• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 85 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Osaka, Japan
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 85 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Larry D
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Enjoyed the tour, lets you experience Japanese history and culture in a day. The tour guide spoke good English and provided a number of interesting trivia. I found the morning Kyoto tour a bit rushy, but understandable because we had to cover more ground. The afternoon Nara tour was a lot more relaxing, we were given close to 2 hours free time to walk around the Nara temple and deer park. Lunch buffet can be improved though. Cheers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

I really enjoyed the trip. I was met at my hotel in the morning with an escort to help me navigate the subway and trains to get to the tour location in Kyoto. She was wonderful. The tour was great. There were many wonderful sights to see, with time to explore some at each site. It was sort of busy, with school kids at each location, but it was not a major problem. I was able to see everything without a problem. I would have liked to have had more time at the Handicraft Center, but ended up going back on my own the next day so it was fine. One of my favorite parts was the Nara Deer Park, where if you hold the biscuits up high and bow, the deer will bow to ask for a biscuit. They can be quite assertive, so you need to firm in what you will do. The larg Buddha was amazing to see. This was such a wonderful tour. I would highly recommend it. After the tour I was met by another escort in Nara that helped me to return to my hotel in Osaka. I always felt well taken care of and the guides were very knowledgable. It was one of my better experiences in Japan. I felt completely comfortable traveling on the tour as a single woman traveling alone.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

The tour arrangements from pickup to return points were excellent. Guides were very knowledgeable about the subjects and did an excellent job. Took time to answer questions.

Janet P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Just awesome! our guide was great had a good sense of humour. Just mind the deers don't eat you at Nara.

Kristeen Q
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The only word is great!

Mark F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I was met at the agreed upon time by a fantastic tour escort, who looked after me from Osaka to Kyoto. In Kyoto, the group was about 20-25 people, and we were all well looked after. Nara was fantastic, and I highly recommend this tour if you are short on time and want to see as much as possible.

SHAUN H
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

This was really good.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The trip was fun in Kyoto and the tour guide was helpfull

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour. We saw so much within a one day period. The tour was EXTREMELY well organized.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great tour except the trip from Osaka to Kyoto, did not enjoy the train trip and the lunch was not the normal classy place Via tours selects, it lacked the ability to interface and socially visit other tour participants. Kyoto and Nara were more than expected, great tour guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Guide, Mickey was great

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

I liked the tour. It was well organized and interesting. The only thing I would recommend adding to this trip is some "geisha experience" in Kyoto, which was traditional geisha city.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Had great time visiting Kyoto temples and imperial castle.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

We saw a lot during a short span of time. I was a little worried that we over spent on this tour since it is pricey... but considering how much it would have costs in train rides just to get from Osaka to Kyoto/Nara, convinced me that it wasn't.
If you don't mind being a little rushed in viewing everything and eating lunch... than I would totally recommend it. Tour guide was great; the food was so-so.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Fantastic, the tour covers all the itinerary stated and the tour manager is very friendly and professional. Thank you.

From USD $ 162.29

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142OSA_P910

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message