• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 45 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Oahu, Hawaii
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Oahu Kayak, Hike and Snorkel Adventure. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 45 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Sally E
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Despite what others have said about the hike I thought it was just right. Considering I'm on holidays I don't want to spend all day hiking, the view was great for photos. The kayak was really good. We felt really safe at all times and were impressed with Corey, our guide. He came very prepared. The only thing that was a bit disappointing was the lunch location, kind of perched on a rock where the kayak landed. Lunch was good. A great day

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

the tour guides were enthusiastic on this trip. the hike we took to the overlook was beautiful. Our paddle was outstanding to Chinamans' hat. The lunch was very good and the drinks were nice and cold. The only thing I would change is to get a bus instead of a van which was rather tight to fit everyone in.

Kevin P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

The hike part of the tour was more of a stroll up a small hill to look at where we would be kayaking and so a long way short of what we were expecting. That aside it was a great day ,the kyaking to the island of Chinaman's Hat more than made up for the lack of hiking. Our guide was a really nice guy who looked after us well and was a font of all knowledge. This trip is really worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

everything was good friendly guide only disappointment was the snorkling

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

I had a great time doing this trip and am glad that I did it. However, it whets the appetite for more. First, the hike is only about a 15 minute walk, so nothing big. I expected something longer. Second, it only takes about a half hour to kayak to the island. On the island, there is not much to do, and the water was too rough for snorkeling. The guide was great, however.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Really nice and knowledgable guides, though after spending a day in Hanauma Bay, the snorkelling part felt a bit flat.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Matias, our guide is great - chatty and fun. The hike is simple (up a hill), kayak was not difficult and water was not deep which eased the minds of some people. Not much to look at though when snorkelling, a few colourful fish only. But it was an enjoyable day. Don't forget your sunscreen - there is no shade!

Travis S
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2010

The overall experience was worth it although the hiking side of things was disappointing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

The kayaking experience was great. It was almost two miles roundtrip to Chinaman's Hat from the beach. The hike was not very worthwhile and the snorkeling was in too shallow of water to enjoy.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Drive along coast to ranch where you can buy eats and items. Short hike up stoney path to nice view. Across road where you wait for a trailer opening to unload kayaks and instructions. Nice kayak to Chinaman hat. Just far enough to enjoy without getting tired (I'm 70). A lot of waiting around on island which is just a small patch of sand with large rocks. Lunch was 1/2 a sandwich, cookies, soda and chips.I could have eaten a whole sandwich and was still hungry. Again more sitting around doing nothing. We finally asked if we could go snorkelling but then the dead whale was discovered off the island a bit away. So we just sat in knee deep water doing nothing. On the way back some interesting looking stops but we were not allowed to stop and look. Much too much for what was a short kayak trip.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

The guide was a nice guy and very knowledgable. Unfortunately the activities themselves were really disappointing. The 'hike' was actually a bit of a joke - seriously about 250m to a bit of a lookout. The kayaking was ok - but once again not challenging at all. The snorkelling was also pathetic - sand and rocks, 1 fish and about 4 or 5 pieces of dull colourless coral - very disappointing all round. Then after we had done the activities we were left waiting for about an hour in the 'ranch' before heading back. If you are looking for a challenging adventure - don't go on this tour. If you have little or no physical fitness and experience in the outdoors you might like this.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2011

The view is nice. The kayaking part was great, but the hiking part is nothing special. Chinaman's hat is not the best place for snorkeling. We only saw regular fishes, not the ones with color.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

No stars because this was the worst paddling and snorkeling experience of my life. The kayaking equipment was terrible. As the result of the substandard seats my back went into spasm. The dressing facility was disgusting, dirty and dangerous. The hike was nice and the tour guides were warm and infor

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

This tour was not so great. Our guide was friendly but shared limited information and much of it was when a question was asked. He spent a lot of his time on his cell phone. When we hiked up to a scenic view after a brief description he received a call on his phone and proceeded to have a lengthy conversation as we stood around. Once we made our way to the spot to snorkel in he again spent much of the time on his telephone. The snorkeling was sub par. I would not recommend this tour.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2011

The guide on this tour was great but the tour consisted of a 20 min "hike", 30 min kayak one way to an Island, 45 min snorkel in only 3 feet max of water and then 30 min kayak back to the main Island. They gave no warnings of what not to touch or anything like that. Lunch is only 1/2 a sandwich, a bag of chips and a drink. Deffinetly not a full day tour or worth the money we paid for it.

From USD $ 109.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3326KAYAK

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message