4.5 star rating: Recommended 56 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Panama City, Panama
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 56 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The trip was informative and interesting. The tour guide did a good job and the lunch that was provided was very well prepared and tasty. The tour boat was a little run down and needed a facelift but overall my wife and I thought the tour was worth the price and met our expectations.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great trip. Super narrator..Juan Carlos! Food good. Disembarking long and tedious.
Recommended by all 4 of us!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

We give only four because before we got on the boat the Organisation was poor. Nobody really informed us what is going on. But after that, on the boat, everything was great. Good information, enough cool water for everybody the whole trip. If you wanted to know more about you could ask the guide. It is a very interesting tour, we can only recommand it. Also the busdriver drove us very Safety through the City to the Harbour and back! Mahalo!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Overall very enjoyable;
Write ups do give the impression that you have a guide with your group -
not so- they deliver you to the Boat and disappear
Their is one man doing the commentary via loudspeaker system (does a good job and informative)
but miss the opportunity for individual questions

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

the trip through the Canal was a wunderful experience we would not forget. a pity that the promised pick up was not there (stay in casco viego). and now service after te trip. we had to arrange our own taxi's. we had to wait long before we could go abord our ship. free drinks and snacks/lunch. the information about abord wasvery useful and very good.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Going through the Panama Canal is a once in a lifetime experience. It's also kind of boring, so bring a book. This particular tour feeds you well and the guide did explain a lot about the canal and Panama. However, it took much longer than expected. The delays seemed to be related to canal traffic rather than the guide company. So I would recommend going, but bring something to kill time while you're waiting.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Well worth the cost. Highly recommend it. The canal is the "8th" wonder - the technology is awesome; look forward to doing it again when the new locks are open. The tour guide was very informative, engaging; very educational and knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour went well The bus was in good condition although the audio earplugs didn't work in some locations The pick up times were on schedule and the people who gave you information at the bus or very pleasant

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

There was some confusion with the subcontractors that provided the transportation to the boat. They told us to be ready at 4:45 am, they actually showed up before 7 am. On the boat we enjoyed it and the guide in both spanish and english was well informed and funny. Great experience and look forward to when the expansion of the canal is finished. The city of Panana neeeds a great deal of cleaninig all over. Too much garbage on the streets and sidewalks. There is also a great deal poverty in a country with 3 and half million people and loads of dollars due to the canal itself. The social difference is rampant.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Very informative. Bit of waiting in the bus while the boat's pilot turned up but nobody explained the reason until later

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

I truly enjoyed the adventure. Our guide was very informative with just the right amount of humor. I learned a lot about the history of the building of the canal.
The breakfast and lunch that was provided was adequate.
My 1 and only complaint would be about the woman at the other end of the telephone when I called to confirm pick up time at our hotel. She was rude and not very helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Good trip and especial thanks to Viator who arranged to change the day from the one we had booked.
Very interesting commentary. We did the half day trip and that was value for money. Can't believe that the full day trip along the whole canal would be worth £250 each. Check it out.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

This was a great way to learn the history of the canal and current activities surrounding the new canal that is under construction. The boat ride was leisurely, the food was ethnic but good, and the people were quite friendly.
Make sure that you take advantage of the pickup service to and from your hotel. We made the mistake of driving to the departure site and almost missed the shuttle bus which takes everyone to the boat. Panama is not an easy city to drive in because there are very few signs (street names, one way, etc.).
Overall you will love this tour. We did.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Well organised trip, informative and friendly Guide. The highlight to the weekend in Panama City.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We had a great time and the captain and pilot were very nice. Tour guide was also very nice and the lunch really hit the spot. The bus ride to and from the departure point was not fun. Way too long and would have been better to get smaller vans to drive tourist.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Excellent cruise, wonderful knowledgable guide with great English, interesting experience. Our only frustration was with the transportation - they tell everyone to be ready for a 6am pick up, and then several of us were picked up only at 7:30 or 8. There should be a better system of tightening that window.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

We really enjoyed this tour, would not have missed it! The boat was a bit old but the crew/guide were very helpful and added a great deal to the experience.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Absolutely no interaction by our tour operator - Canal and Bay Tours - while we were on the boat.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Nobody came in the morning to pick us and we had to pay 30 for a taxi ! And we saw nobody also at the marina from Viator....so, I was not really impress with this kind of organisation....the tour itself was good...

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The canal tour was very interesting despite on and off rains. Meals provided on the boat was okay. After the cruise, our small group was left waiting in a boat shack while all other passengers were whisked off in their buses. A chilly 20 minute wait while it was raining did not make a cheery end to the trip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Tour of the Canal itself was great. Unfortunately it became very disorganized at the end and the communication of the process and actual return to the hotels was terrible and took much longer than necessary. We ended up getting off at another hotel and walking back to our hotel.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

We did go on a ship from Gamboa to the Amador causeway. However, a lot of time went into waiting and transportation. The tour time was about 3.5 hours only. It would be good to figure out how to minimize wait in the morning.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Tour was good after taking cab to travel agency. Bus driver walked by us in hotel lobby without identifying herself and we had to take cab.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

The transit cruise itself was great; the announcer said all his remarks in Spanish and English and took individual photos of guests for sale ($10).

Unfortunately the bus transport to the transit was more than 2 hours late in arriving to our hotel, and then the bus driver did not seem to know where he was going. We passed our hotel 4 more times while picking up other guests, and were the last to board the transit cruise. After the cruise, an appropriate bus was not waiting, and we again were delayed in the heat for more than 45 minutes waiting for transportation. We had updated phone numbers but none of the numbers were accurate. Many of the passengers called repeatedly, but there was either no answer or when someone answered, they denied knowing anything about the tour.

From USD $ 144.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2744PCPT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message