4.5 star rating: Recommended 121 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Osaka, Japan
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 121 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

In one day I was able to take in several must-see sights of both Kyoto and Nara. The sightseeing trip was very organized and extremely informative. If you're traveling to a foreign country where you don't know the language, this is the best way of getting around, taking in sights and learning about the place you are visiting. I would most definitely use Viator again.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Kyoto and Nara. It was an extremely busy tourist week in Japan, Golden Week, so we had to fight large crowds but we saw everything we had hoped to see and made the most of the time we had to spend in Kyoto and Nara.

Our starting point and ending point in Osaka were different. When we returned to Osaka by train from Nara with the other Osaka adventurers, we did not know how to get back to our hotel near Kansai Airport, another hour away by train. One of the tour guides walked 3 blocks with us and into the train station, to a different train line and purchased the tickets for us and made sure we got on the right train back to our hotel. Given that no one else around spoke English, we really appreciated his kindness.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

I think in retrospect I would have liked to see more of Nara and to have a full day there instead of half a day. The guides were great about getting us to and from the trains.

Kim L
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

It was ok for an introduction to the area. Not enough time to see the places we went to. Missing the palace was a big deal for me but I went by myself the next day anyway instead.

Stephanie O
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

A long day, but worth it. The Golden Pavilion is beautiful and the park at Nara is magnificent - you would need two whole days to explore it all. A taster, leaving you wanting more.

Steve R
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

Great Day. A must for the first time person to Japan and the Osaka Region. Hassle free, tour guides do everything, even escorting you on the train to and from Osaka.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We joined this tour on the tail end of a two week trip to Japan. The Nara portion of the tour is definitely worth doing if you can spare the half day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Our tour was in two parts - morning Kyoto and afternoon Nara. Unfortunately, our morning guide was difficult to understand and, on many occasions, started her site explanation before the group was assembled. It was very busy at the sites and not every one was able to keep up with her. At one site, the Emporer's Palace, we had to wait in the hot sun for 15 minutes while two other tour groups assembled behind us before being allowed into the palace. Then, we were rushed through the palace like it was a rush between the groups. Our lunch on the morning tour was excellent.

In the afternoon, we had a different guide who was easier to understand. The pace on this tour was less hectic and more enjoyable. On completion of the tour our guide travelled with us back to Osaka station and assisted us make the correct connections to our hotel.

Overall, the tour was good value. We visited several interesting and beautiful sites. It was unfortunate that our morning tour was a bit rushed.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The tour covered everything advertised. Although the tour started in Osaka we had to catch the JR train to Koyto and pick up the coach and tour guide there. The lunch provided was very good. There was a lot to see. Both tour guides were very knowledgeable. Getting back from Nara to Osaka by train was a bit of an ordeal the trains were crowded and we changed trains twice. At the end of a long and busy day it would have been better if the coach could have dropped us back in Osaka.


z

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

All the tour guides were really professional and worked hard. The lunch was not good at all. I wish we had a bottle of water in the bus. It would make our day much more enjoyable.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Great experiences, however felt a bit rushed and the morning trip to Kyoto could've been better with a bus instead of train.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Overall I am pleased with the tour and I have learnt quite a lot from the guide about Kyoto and Nara but the buffet lunch is a bit of a let down.. ;-(

M Yu
Philippines

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

not too organized! but the tour was nice

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

A tour that was worth doing as it takes you to the main sights of both Kyoto and Nara. The tour guides were really helpful and made the day easy and informative. There is very little information at tourist destinations in English and this is where the tour pays for itself.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Originally, I wanted a Saturday tour, but when my husband saw that the Saturday tour will not include Nijo Castle and Kyoto Imperial Palace, two hours after booking we decided to change the date to Friday. We found out that viator.com cannot process that quickly. We were told that there will be a cancellation charge. It wasn't a cancellation but a change of date only. The places we visited were nice (though it might have been great if we saw the Nijo and Imperial castles instead) but the tour guide was not that articulate. The escort (the sweet lady who met us near our hotel and accompanied us to the meeting place of the group) was very accommodating and she speaks English fluently. The buffet lunch was just very simple. All in all, the tour did not meet our expectations.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The guides are very professional and knowledgable in the respective locations we were shown around.

The only set back is the buffet lunch which I would rate as poor as there is insufficient variety and of minimal standard. We do not mind paying more if that means we can get better food, if cost is an issue for your company, not that the trip cost is cheap.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Overall experience was good. The tour guide spoke very good english. I would suggest though that other attractions like museums and parks be included in this itinerary.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

I enjoyed this trip. Unfortunately, this tour had dozens of other people so it is definitely not something u want if u r looking for good comrades. It seemed very hectic and hurried (compared to the other tours I've been on). I like the more personal touch.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

There were far too many people on the tour and it was difficult to group around the tour guide and hear what she was saying.I would have appreciated being provided with some background to the history of Japan. Without this it was difficult to put the buildings into context.The lunch provided was truly awful!!!!

Gert H
Germany

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2009

Unfortunately the group was much too big. Therefore a lot of time was wasted by waiting for all passengers getting out of the bus. Kyoto is definitely worth of visiting - but not in such a flock of sheep. The afternoon in Nara was a smaller group and we had enough time to see everything.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2011

one of worst tours taken so far, I don't like temple, I like nature thinks not man made stuffs. :( :(

From USD $ 148.04

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142OSA_P910

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message