4.5 star rating: Recommended 54 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Muscat, Oman
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 54 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Nizwa is well worth the trek from Muscat. Recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The driver/guide was so flexible to change the itinerary in response to our requests and the changes in the circumstance such as hitting Dates Festival, which I was satisfied with. He was also helpful to learn the reasonable prices of goods at the souk. He did not, however, seem to be a professional guide in explaining the historical stories.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The pick up was prompt and the guide/driver very pleasant and eager to please. We visited all attractions as advertised. The only negative in my opinion was that we did not have a guide to accompany us through the forts and castles. Otherwise, it was a very enjoyable day.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Due to a lack of other takers this tour turned into a private tour ! Everyone else probably wisely chose not to travel to Oman in the HOT season. Rasheed, my driver and guide, was excellent in both roles and a nice man to boot. Unfortunately the aforementioned 48 degree heat made everything - apart from sitting in the aircon in the car - difficult if not impossible. Bahla Fort was certainly of interest and also the old village of ???
This tour is definitely recommended but just do not do it in June, July or August.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very nice tour, we made quite a number of photo stops and saw the forts at Nizwa, Bahla and Jabreen. It was a clear day and from Jabreen Fort we could see the peak of Jebel Shams, highest mountain in Oman. Guide and driver were very good, although lunchtime was a little long, 1 hour, and then toilet stops as well, so I think a bit of time was wasted. But I enjoyed it very much and thought it was good value for money.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great tour, great guide. Very interesting site seeing.

Barbara H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

There were six members of the group in the land cruiser so it was a little tight. However out guide spoke excellent English. It is a long day but well worth the journey. I expected the forts to be in little villages and wasnt expecting the large towns that surrounded most of the forts. Make sure you take your own water and money to buy lunch as this isnt provided. A very informative day though.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Nice tour, interesting sights like the old town of Nizwa, the Jabreen Fort and some old villages with their typical irrigation system. We've been only 2 persons on our group tour and have been transported in a comfortable, normal car. The driver was a nice elderly Omani who explained a lot about his country. He was not a guide though, so we had to experience some sights on our own - but they are well explained or with (exeptionally good!) AudioGuides. The tour is really worth the money.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Excellent day. Very friendly and informative driver/guide. Highly recommend this tour for families, just remember water and snacks for the little ones.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Rachid was a very friendly and informative guide who made sure we got the best out of the day. We saw Nizwa and Bahla forts and Jabrin Castle as well as a Wadi and two interesting ruined settlements and had time to wander round the main sights at our leisure.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

This was a great tour and an excellant value at less that $100 U.S. per person. I got to see many more placese than I would have found on my own with a rented card. The driver/guide named Rasheed was very pleasant and knowledgeable, making the trip quite enjoyable. In one day we managed to see three historic castles or forts and much more. It was great to see all the beutiful rocky mountains and desert landscape. I recommend this tour to anyone visiting Oman.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Everything worked perfectly, our guide was excellent, both as guide and driver, and we saw everything we hoped to see. The only slight downside was the place we were taken for lunch - a bit sub-standard, especially toilet facilities.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Good value - a full day of sight seeing including some nice forts.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

For our tour, there was only my mum and me, so it felt very personal indeed. Our guide was great, offered interesting knowledge of surrounding areas and was very friendly. We both enjoyed getting out and seeing different parts of Oman and enjoying the Omani hospitality of receiving Coffee and dates after a tour. Would highly recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Very good tour, excellent car and driver, well paced.

Jan V
Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Good.

Sam F
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

A long hot day was forgotten in the variety of places visited and by the easy way our driver guide imparted his knowledge of the country, history and customs. The experience opened us up to a country that we had never previously given a lot of attention.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

great trip, tour guide/ driver very informative, loved the Nizwa Souq.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Very informative. The forts were gorgeous. Wish we got to see more of Bahla. The lot of us were tired; it was an extensive and tiring day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Rasheed is a great tour guide, he really knows his stuff. Nizwa is a charming old town.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Nice day out, to see the sights around Nizwa. Jabreen Castle was the highlight of the tour. Also stopped by a couple of abandoned villages which were also nice. Scenery of the mountains was nice and felt like it saved on doing another trip. The stop for lunch was poor however, very cheap and you got what you paid for could have been better. Nothing groundbreaking in the trip but well worth it especially when compared to the 'sights' on offer in Muscat itself which was very disappointing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

The trip got slightly repetitive after a while as each fort looks exactly the same when there is no explanation of the history or significance.

The driving was slightly erratic at times and the driver often used his mobile whilst driving. He was however very accommodating to our requests to stop for bathrooms and food.

Overall it was a good cultural experience that could be improved with guides that knew more about each individual fort.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

The actual tour itself was great. the guide Rasheed took great care to give us plenty of time at each stop and unlike other tours I have done in the past he gave just the right amount of information. He was courteous a helpful at all times.

However the administration behind the tour was terrible. We arrived from a Royal Carribean cruise the day before. I tried calling the local tour operator from the ship (by phone)but had great difficulty getting through. I tried all 3 numbers provided. It just rang and rang.Once I spoke to a girl but was cut off. Eventailly I spoke to someone and agreed a pick up at 8am outside the port next day. I then was told by the cruise people that tI neede to take a shuttle bus to get to the port exit,the earlies shuttle bus from the boat to the port exit was 8 oclcok. I tried rining the local operaotr bck but could not get connected. I emailed yourselves to contact them in fear that if (as it seemed very lieklely) we would not arrive at the port entrance until 8.10 could the driver wait. We eventually give up trying to contact the local firm and had to just hope the drivcer would wait. It would have been helpful when talking (during the one call we got through when we agreed the time of pick up) if the person had assured us that they were already aware the first shuttle bus only left at 8am for the port exit. .
We had a worrying night not knowing for sure if we would be able to do the tour.
Better communication of local arrangements would improve the administration.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

I do not recommend Orient Travel. They have no respect for their customers. I was the last to be picked up in a car with seven seats plus a driver and I took the remaining seat in the back row (3rd) middle. I'm a short guy and there was absolutely no leg room. My knees were bent at a 45 degree angle pressed into the seat in front of me. My right foot was immobilized and my left foot had an inch of wiggle room. After half an hour we stopped and my right leg was cramping. I discussed the problem with the driver who called his boss and had me speak to him. The boss, a shouting bully, maintained the car could comfortably seat 7 passengers and they would only use a larger car if they had 8 or more. Really, only children under age 12 could be comfortable in back. I was prepared to find a taxi back to Muscat as I could not continue. The driver solved the dilemma by having a very gracious and small young lady swap with me. Plenty of legroom in the front and middle row.
The tour itself was pretty good. Nizwa fort was good but the souk was empty and disappointing. The driver stopped at a couple of interesting deserted villages. The stand out of the trip was the final stop, Jabreen castle which was excellent.
Don't do the tour if you are not willing to chance being very uncomfortable. I give the tour itself 3 stars and Orient Travel ZERO stars

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Our guide came to pick us up on time with a car (Lexus), because our party was small, only 3 people. He sent us to Nizwa market, Nizwa fort, Bahla fort, and Jabreen castle. He is a good driver but not a good guide. He always waited us at the entrance or an outside cafe and said "Watch and read explanatory notes on the wall."
He wanted to go back to Muscat early time but we requested the "Falaj Daris (famous national heritage)" and so on. He did not know them exactly, asked the residents and arrived there. I estimated his efforts but it was so strange for the fixed tour.
It was like chartering a taxi or renting a car by myself.
I understood it is difficult to get high class guides in Muscat, but I expected a better one at this tour.

From USD $ 67.15

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2168MCT002

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message