4 star rating: Recommended 323 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Waikiki, Oahu
  • Duration:15 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 323 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Had a fantastic day and with blue skies we had the added bonus of clear views of Big Island as the Hawaiian Airlines plane followed the east coast and approached Hilo airport. Our tour guide for the day was great fun. A pity there wasn't any lava actually flowing on the day, but for myself a former geology teacher, it was a real treat to get close to the volcano and walk on the lava flows.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Absolutely loved it!! The hot steam vent was pretty awesome when you stand in front of it and the lava tube was fun! I loved the macadamia nut farm (just make sure you're not going on a public holiday like I did) and trying the different types of flavours, and the waterfalls were just beautiful! To top it off I got to meet a UFC fighter on my flight home!! This was my favourite tour of my itinerary!

The Pang
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Henry was a great tour guy and very informative. Didn't see any lava in the end but the information exchange from Henry was well worth it. The tour was well organized and I'd recommend it to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Wow. Amazing to see current, and evidence of recent volcanic activity, and quite possibly once in a life time. Seeing the gas plume from the volcano pit was surreal. Hot steam from fissures all around. The black sand beach and vast amount of lava at the village of Kalapana was an amazing site (each lunch first). Macadamia Farm is just a snack stop but great snacks! The orchid farm is also really lovely but probably just for the ladies and keen orchid lovers! Our tour guide Denis was excellent, funny and very informative. Long day, but fantastic and well worth the trip. Mother nature in raw form - the formation of the earth happening as we stood there! Loved it and would thoroughly recommend the experience.

Pearly M
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

great! thei BEST tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

It was well worth the money, especially if you are looking for a small taste of another island. The tour guide was great and the sights were wonderful. I would recomment this tour to anyone who wishes to see the Big Island for just a day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Our Driver was Dennis. He was simply GREAT!!!!!!!!!!

Natalee G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I loved this island, it was so beautiful. So much to see. Tour was well worth it.

Thomas henry S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

An excellent well narrated trip with plenty of variation. Longer day than anticipated though due to a 2 hour delay on the return flight - approx 18 hours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

No words to describe a place like this. The only way to do, is to go exploring it! Awesome... Booking service serious, shuttle bus service to the airport extremely on time. Awesome place!

Louise T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

I enjoyed the trip immensely and everything run very smoothly thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

It was an awesome trip. In addition to visiting the volcanoes we saw so many additional sites that we were not expecting. It gave us a great tour of the Hilo area. The tour guide was so knowledgeable. We enjoyed the entire trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The people were GREAT. On your voucher you should put more information about who is to pick us up at the airport and the actual name of the tour company. I only found the name on the email you sent saying you could not pick us up. We loved our guide. Very informative and sweet and funny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The trip to the Big Island to see and learn about the Island was well worth the time. You will see a Volcano but, you will not be guaranteed the sight of lava. The day we were there the lava flow had changed direction and was about 6 miles from us. Guess if you were up to the hike you could have left the tour and went on your own. Our guide was very well informed about all things the Island had to offer and was very funny. He would take time to answer any questions you had and I don't think he ever said "I don't know". If you are looking for a good time and want to see some great countryside this is a trip worth doing. I just wish I would of had more time.

Raymond S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

We had an excellent guide-driver. The trip was extremely interesting, educational and informative, and we would do it again.

Amanda M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

I definitely recommend this tour! It was a very long day but well worth the time as it was an awesome experience. The tour suits people of varying physical ability - my parents and I had a wonderful experience that will last forever in our memories. Go for it and enjoy! Two thumbs up!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

Fantastic! Our tour guide made this one of the best tours I have ever been on. He was very knowledgeable and funny. He even brought us to a private black-sand beach to see some sea turtles at the end of the day since we had some time to kill. A must-do if you are visiting the Big Island.

Tracie M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

Fantastic trip - it covered everything we hoped for. Everyone should do it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2007

The volcano trip was fantastic! Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining! He was one of the best guides I have toured with. I would have liked to spend more time walking over the lava flow and would have liked to skip the orchid stop. The orchid stop was not worth while and was the worst part of the trip. The trip was much better than I expected and I would recommend this trip to anyone.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

This was a great tour - the rain forest, lava tube, and crater are fantastic experiences, and our guide was a delight!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A huge day, really enjoyed it! Sharon was our tour guide and she was full of information and lots of fun!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great but too Long.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We took this tour last week and are glad we got to see the Big Island. It wasn't what we imagined it to be. I was disappointed in a number of things that had nothing to do with the tour but with my own preconceived ideas: there's so much rain in this area that everything smells musty, the landscape is so barren unlike other islands, the restaurant we stopped at was horrendous and the black sand beach was nothing like I imagined. The orchid factory was nice and the flowers were absolutely beautiful. The overlook at the Jaggar Museum was very busy but once your turn at the edge came, boy was that something to see. The museum was nice and I would have liked more time there only because it was so busy. I think the lava tube was kind of a let down only because it wasn't as long as I thought it would be. Be sure to stay far away from the bathrooms at the lava tube - they were beyond disgusting. Again, this is not the tours fault. The Japanese garden was nice to walk through and I'm sure it's even more beautiful when the sun is shining. Seeing the lava fields that seem to go on forever ending in the ocean really put an eruption into perspective. Our driver/tour guide was fantastic and we learned so much during this day. The day is very long we were picked up at 5am and returned about 10pm but we were all glad we experienced this at least once.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

From start to finish it was easy to follow. They tour guide gives you up to date information. There are moments in the tour that are spectacular!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was good. The guide was amazing, much better than some of the other tour guides.

From USD $ 421.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2360H2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message