4.5 star rating: Recommended 136 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Osaka, Japan
  • Duration:11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Best Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 136 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

We enjoyed the day!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Not cheap, good to see the basics when limited time is available, but little time to spend at sites.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

The tour was fun, and we saw some very beautiful places on it. Unfortunately, it did feel rather rushed, and I would've liked to have been able to spend more time just wandering about some areas and taken more pictures. The lunch buffet was also rather disappointing, but I suppose it errs on the side of caution in case the food does not sit well with some travellers... Aside from that, the guides were wonderful, and rather enthusiastic and cheerful throughout. Definately a fun little tour.

Johan H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Those places that included in tour were great but it is too rushed. Not really child friendly, because everything is rushed. Don't give enough time to take photos while also listening to the history. No time to look at the souvenirs shop in the area. Lunch at Handicraft was also rushed, they only gave approx 40mins only for lunch with so many people to queue for food and toilets, it means you already loose time. Did not even get a chance to look any gifts at handicraft centre before joining the afternoon tour to Nara.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Informative and enjoyable tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

I would definitely recommend this trip for first timers to Japan - very well organized, excellent guides, good buffet spread - absolutely no glitches ! It's a good sampler of Kyoto - one just has to go back to savour all of it's treasures !

Sejil M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

A very full tour and one in which we felt really rushed as there was so much to get through. However still a very worthwhile tour. The guide was fluent in English and the guide who arranged for us to arrive safely at our destination after the tour was exceptional. He was knowledgeable and very eager to assist and went out of his way to ensure we had all the information we needed.

AMANDA S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

We saw A LOT on this tour, which was great. The tour guide was very well organised, and everything was on time. However, we had quite a large group so it was quite impersonal, unlike the Osaka Full-Day Walking Tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

This was very nice. The tour guide was very personable and knowledgeable about the area. I would book with this company again!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

The tour was very well organized. There was a bit of confusion at the beginning when we were waiting to get onto the motorcoach in Kyoto, as they weren't too sure we were part of the larger tour as a few of us originated from Osaka and not Kyoto hotels. Anyhow, it was sorted out and everything was smooth after that. We were fortunate to have our hotel as one of the pick-up points in Osaka and we had a personal tour guide with us on the train to Kyoto, which was very good. There was no rush at any of the tourist sites and plenty of opportunity to take photos. Both the morning Kyoto guide and the afternoon Nara guide were very knowledgeable. I would and already have recommended this tour to people who want to see the historical Japan.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

Overall tour was great. We had to walk to pick up others for tour and then train ride 30 min to hotel where tour actually left from. Sites and guide were great. If you're travelling with someone that is disabled or a slow walker you may want choose other options. Osaka was a great stop on our trip around the world.

Ulla S
Finland

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

It was very interesting to see and hear about historical Japan. We stayed in Osaka, which we loved, and this tour was an opportunity for us to get to know the different side of Japan and its history. Everything was very well organized and the guides gave us lots and lots of information on the places we visited and on the life in Japan both nowadays and in the past. Everything in this tour was as promised on the website we booked the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

We were well looked after and the trip was everything they promised.

Romana K
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

The tour was timely and organized. The staff was kind and helpful. If you don't have much time to look around Kyoto and Nara, and if you don't understand Japanese very well, this tour is very worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

In one day I was able to take in several must-see sights of both Kyoto and Nara. The sightseeing trip was very organized and extremely informative. If you're traveling to a foreign country where you don't know the language, this is the best way of getting around, taking in sights and learning about the place you are visiting. I would most definitely use Viator again.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Kyoto and Nara. It was an extremely busy tourist week in Japan, Golden Week, so we had to fight large crowds but we saw everything we had hoped to see and made the most of the time we had to spend in Kyoto and Nara.

Our starting point and ending point in Osaka were different. When we returned to Osaka by train from Nara with the other Osaka adventurers, we did not know how to get back to our hotel near Kansai Airport, another hour away by train. One of the tour guides walked 3 blocks with us and into the train station, to a different train line and purchased the tickets for us and made sure we got on the right train back to our hotel. Given that no one else around spoke English, we really appreciated his kindness.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

I think in retrospect I would have liked to see more of Nara and to have a full day there instead of half a day. The guides were great about getting us to and from the trains.

Kim L
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

It was ok for an introduction to the area. Not enough time to see the places we went to. Missing the palace was a big deal for me but I went by myself the next day anyway instead.

Stephanie O
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

A long day, but worth it. The Golden Pavilion is beautiful and the park at Nara is magnificent - you would need two whole days to explore it all. A taster, leaving you wanting more.

Steve R
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

Great Day. A must for the first time person to Japan and the Osaka Region. Hassle free, tour guides do everything, even escorting you on the train to and from Osaka.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

I think only spending half a day in Kyoto is just too short. If I had to do it again, I would sign up for a full day Kyoto tour and find a way to see Nara some other time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We joined this tour on the tail end of a two week trip to Japan. The Nara portion of the tour is definitely worth doing if you can spare the half day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Our tour was in two parts - morning Kyoto and afternoon Nara. Unfortunately, our morning guide was difficult to understand and, on many occasions, started her site explanation before the group was assembled. It was very busy at the sites and not every one was able to keep up with her. At one site, the Emporer's Palace, we had to wait in the hot sun for 15 minutes while two other tour groups assembled behind us before being allowed into the palace. Then, we were rushed through the palace like it was a rush between the groups. Our lunch on the morning tour was excellent.

In the afternoon, we had a different guide who was easier to understand. The pace on this tour was less hectic and more enjoyable. On completion of the tour our guide travelled with us back to Osaka station and assisted us make the correct connections to our hotel.

Overall, the tour was good value. We visited several interesting and beautiful sites. It was unfortunate that our morning tour was a bit rushed.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The tour covered everything advertised. Although the tour started in Osaka we had to catch the JR train to Koyto and pick up the coach and tour guide there. The lunch provided was very good. There was a lot to see. Both tour guides were very knowledgeable. Getting back from Nara to Osaka by train was a bit of an ordeal the trains were crowded and we changed trains twice. At the end of a long and busy day it would have been better if the coach could have dropped us back in Osaka.


z

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

All the tour guides were really professional and worked hard. The lunch was not good at all. I wish we had a bottle of water in the bus. It would make our day much more enjoyable.

From USD $ 149.62

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142OSA_P910

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message