Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Katie M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

It was fun going in a submarine and the boat trip out to the subs gave us lovely views of the coastline. Unfortunately, we didn't see as much marine life as expected but we still had a good time.

Rowena H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Exciting view under the sea but I wished there were more real corals. But it was still a wonderful scene down there. :)

ayla.delvin

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Enjoyed it but was a little disappointed that the colours of the fish weren't very bright.. Seeing the turtles and Giant Trevally was pretty amazing though, and the ship wrecks also!

Karin G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Enjoyable experience. Interesting sights.

Kayla V

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

It was pretty neat being underwater in a submarine! If you've never been in one you should try this one! Everyone is so nice!

Brian M New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

The trip out, and the view of the city from the connecting boat was great! The Submarine was an experience, but a little disappointed I had not seen more fish life below. I would still recommend others try it. It was great!

Raluca G USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Nice experience.

Ngiap Teck T Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2009

It was an amazing experience, my 1st time in a submarine.

Jeff S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Awesome. The only thing I would have liked is to see more fish but obviously they can't control that!

Carlo R

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

It was a very different experience to what I have previously done and a different perspective on how to see an underwater landscape. The main drawback is that the seascape in this area is not particulalry rich in corals, reefs and fishlife.

Michele P

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

This was okay but not worth the money. The launch ride to the submarine was actually the best part as the views of Waikiki from the boat as we rode to the sub off the coast are beautiful. The sub was cool but there were hardly any fish to see which made it a disappointment.

jandruka

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

It was cool just being below the surface in a submarine, and it was amazing to see fish swimming by the windows. The only downside was we would only see groups of fish for a few seconds, while there were long periods of only empty blue. This might just be the nature of any submarine ride though. Highlights included seeing an aircraft and a ship on the ocean floor, which have now become hangouts for marine life.

The pier location was very convenient, right off the Hilton Hawaiian Village on Waikiki Beach. And the ferry ride to the submarine site offered some nice views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. All in all, a pleasant experience.

Litz

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Price is too much for the experience.

cess_rn

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Tour got cut short

victoria k

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Not much to see just submarine experience

Keith M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Really enjoyed the experience but disappointed with view from window colours were muted fish all looked grey striped and i am sure they are more colourful than that. Sighted a huge shark and some large turtles-bonus. Overall something that should be on the to do list but would not do again.

Kristine N W

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

We thought this tour was interesting. Going 108 feet under the sea was great. Worth doing.

Jennifer R

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

I didn't see as many fish as I expected also I was disappointed because I thought the sunken ships and planes were from the war, but they were not.

Karen M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Tour was OK, but disappointed to find submarine company had placed ship wrecks and crashed airline. Prefer not to have been told. Was good experience seeing fish and experiencing 100m depth

Kenneth B USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The only thing I can say about the submarine ride is that I didn't realize that there were so few fish in the ocean. Just a few reef fish nothing else. Was kinda disappointing actually.

Monica E

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Good tour especially if you have children.

Dorothy L

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

The crew was very knowledgeable, however the w thewater was merky and we never went to the advertised dept of 120 feet. We saw the fish and turtles that were close to the submarine, but nothing much in the man made reefs. The invitation to the Maui Divers afterward was interesting at the beginning, then turned into a hard sell for their very expensive jewelery. I wasn't very happy about that. The $40 picture prior to boarding was well done, however overpriced. We would not do this tour again.

Bruce M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

A bit of a let down when we were left sitting at the pick-up point wondering when the bus would arrive. 15 minutes after it was due I called the local contact to find out that the tour had been cancelled at the last minute. They claimed that they had been trying to contact everyone to let them know. I was given the option of booking another date or receiving a full refund. I re-booked for a week later than originally planned.
This time all went well. Transport to/from the sub was on-time and reasonably quick. Be aware that once checked-in at the sub we were offered a free tour of the pearl factory. It wasn't mandatory, or a hard-sell. So, maybe not a problem. We just weren't expecting the offer, and the timing left us feeling that there may be a hard-sell coming at the end of the sub cruise. However, that didn't happen. At the end of the cruise, we simply had the option of the additional tour or a ride back to our hotel.
As for the sub itself, we chose the premium option. It is a good looking machine. It really does look the part as you approach it, board and climb down into it. The ride is very smooth. No hint of sea-sickness on board. Maybe the ride is too smotth though. My wife remarked that it is like a visit to the aquarium. So, if you are looking for adventure, then maybe this isn't for you. However, it isn't every day that you can go on a submarine. So, all in all it was more of a novelty than an adventure, but interesting. Good for families and kids.

pooja m

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

It's a different experience for the first time..!

JubbybB

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Not much to see down there... The crew/company was great, but I did expect to see coral and the associated ecosystem with it, but it was more man made reefs. If you haven't been on a submarine before then that's pretty cool, but save the reef viewing for somewhere else.

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 123.86

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3524OSUB

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message