4.5 star rating: Recommended 96 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Osaka, Japan
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 96 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Enjoyed tour. Guides were very good. Lots of time to explore sites. Guides were very good at helping people get back to their Osaka hotels. Kyoto and Nara just don't have the fabulous sites like we enjoyed on Viator tours from Munich and Madrid. Maybe because we are westerners not Asians. Still enjoyed it very much.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

WOW !!! A full day of exploration.....starting with being picked up promptly by our guide and then being led for a subway-train ride to Kyoto where we boarded a bus for transportation to the various temples and palaces. The guide was able to provide enough background information to better appreciate each sight.
The itinerary was followed and so our appreciation of the city was enhanced.

A lunch break was folloed by a bus transfer to Nara where the highlight was a visit to Nara Park; a park with literally hundreds of deer roaming around and begging for food, typically crackers that could be purchased for a few cents. Here, as in Kyoto, there was lots of walking and visit to several temples.

If one's objective is to get the "flavor" of the area, this tour will provide it!

To experience to public transportation system is eye-opening for an expatriate New Yorker. The extent of service and cleanliness is interesting in that it helps reduce private auto use.

All expenses were covered....with the exception of one subway train fare for a few yen. A hint though...after purchasing a ticket, it is inserted into the turnstile and returned to you. KEEP IT !!! When you exit, it must be inserted into the exit turnstile!

Again, for an overview for the flavor of the cities, this tour will provide it. I have no difficulty is recommending it to others with the same interest, an overview...not an in-depth exposure.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The trip was fun in Kyoto and the tour guide was helpfull

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour. We saw so much within a one day period. The tour was EXTREMELY well organized.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great tour except the trip from Osaka to Kyoto, did not enjoy the train trip and the lunch was not the normal classy place Via tours selects, it lacked the ability to interface and socially visit other tour participants. Kyoto and Nara were more than expected, great tour guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Guide, Mickey was great

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

I liked the tour. It was well organized and interesting. The only thing I would recommend adding to this trip is some "geisha experience" in Kyoto, which was traditional geisha city.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Had great time visiting Kyoto temples and imperial castle.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

We saw a lot during a short span of time. I was a little worried that we over spent on this tour since it is pricey... but considering how much it would have costs in train rides just to get from Osaka to Kyoto/Nara, convinced me that it wasn't.
If you don't mind being a little rushed in viewing everything and eating lunch... than I would totally recommend it. Tour guide was great; the food was so-so.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Fantastic, the tour covers all the itinerary stated and the tour manager is very friendly and professional. Thank you.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

The tour was amazing.. stunning view.. great explanation from the tour guide

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

The Kyoto tour was interesting as we were being lead by a very interesting Tour Guide, Yoshitaka Harada San. He was very expressive and joked in between during his tour, giving us a very good impression of him.
We love the Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle and the impressive Imperial Palace. It was well explained.
Pity we did not visit Kyoto Handicrafts Centre before our lunch so we missed that Centre.

As for Nara, it was lead by Yamaguchi San. Her pace was fast but her explanation was clear and understandable. She spoke very good English. Our visit to Todaiji to see the Great Buddha was nice. We had a great time taking pictures with those deers and finally we wen to Taisha Shrine in Nara.

This tour was very good overall. Interesting and worth our money.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Me, my wife and my two boys ( 10 and 9 years old ) had a terrific time in kyoto and nara. our tour guides, especially for the nara leg of the tour, were very insightful, funny and informative. lunch was ok, but we were taken to a different restaurant as opposed to the one stated on the itinerary which is the buffet lunch at Handicraft Center. No explanation was given for the switch. Overall, I would recommnend this tour for first time visitors of Kyoto and Nara.

JMA
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The sights and tour guides were good. The experience in nara was unexpectedly exciting. The lunch was horrible though. It was the worst food we had in japan and the venue for the lunch was just overcrowded. I would still do the tour but opt not to take the lunch instead.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Good and a Pleasant Tour

From USD $ 161.87

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142OSA_P910

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message