• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 40 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Muscat, Oman
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 40 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Excellent day! Kind, easy tour guide made our full day of exploring the castle-forts of the Nizwa region an enjoyable experience. The best bargain out there!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

An excellent day out -very interesting and varied

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Excellent insight into Omani culture. Well informed, friendly guide. Highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Punctual and informative guide and driver made this a trip to remember attentive to our every need and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to anyone interested in Omani history and culture. No detail was too small to share no question left unanswered.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

A really good tour to recommend to anyone who would like to see the countryside outside of Muscat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

Very, very well done and informative.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Nizwa is well worth the trek from Muscat. Recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Due to a lack of other takers this tour turned into a private tour ! Everyone else probably wisely chose not to travel to Oman in the HOT season. Rasheed, my driver and guide, was excellent in both roles and a nice man to boot. Unfortunately the aforementioned 48 degree heat made everything - apart from sitting in the aircon in the car - difficult if not impossible. Bahla Fort was certainly of interest and also the old village of ???
This tour is definitely recommended but just do not do it in June, July or August.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very nice tour, we made quite a number of photo stops and saw the forts at Nizwa, Bahla and Jabreen. It was a clear day and from Jabreen Fort we could see the peak of Jebel Shams, highest mountain in Oman. Guide and driver were very good, although lunchtime was a little long, 1 hour, and then toilet stops as well, so I think a bit of time was wasted. But I enjoyed it very much and thought it was good value for money.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great tour, great guide. Very interesting site seeing.

Barbara H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

There were six members of the group in the land cruiser so it was a little tight. However out guide spoke excellent English. It is a long day but well worth the journey. I expected the forts to be in little villages and wasnt expecting the large towns that surrounded most of the forts. Make sure you take your own water and money to buy lunch as this isnt provided. A very informative day though.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Nice tour, interesting sights like the old town of Nizwa, the Jabreen Fort and some old villages with their typical irrigation system. We've been only 2 persons on our group tour and have been transported in a comfortable, normal car. The driver was a nice elderly Omani who explained a lot about his country. He was not a guide though, so we had to experience some sights on our own - but they are well explained or with (exeptionally good!) AudioGuides. The tour is really worth the money.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Excellent day. Very friendly and informative driver/guide. Highly recommend this tour for families, just remember water and snacks for the little ones.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Rachid was a very friendly and informative guide who made sure we got the best out of the day. We saw Nizwa and Bahla forts and Jabrin Castle as well as a Wadi and two interesting ruined settlements and had time to wander round the main sights at our leisure.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

This was a great tour and an excellant value at less that $100 U.S. per person. I got to see many more placese than I would have found on my own with a rented card. The driver/guide named Rasheed was very pleasant and knowledgeable, making the trip quite enjoyable. In one day we managed to see three historic castles or forts and much more. It was great to see all the beutiful rocky mountains and desert landscape. I recommend this tour to anyone visiting Oman.

From USD $ 67.15

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2168MCT002

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message