tube, and crater are fantastic experiences, and our guide was a delight!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

My sister and I enjoyed this excursion. It was a LONG day, but worth it. It includes many stops along the way but ultimately, the volcano, history, lava tube, and the lava fields were the most exciting.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Such a long day but brilliant. We thoroughly enjoyed it especially the hula lesson from our tour guide in the bus.

Rick W
South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I would have given this tour a 5 star rating, but I thought the morning was a bit of a waste of time for me personally. I wanted to go and see the volcanoes, but we spent most of the morning driving around various parts of the island, visiting a Macadamia Nut factory and Orchid nursery. We only went into the Volcanoes National Park after lunch. However, the wait was definitely worth it. The Volcanoes National Park was spectacular. Our tour guide for the day was a local islander, who was very knowledgeable and a great host for the day. This tour is a full day, with a very early start and a late return flight back to Honolulu.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great trip and tour guide. Only thing that would have made this better is getting to see active flowing lava which you do not see on this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Rob was a wonderful tour guide. The weather wasn't the best so he did his best under the circumstances. I had hoped he had a website or printout of all the places we went that day so I could refer back to all the photos I had taken. Unfortunately, he didn't. Overall, I would recommend this tour!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I really enjoyed this tour, and especially thought the tour guide, Capt. Rob, did an amazing job. It was a bit of a bummer that you don't actually see lava, but I knew that going into the tour. My only complaint from the day was at the very end of the tour. When we flew back to Oahu we had to sit and wait at the airport for a different tour group to get back before our bus would take us back to the hotel. We ended up sitting and waiting on a bus for about 45 minutes. Overall though, the tour was fun and informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Overall, this was a fabulous day. Upon arrival in Hilo, it started a little slowly, with sights and locations en route to the Volcano National Park. But overall it was a fascinating and really enjoyable tour. Well worth the long day.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour with a great guide , unfortunately we did not see lava flowing

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a great trip! Well worth the early flight. Our driver, Leroy, was knowledgable and funny and knew the answer to every question. We had plenty of opportunities to eat, take pictures and bathroom breaks. I highly recommend doing this rather than trying to organize it yourself .

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour started off blandly...the Japanese garden was a sluggish start. It gathered steam during the day, and the Volcanoes Nat'l Park made up for the early sluggishness.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Overall, the trip was nice. There were too many sightseeing stops along the way, that were of little significance, making the trip a very long day. Towards the end of the trip, a lot of people were too tired to get off the bus to see some of the more significant sights. Plenty of opportunities to get something to eat. We brought our lunch and snacks and kept them on the bus. Saved us some money. The driver was very knowledgable and funny and everything ran efficiently and on time. Overall, I would do it again, but suggest they eliminate some unnecessary stops.

pretesh patel
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic tour outside Oahu giving a different perspective of Hawaii in this area of Hilo on the big island. Our tour guide Laura who was very passionate and knowledgeable on the tour made it a worthwhile day out.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It is very informative and we had fun on the places we stopped by.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour, value for money, ESP the tour guide. Laura ( I hope correct spelling) was A1, very informed, great guide and excellent people skills. Thoroughly recommend tour and company. Only suggestion maybe on finish of tour before dropping of at import a side trip into Hilo for afternoon tea or early dinner! There was a good wait at the airport for flight to depart and the airport limited in meal / snack offerings!
The small group made the tour more enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

I'm sure I wouldn't be the first person to start a review of this tour with the words "It was an early start and a very long day...", but there was so much to squeeze in it couldn't be any other way. My partner and I have a great day and our tour guide was a fountain of information, although I think the poor guy was fighting a losing battle to entice a sense of enthusiasm out of any of us towards the end of the long, tiring day. The volcano park was amazing and spectacular, well worth the journey even without seeing any flowing lava. At times it was like walking on another planet. If I had any suggestion at all, however, it may be to offer a shorter day's tour just to the Volcanoes National Park. As much as the orchid farm and macadamia factory were interesting, and I know these tours help support the local economy (which I am all in favour of), it made for a really, really long day. But really, it was a great day, one which I would highly recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic on the volcanoes which was after lunch time. Thoroughly enjoyed these 4 hours.
In the morning coming from Honolulu we had to get up at 4 am - no problem with that. But although we reached Big Island by 8am there was hardly anything happening ( except a short 20 minutes trip to the black sands beach which was nice) - ended up spending a lot of time in garden nursery, Macademia shop etc. All in the group felt it was such a waste of time coming to the Big Island for the first time and May be the only time. There must be more in the island to explore than having to spend time in Garden Nursery and shop outlets!

From USD $ 421.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2360H2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message