4.5 star rating: Recommended 145 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  60 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Behind the Scenes of a Boulangerie : French Bakery Tour in Paris. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 145 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was a fantastic behind the scenes view of a real Paris bakery. Guide was extremely well informed with perfect English! Highlight of our stay in Paris.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Pas Mal!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Quite good tour. It turned out just to be the two of us and the guide actually works for the bakery. Excellent products.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Wow, we never realized how much work went on behind the scenes in each boulangerie! The tour was interesting and the samples were very good. It would have been easier to know the location/address sooner.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

This was a great little tour to learn about the inner workings of a boulangerie, and to see how much the French care/obsess over their bread and pastries. The tour guide was great, and there were only four of us on the tour. I cannot imagine many more people because it was already sort of cramped with just the few of us. We got to sample two types of bread, then received a baguette and croissant to go. All delicious. As some have said, the only hands on part is making the slits in the baguette. What most dont mention is 1) how important the slits are, 2) how many years French bakers take to perfect it, and 3) how difficult it is to do correctly.

The ONLY reason the tour does not receive five stars is because of the lack of information about the location. I guess one could call from abroad to get the location details, but I waited to call until we arrived in Paris. Turns out the bakery we were meeting at was in Montemartre, a decent way outside of the main tourist area. It was no real problem getting there, but location did throw off the well-conceived plans I had. If I had known I had to go to Montemartre for the tour, I would have planned on doing Montmartre that morning, instead of a few days later. Easy enough to readjust plans, but it did throw me off a bit.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

My guests and I thoroughly enjoyed this visit! Groups are restricted because of space constraints to a maximum of 6 people. It was fascinating to hear about the bakery industry in Paris and to see how such a small bakery produces up to 500 baguettes a day! The staff were all friendly and didn't seem to mind us being in the way! Our guide translated as staff told us about their daily routines and everyone was happy to answer questions. We were the very first group to go to this particular bakery and it went surprisingly smoothly! Lots of tasting along the way, so I was glad to have missed breakfast!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Unfortunately, our guide from the Chocolate and Macaroon tour called to get the address of this tour for us an wrote down the wrong address..#57 (a closed Thai restaurant) instead of #127. By the time we found the correct address the tour was over...our guide did take 5 minutes to show us around and we did get our baguette and our croissants. Beautiful shop!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

This was a short, but very interesting visit to a Boulangerie, it runs 1 hour as advertised. It was interesting to see how many dedicated bakers there are in just one boulangerie. Our guide met us outside the shop as arranged and asked anything we asked about if she didn't already know the answer

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Very interesting. Best croissant in Paris. So yummy. Had trouble finding the bakery so we arrived late. Address wasn't provided until day before.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Very enjoyable. Excellent translator. Learned the importance of the neighborhood bakery in France.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Tour was a nice behind the scenes look at a crafty little Parisian bakery. The real deal! Everything from scratch, fun little interactive activities. Great start to the morning!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

I had a great time. Very informative. Great tour guide. Wonderful bakery!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

My Husband and I took this tour in June 2012. It was extremely interesting. The only downfall to the experience was the fact that the bakery had a huge order to fill and was behind on the work. Becuase of this the bakers were focused on certain things and unable to show the tour parts of the bakery. Our guide was great and did the best she could to fill in the gaps, but had we come on another day I think we could have had a better experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Good tour, worth the money!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

It was informative, fun and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The boulanger and translator were lovely and we were spoilt with all the tasty treats we got to take home. I would definitely do this again and would highly recommend it.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Myriam was wonderful.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Loved this tour! The guide was wonderful and the owner obviously enjoyed sharing his expertise with us. The breads we were given at the end of the tour were delicious.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Enjoyed the trip. Informative and interesting. Able to ask plenty of questions and plenty of pleasant banter.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Interesting for people who don't have these kinds of bakeries where they live. Being from Honolulu, our bakeries are very different. We received samples of different kinds of bread, and desserts. We each were given whole loaves of French bread to take with us. It was fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The bakery was just a few blocks from our hotel.It was very small, and the baker himself spoke no English so another man translated his information as well as for the questions from the group. The presentation was well worth the time and cost. We learned how bread is baked and ended up with a delicious baquette and croissant. It's a fun and fairly short behind-the-scenes to enjoy in Paris..

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

It was enjoyable , a simple demonstration on the bread mixing facilities, and the finished bread was awesome . My session had a quite a crowd .. So movements in the small kitchen was a bit of a challenge

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

What a lovely experience. The Baker was so friendly, especially with the kids, and our guide was really informative and gave us great directions afterwards. We landed up buying loads of treats and even bought a copy of his book which I am really enjoying. Highly recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

good behind the scenes. Met the boss and had the chance for children to join in

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Short but truely enjoyable behind the scenes look at a French bakery. Got access to the bakers and got to sample the product.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

It was fun going into the backroom of a French bakery. It also allowed us to get to a part of Paris we had not been to. It is on a nice market street. The other folks on the tour were fun to be with. We had some good laughs and learned a little about the different pastries and breads.

From USD $ 26.03

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3234PARISBAKERY

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message