4.5 star rating: Recommended 98 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Osaka, Japan
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 98 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Nice 1 day tour of Kyoto and Nara from Osaka. Well organized with good English speaking guide is helpful. The lunch period was a rush, otherwise, it was a great value for money trip. A point to note, Japan's public facilities are not very friendly to children stroller if you are traveling with one!

Francis N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

It was our 1st day on this tour after arriving the night before into Osaka. We loved it all, the temples & castle in the morning, especially the Golden Pavillion. It actually snowed for us while there, and they say it happens only 1-2 times per year. The lunch was brilliant & the afternoon deer park & Shinto shrines. Others only did the morning part & said now that they should have taken the full day tour with us. My only objection was that the price could have been a bit lower.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

The tour was excellent, in view of the fact we had only a short time to visit the area. Our guide had to be one of the top two tour guides we have ever been with in tours of Europe, Mediterranean, China, North America and Asia. The transportation was very good as well.

Mario S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

A great tour highly recommended, fantastic service and very knowledgable guides.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Excellent tour! The guide was very helpful and spoke English well. Well worth going on, the sights were great and lunch at the Handicraft Center was very good! Would have liked more time at various places, however it was a good introduction to Japan.

Larry D
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Enjoyed the tour, lets you experience Japanese history and culture in a day. The tour guide spoke good English and provided a number of interesting trivia. I found the morning Kyoto tour a bit rushy, but understandable because we had to cover more ground. The afternoon Nara tour was a lot more relaxing, we were given close to 2 hours free time to walk around the Nara temple and deer park. Lunch buffet can be improved though. Cheers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

I really enjoyed the trip. I was met at my hotel in the morning with an escort to help me navigate the subway and trains to get to the tour location in Kyoto. She was wonderful. The tour was great. There were many wonderful sights to see, with time to explore some at each site. It was sort of busy, with school kids at each location, but it was not a major problem. I was able to see everything without a problem. I would have liked to have had more time at the Handicraft Center, but ended up going back on my own the next day so it was fine. One of my favorite parts was the Nara Deer Park, where if you hold the biscuits up high and bow, the deer will bow to ask for a biscuit. They can be quite assertive, so you need to firm in what you will do. The larg Buddha was amazing to see. This was such a wonderful tour. I would highly recommend it. After the tour I was met by another escort in Nara that helped me to return to my hotel in Osaka. I always felt well taken care of and the guides were very knowledgable. It was one of my better experiences in Japan. I felt completely comfortable traveling on the tour as a single woman traveling alone.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

The tour arrangements from pickup to return points were excellent. Guides were very knowledgeable about the subjects and did an excellent job. Took time to answer questions.

Janet P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Just awesome! our guide was great had a good sense of humour. Just mind the deers don't eat you at Nara.

Kristeen Q
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The only word is great!

Mark F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I was met at the agreed upon time by a fantastic tour escort, who looked after me from Osaka to Kyoto. In Kyoto, the group was about 20-25 people, and we were all well looked after. Nara was fantastic, and I highly recommend this tour if you are short on time and want to see as much as possible.

SHAUN H
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

This was really good.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Well organized. The tour guides for Kyoto and Nara were both knowledgeable. Lunch was awesome. The only disapointment was that we did not get to see more of Kyoto.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A fantastic tour! Tour guides were knowledgeable and professional.

jimmy
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

IS THE GOOD TOUR. WE ENJOY

From USD $ 154.25

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142OSA_P910

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message