4.5 star rating: Recommended 79 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Orlando, Florida
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Swim with Manatees at Crystal River plus Everglades Airboat Adventure. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 79 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

The trip itself was good; as with any tour including animals in the wild, it kind of depends on the animals. Difficult in the summer season to observe the manatees as they move very quickly. If you are looking for a faster airboat ride, try the Everglades airboat. The tour company guides were exceptional.

ANDREW S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

The swim with the manatees was fantasic. The airboat ride was ok, have been on better ones. The national park was fantastic could have done with more time there as an hour is not enough. All in all definitely worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

This was a great trip. Interaction with manatees was slim that day, but everything else, including the staff made up for that. Great snorkeling in a quiet lagoon on crystal river, airboats were fun, trip to the park was also nice. Great packed lunches. Wish there was more time! Travel takes up about 3.5 hours of the day, but definitely worth doing! Great value!

WILLIAM C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

The overall trip was brilliant. We even saw dolphins while on the airboat ride. The only poor aspect of the trip was while swimming and interacting with the manatees the skipper of the boat requested we get back in the boat to go to shallower waters to swim with the manatees, but we never got back in the water and the boat then broke down. This may have been caused by the boat hitting a rock.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

This was a great day. The two guides made it very fun and enjoyable. We got to swim and touch the manatees, and the Wildlife Park later in the day was well worth a visit. We definitely recommend this trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

A great and good value for money.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

A fantastic way to spend your day. I would have spent the whole day in the water with the manatees though!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

This was a wonderful experience. The only trouble was that we couldn't check on our pickup time by e-mail and it was hard to get someone on the phone. Some of this was our mistake as we didn't call before we left. The ride to and from was very comfortable, the swim with manatees indescribably wonderful, the stop at the state park was very interesting and fun. All in all a wonderful day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

This is the second time I have done the swim with the manatee's, first time in 2011 was much better. This time our swim time was cut short because of the delay of waiting for late guests to board the bus at pick up time (20 minutes late), which was very annoying and then we had to view the dvd guidelines/rules on swimming with the manatee's at the shop as the dvd player on the bus wasn't working, that took 10 minutes. Then the change areas didn't cater for the number of people, and some went to change elsewhere which added another 20 minute wait time. All these issues reduced our swim time by 50 minutes, so we only got about 30 minutes in the water. Was disappointed this time around.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

It's not all the tour's fault that this only gets 3/5 - It lost one point as it rained BAD all day, so was hard to experience everything completely. The other point is lost as the trip states 'Swim with Manatees'. However the one thing they don't say is there is NO GUARANTEE that you actually will!!!!! As these are wild animals, you can - and we did - spend hours trying to find some on the lake, only to find that they swim off when you get in the water. We eventually swam next to 2 and briefly got to touch them. My advice, don't get your hopes up if you are going on this JUST to swim with Manatees.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

The overall tour is well organised and our guide/driver was great.The one thing that let it down was the Crystal River part of the trip as there seemed to be too many people which seemed to scare the manatees-Maybe they should look into restricting the numbers aload into the reserve at any one time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

Very hit and miss. Saw one manatee from a distance. On airboat ride saw one alligator from a distance. Expected better. Overpriced for what we got.

Daphne S
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

Sorry not good value at all.

John M
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

I very much enjoyed the swim with Manatees portion of the tour. The boat captain was friendly, knowledgeable and keen to make our experience as full as possible. However, the Everglades airboat adventure makes that portion of the tour sound very exciting, unfortunately nothing could have been further from the truth. An oversize cumbersome barge that was too heavy to travel down the many tributaries we could see or to cross the reeds as I had expected. Members of our party who had had an airboat ride on a previous visit to the Crystal River said that there experience had been much much better. I was left feeling very disappointed as I had been looking forward to this portion of the tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2008

It was a good trip. Thought we would get to see alligators etc while on the airboat ride but did not. For the Manatee swim the water was very murky so the manatees were just a shadow. Could not take a good picture. Definitely need to be able to swim to move in the water due to current. From Orlando to the Crystal Springs was longer than expected. Not recommend with children. REALLY liked the Nature Center, they need to have alot more time there.

From USD $ 118.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 10+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2855MANATEE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message