5 star rating: Highly Recommended 43 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Ocho Rios or Runaway Bay, Jamaica
  • Duration:  2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Heritage Beach Horse Ride. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 43 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

This was an experience I will never forget. The historical information provided by the guide was interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

The guides were wonderful and patient, the horses were beautiful. Actually riding out into the ocean was the greatest!! Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I have been on this ride several times. It is truly worth it! It is educational, informative and fun. I would recommend this ride to anyone!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This is the ride of a lifetime! Not only did I learn about the history of the first settlement in Jamaica and see where Christopher Columbus first landed in Jamaica, you get to ride your horse in the sea! The well trained horses and helpful guides made this a most memorable experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I did this tour with two kids and we all had a great time, the only thing is that I wish the actual ride itself was longer. But the ride and beach time was very fun! The plantains and limeade they provided was delicious!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I had a lot of fun! The guides were very attentive and knowledgeable. It was my first time riding a horse and I was not scared at all.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Lots of fun!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Had a blast! First time on a horse and had no problem. Will definitely do it again when i come back.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Definitely an enjoyable event. Well organised and fun especially horse riding in the sea! Wear closed in shoes and bring a towel. Not for those that want to gallop though!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The tour guides were very pleasant and helpful. The ride in the sea was very exciting. They did not explain much about the plantation estate as expected, but as I said overall well worth it. The guy who picked us up from the port was very pleasant and informed us of local area and Ocho Rios, after he took us back to town, but he would have taken us on a trip - I assume for a fee.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Activité intéressante si on veut faire de l'équitation, avec un saut dans la mer.
Bons commentaires sur la faune, la flore et l'historique du site de la part du guide tout au long du parcours.
Trop long de la part du site d'équitation pour confirmer notre réservation à Viator, failli le manquer.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

This is something you don't get to do everyday in the USA, i got to ride a horse in the sea. The guide was conversational and funny. The horse was easy to work with. Security was present. It takes place on an old sugar cane plantation with is nothing exciting. They take you down to the sea (half way point in the ride). There will be a vendor there that you can buy some water and cakes from (nothing special) You then ride int he sea, get wet and then ride back to the plantation, that is it, end of ride. It was fun to do but nothing i would travel all the way to Jamaica to do. I think the whole island is overrated.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

The experience was wonderful beyond my imagination, and I would be giving it 5 stars if it had delivered all it promised. What was missing was the history part (there was no time allowed to look at the exhibitions in the Great House, and the historical narration could only be heard by the first 2 or 3 people in a line of 8 or 9 horses. Still, the actual riding — the sensation of being on a horse in the ocean — was magnificent. The guides were kind and attentive, and the horses as gentle and compliant as can be, even for first-time riders. I loved, loved, loved it and look forward to returning there in the future.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Great experience! We were picked up from our hotel and transported to the horse ride which was a 30 min drive all included in the package.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

Make sure to wear jeans or capri pants for this tour. I was in shorts and I had to use my towel to cover a my horse after beach riding, otherwise you can scratch your legs. Riding in the ocean is absolutely fabulous.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

It was fun yes. What I expected? No. Was not the trails I pictured. Ride was basically a wide circle on flat land with a ride in the ocean between. At the ocean ride there were shacks set up selling stuff like everywhere else, tho we felt pressured or guilted to buy.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

Overall, we had good experience. Everyone was very friendly and worked hard to accommodate our needs/preferences. I honestly didn't feel it wasn't worth the price though. The best part of the experience was the ride through the water, which lasted about about 10-15 min. We had very light refreshments and could hardly hear what the guides were saying.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2010

The Heritage Beach Horse Ride over all was very good. The ride to the beach was long, slow, and boring. Our guide talked as though he was reading form a script. Now the beach ride was short but very exciting.

From USD $ 71.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3971HBR

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message