4 star rating: Recommended 112 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Oslo, Norway
  • Duration:  Valid for 24 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Didn't work out great for us because we only have 6 hours in the city. Takes a while for bus to make full loop and beware lunch breaks. We got stuck wasting 45 mins waiting while the driver took lunch. We're not very happy. There's probably more efficient ways to get around the city to save time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The bus service was fine. We found the drivers to be uncommunicative and not helpful at all.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Nice ride!

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

This got us started on our trip to Oslo. Could see the whole town and then plan to return the next day

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

We basically used the hop on hop off bus for transport from our cruise ship to a couple of particular attractions, such as the Viking ship museum and for transport back to the city and the cruise terminal. Like all hop on hop off busses, they seem awfully slow to get around and take longer than you might expect to do a circuit. I refer to some of these buses as hop on - don't go! This particular bus was better than some, but not ideal either. And do they represent value for money? I guess that depends on how much time you have. The reality is, that for one day, they don't represent very good value, when time is considered waiting for the bus and allowing sufficient time to visit museums etcetera. May be a better option for a longer stay.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The tour began very well,and being met at the cruise terminal was terrific. The narration on the city was interesting and we hopped off at the Viking Museum, where it had just begun to rain. By the time we got out and wanted to continue to the Kon Tiki museum it was pouring. We ran to catch the bus and as we arrived the doors closed and we had to take a cab or drown. Thirty dollars for a 2 minute ride- no exaggeration. We hopped back on to return to the ship-and the only seat was next to the stairs. As we drove, the water cascaded down on me like Niagara Falls. I took Tour Maps, opened them and made a barrier so I wouldn't get soaked. There should be a contingency for rain. Many of the other standees were drenched as well. Great tour on a sunny day!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Audio on bus did not work changed seats but made no difference -

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

We learned a lot and will do Hop On Hop Off when traveling again.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The tour bus was very good at getting an over view of Oslo. The only problem was that I had to wait almost an hour at one of the stops as one of the buses had a GPS malfunction and they had to call for another bus. Since I was on a cruise, my time was limited at the places I wanted to stop off at.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

People boarding us at cruise ship were wonderful. Usual ho ho tour, had to repeat too much.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

A good way to get around initially when you don't know much about Oslo. We had a violent thunderstorm while we were on board with torrential rain but it didn't seem to slow the drivers down which was rather troubling. We missed one bus as it was running early and as they only run every 30 minutes had to walk a reasonable distance to the next attraction as it was too long to wait for the next bus. Otherwise, it was very informative.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

It was OK. Kind of confusing with another Hop-on -Hop off tour bus

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Tour was good but after waiting ages for a bus at the Sculpture Park and fighting to get on too scared to get off at the Viking Museum in case we would wait ages again and miss the ships departure. Shame as the concept is ideal.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

It was great until the end. The bus was clean, the narration clear and informative. But was under the impression that the busses pretty much went continuously. We started at the ship and, after a couple of stops, got to the starting point where the bus stopped for about 10 minutes. We could have walked into the city from there but thought we'd stay and ride to the next stop of interest. We finally started again, go to the ship and there it stopped again where we were informed it would be at least 15 minutes before he would go. The driver wasn't very nice about it either. In all, we wasted almost 30 minutes. This turned a 5 star trip into a 3 star.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

The hop on buses waited way to long at the stops or decided to all of a sudden stop and have their lunch. We did several hop on buses and this one was the least organized.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The bus goes where it says and runs as often as it says. The audio tour is minimal. It does not provide much information. Also, it was confusing because there is another company that runs a "Hop On Hop off" tour. You have to make sure you are trying to get on the bus run by this company. This is really for those who want a self-guided tour. It is not the same as the tours with a local guide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

Good but not fantastic

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Very good value for money, easy to find and all round very enjoyable

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The boat was overloaded and it was difficult to see let alone take any pictures.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

For cruise ship visitors, the mode of transportation is not logical for getting to various places in a short amount of time. To make the entire tour loop is one thing, but once you get off, it is extremely difficult to hop back on because the buses are full. Also, we needed to hop off early at the Visitor Information Center near City Hall to pick up our Oslo Pass. The plan was to pickup the pass and resume our travels on the bus for our pre-planned venue visits. But the driver gave us wrong information about which stop to get off and we had to walk a long distance to get to the Info Center. This wasted valuable time resulting in not getting to visit some of our planned places. So just to see the sights as an overview, get on and then don't get off! Enjoyed the little time we had in Oslo, however, and we would like to visit again.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Only go on this tour if you need the orientation and the transportation from one place to another. On board commentary was not really informative, and on many occasions the commentary did not correspond to the place the bus passed by. The buses are not very good. On the lower level the left side of the bus is mostly abstracted by the stair to the upper level. We had this tour when it was raining, and the roof of the bus had a leak, so the water was dripping on us. On many buses the upper level does not have windows, so the rain and wind will blow into your face. Only some of the buses have windows on the upper level.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Hop-On-Hop-Off is more like "Mob-On-Mob-Off" at popular stops, especially the Vigelandsparken sculpture park. It would be helpful for the company to have a process that allows passengers to disembark before permitting others to board. Also, our driver did not announce our stops, so we missed the Viking Museum venue, which was at the top of our list. The map HOHO provided was ambiguous about the route. Our alternative was to stay on the bus for another one hour-plus loop, which our schedule did not permit.When we complained about this to the HOHO staff, they told us it was our responsibility to listen for the stops on our earphones, despite the fact that the earphones were difficult to use and the narrative was not easy to understand.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Hop on Hop off is not for everybody, there is not enough buses so we loose lots of time. Regular guided tour are more efficient and less time consuming. We waited 50 minutes at one drop off, it is also very confusing because of the competition: sometime there is 3 different companies offering the same service with similar buses (Red). It is irritating and most people that we've meet felt the same way.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

VERY DISAPPOINTING. FOLLOWING SUCCESSFUL USE OF TOUR TO KON-TIKI AND POLAR MUSEUMS, THE BUS DID NOT APPEAR (?1050.1100 HRS), THE NEXT ONE WAS SO FULL YOU COULDN'T SQUEEZE A SARDINE IN, AND WHEN THE NEXT ONE CAME, WE AHD NO TIME TO VISIT THE VIKING MUSEUM AS HAD BEEN OUR PLAN. SORRY, JUST NOT GOOD ENOUGH, AND WE SHALL LOOK ELSOWHERE IN FUTURE.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Absolute chaos at pickup point as no orderly queuing or ability for someone with a voucher to get ahead of others trying to buy tickets. Transpired there were different hop on- hop off buses and vouchers/tickets were not valid for all. Room for improvement.

From USD $ 37.82

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2916OSL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message