4 star rating: Recommended 101 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Oslo, Norway
  • Duration:  Valid for 24 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 101 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

A good way to get around initially when you don't know much about Oslo. We had a violent thunderstorm while we were on board with torrential rain but it didn't seem to slow the drivers down which was rather troubling. We missed one bus as it was running early and as they only run every 30 minutes had to walk a reasonable distance to the next attraction as it was too long to wait for the next bus. Otherwise, it was very informative.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

It was OK. Kind of confusing with another Hop-on -Hop off tour bus

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Tour was good but after waiting ages for a bus at the Sculpture Park and fighting to get on too scared to get off at the Viking Museum in case we would wait ages again and miss the ships departure. Shame as the concept is ideal.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

It was great until the end. The bus was clean, the narration clear and informative. But was under the impression that the busses pretty much went continuously. We started at the ship and, after a couple of stops, got to the starting point where the bus stopped for about 10 minutes. We could have walked into the city from there but thought we'd stay and ride to the next stop of interest. We finally started again, go to the ship and there it stopped again where we were informed it would be at least 15 minutes before he would go. The driver wasn't very nice about it either. In all, we wasted almost 30 minutes. This turned a 5 star trip into a 3 star.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

The hop on buses waited way to long at the stops or decided to all of a sudden stop and have their lunch. We did several hop on buses and this one was the least organized.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The bus goes where it says and runs as often as it says. The audio tour is minimal. It does not provide much information. Also, it was confusing because there is another company that runs a "Hop On Hop off" tour. You have to make sure you are trying to get on the bus run by this company. This is really for those who want a self-guided tour. It is not the same as the tours with a local guide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

Good but not fantastic

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Very good value for money, easy to find and all round very enjoyable

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

For cruise ship visitors, the mode of transportation is not logical for getting to various places in a short amount of time. To make the entire tour loop is one thing, but once you get off, it is extremely difficult to hop back on because the buses are full. Also, we needed to hop off early at the Visitor Information Center near City Hall to pick up our Oslo Pass. The plan was to pickup the pass and resume our travels on the bus for our pre-planned venue visits. But the driver gave us wrong information about which stop to get off and we had to walk a long distance to get to the Info Center. This wasted valuable time resulting in not getting to visit some of our planned places. So just to see the sights as an overview, get on and then don't get off! Enjoyed the little time we had in Oslo, however, and we would like to visit again.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Only go on this tour if you need the orientation and the transportation from one place to another. On board commentary was not really informative, and on many occasions the commentary did not correspond to the place the bus passed by. The buses are not very good. On the lower level the left side of the bus is mostly abstracted by the stair to the upper level. We had this tour when it was raining, and the roof of the bus had a leak, so the water was dripping on us. On many buses the upper level does not have windows, so the rain and wind will blow into your face. Only some of the buses have windows on the upper level.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Hop-On-Hop-Off is more like "Mob-On-Mob-Off" at popular stops, especially the Vigelandsparken sculpture park. It would be helpful for the company to have a process that allows passengers to disembark before permitting others to board. Also, our driver did not announce our stops, so we missed the Viking Museum venue, which was at the top of our list. The map HOHO provided was ambiguous about the route. Our alternative was to stay on the bus for another one hour-plus loop, which our schedule did not permit.When we complained about this to the HOHO staff, they told us it was our responsibility to listen for the stops on our earphones, despite the fact that the earphones were difficult to use and the narrative was not easy to understand.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Hop on Hop off is not for everybody, there is not enough buses so we loose lots of time. Regular guided tour are more efficient and less time consuming. We waited 50 minutes at one drop off, it is also very confusing because of the competition: sometime there is 3 different companies offering the same service with similar buses (Red). It is irritating and most people that we've meet felt the same way.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

VERY DISAPPOINTING. FOLLOWING SUCCESSFUL USE OF TOUR TO KON-TIKI AND POLAR MUSEUMS, THE BUS DID NOT APPEAR (?1050.1100 HRS), THE NEXT ONE WAS SO FULL YOU COULDN'T SQUEEZE A SARDINE IN, AND WHEN THE NEXT ONE CAME, WE AHD NO TIME TO VISIT THE VIKING MUSEUM AS HAD BEEN OUR PLAN. SORRY, JUST NOT GOOD ENOUGH, AND WE SHALL LOOK ELSOWHERE IN FUTURE.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Absolute chaos at pickup point as no orderly queuing or ability for someone with a voucher to get ahead of others trying to buy tickets. Transpired there were different hop on- hop off buses and vouchers/tickets were not valid for all. Room for improvement.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

The schedule for the buses was very erratic. had to wait as much as an hour for a bus and some were too full, requiring further wait.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

Didn't have enough buses. Only got to see 2 places. We were afraid to get off of the bus after waiting over 1 hr. for a bus. The driver did say they were hiring a bus to pick up everyone. So they were responsive.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

the hop-on hop-off tour bus came as advertised every thirty minutes....it would have been better to buy an all day bus pass to visit the museums and see the city

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2007

The pickup point had changed so we missed out on some time, but once we had worked it out the bus itinerary was ideal.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Horrible service, the day I went to Oslo there was a marathon and no tours were available but they still sold me the ticket online and did not reply to my email explaining my situation. Really bad service.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

I was very disappointed with this tour. The information on the website is that you could get on at any of the stops not necessarily the first stop. I decided to get on at the Opera House stop. I was there well before 10.00am and waited for over half an hour and no bus whatsoever turned up. So I did my own sightseeing tour, that was a waste of money for me. If there are any changes to the route it should be corrected on the website and perhaps emailed to the customers.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Their were not enough buses. We waited at the Viking museum for over an hour with many other people. The first bus that showed up was full and could not take more passengers. We would have been better off taking the public transportation. These buses were stopping by every 15 to 20 minutes.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Could not understand anything the tour guide said. The headphone jacks did not work. When I asked the tour guide if I could find the painting "Scream" at the National gallery, she could not give me an answer.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

We were so disappointed with the Hop-on-hop-off bus in Oslo...the street signs for pick-up and drop off are not clearly marked, and very difficult to find...the map points to places, and when you get off you find the place. it is 4-8 blocks away....at one pick-up the driver took a 30 minute lunch break and left everyone sitting on the bus. very poorly run, There are city buses and another sight-seeing bus company, are all the same color red, and the drivers are very rude if you trying and get on their bus and it is not yours, but you can't tell them apart...don't waste your money

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

We had booked this for a Sunday at the end of August. We went to do the tour around 11am. The first bus that came was full, so we decided to get some coffee and wait for the next bus. After waiting the 30 minutes, the next bus was also full and did not have one seat available on it! So once again we waited. A bus soon shows up with room on it, so we hop on and get settled in for our tour. The bus goes to the first stop on the route and then the bus driver tells everyone that he is taking a break, so everyone needs to get off and walk up and get on the next bus. We were quite frustrated by then and wished we hadn’t prepaid for this hop on hop off tour. If there is so much demand for this tour, the company should add buses and run them more frequently than every 30 minutes. Other people who hadn’t already bought tickets would just choose one of the other tour companies when they saw how full these buses were. Wish we could have done the same!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

The experience as ruined by the mugging we received at the sculpture park trying to get on a bus. You need to establish lines to keep people in order, but that might require an extra employee so it probably wont get done.

From USD $ 37.92

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2916OSL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message