4.5 star rating: Recommended 101 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Waikiki, Oahu
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Oahu Atlantis Submarine Adventure. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 101 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

It was cool just being below the surface in a submarine, and it was amazing to see fish swimming by the windows. The only downside was we would only see groups of fish for a few seconds, while there were long periods of only empty blue. This might just be the nature of any submarine ride though. Highlights included seeing an aircraft and a ship on the ocean floor, which have now become hangouts for marine life.

The pier location was very convenient, right off the Hilton Hawaiian Village on Waikiki Beach. And the ferry ride to the submarine site offered some nice views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. All in all, a pleasant experience.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Price is too much for the experience.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Tour got cut short

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Not much to see just submarine experience

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Really enjoyed the experience but disappointed with view from window colours were muted fish all looked grey striped and i am sure they are more colourful than that. Sighted a huge shark and some large turtles-bonus. Overall something that should be on the to do list but would not do again.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

We thought this tour was interesting. Going 108 feet under the sea was great. Worth doing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

I didn't see as many fish as I expected also I was disappointed because I thought the sunken ships and planes were from the war, but they were not.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Tour was OK, but disappointed to find submarine company had placed ship wrecks and crashed airline. Prefer not to have been told. Was good experience seeing fish and experiencing 100m depth

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The only thing I can say about the submarine ride is that I didn't realize that there were so few fish in the ocean. Just a few reef fish nothing else. Was kinda disappointing actually.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Good tour especially if you have children.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

The crew was very knowledgeable, however the w thewater was merky and we never went to the advertised dept of 120 feet. We saw the fish and turtles that were close to the submarine, but nothing much in the man made reefs. The invitation to the Maui Divers afterward was interesting at the beginning, then turned into a hard sell for their very expensive jewelery. I wasn't very happy about that. The $40 picture prior to boarding was well done, however overpriced. We would not do this tour again.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

A bit of a let down when we were left sitting at the pick-up point wondering when the bus would arrive. 15 minutes after it was due I called the local contact to find out that the tour had been cancelled at the last minute. They claimed that they had been trying to contact everyone to let them know. I was given the option of booking another date or receiving a full refund. I re-booked for a week later than originally planned.
This time all went well. Transport to/from the sub was on-time and reasonably quick. Be aware that once checked-in at the sub we were offered a free tour of the pearl factory. It wasn't mandatory, or a hard-sell. So, maybe not a problem. We just weren't expecting the offer, and the timing left us feeling that there may be a hard-sell coming at the end of the sub cruise. However, that didn't happen. At the end of the cruise, we simply had the option of the additional tour or a ride back to our hotel.
As for the sub itself, we chose the premium option. It is a good looking machine. It really does look the part as you approach it, board and climb down into it. The ride is very smooth. No hint of sea-sickness on board. Maybe the ride is too smotth though. My wife remarked that it is like a visit to the aquarium. So, if you are looking for adventure, then maybe this isn't for you. However, it isn't every day that you can go on a submarine. So, all in all it was more of a novelty than an adventure, but interesting. Good for families and kids.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

It's a different experience for the first time..!

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Not much to see down there... The crew/company was great, but I did expect to see coral and the associated ecosystem with it, but it was more man made reefs. If you haven't been on a submarine before then that's pretty cool, but save the reef viewing for somewhere else.

Roshy
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Loved this tour! The water was so clear, all the marine life was amazing.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

quite disappointing, murky water, hardly a fish or coral with color in sight, experience of sub was good but the rest was somewhat disappointing

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

This tour is quite expensive and we were a little disappointed, they turn the sub around so everyone can see whats down there, but a lot of it was really murky and we couldn't see very much.All we saw were some fish and ship wrecks that were hard to see.Wouldnt do it again.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

I wish that the pictures I took would have come out better, bout the DVD was ok a little pricey for the amount of time.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

The kids were bored really fast because there wasn't much to see. They were expecting a more natural corals and reefs but what they got was more of an artificial landscape reefs/corals. The interactive conversation only involves the few people who sits near the co-captain. However, i do notice the safety measures taken for all passengers.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

It was OK

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

The submarine was overrated and expensive if you have the money your better off spending to go swim with the dolphins.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

The light gets filtered out at the depth that you dive to, so the fish and other sea animals do not look very colorful. The "captain" of the ship alternated between informative commentary regarding the coral reefs and sea life and annoyingly joking with the other crew members. It was okay, but would not do it again. Definitely expected more!

Kemal T
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

I found it dull and lack of sea life for the money spent, but maybe that was down to the time of year. Yet, it was a cool experience and the staff were great.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

The experience of the sub is nice. I expected to see a better view of coral or fish but not so. The crew is nice.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

A waste of money. Seen a bunch of little fish. WOW.....what a disappointing outing.

From USD $ 123.85

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3524OSUB

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message