5 star rating: Highly Recommended 354 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 354 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

What a fantastic day!!! We met our guide Andres, got our bikes and we were off. We shopped for our lunch and rode off to a beautiful spot on the river. After some food and wine we rode to Giverney where we were able to wander Monet's gardens and his home. We loved it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Awesome! Well organized and personable guides. My sister and I (not so young people) enjoyed scenic and enjoyable flat bike trip of 5 K and picnic lunch at the Seine river bank. Our guide Jason was a great guide and host.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Loved this tour! Our guide was VERY knowledgeable in art history and gave us many insights into the life and times of Monet and the other trend setting artists of his time. We were given time to shop for picnic items in the village of Vernon, and had a great picnic in a park just on the banks of the Seine. The bikes were in good repair, and easy to ride. This was not a particularly hard or long ride, so it was easy to do for even a novice rider. There was plenty of time to explore Monet's gardens and home on your own. Meeting arrangements are easy to follow, and the tour guide handled all the ticketing for the train. Overall, a great tour, and well worth the money!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was one of the highlights of the Paris week for us. We were happy to leave the busy crowded city for a little taste of the countyside. Our guide Rick was fantastic! The market at Vernon, gathering our lunch goods, picnic on the river, the pleasant ride to Giverny...couldn't ask for a better way to experience Monet's gardens. The gardens were crowded (as expected in summer) but it was great to enter with a group and not have to wait in the long lines. Really the way to see it! Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Probably 1 of the most memorable times on our trip. Our guide was fun, the food and breads in and around the market was delicious and it was just a beautiful ride to the garden. Highly recommended, we'd do it again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I missed the train with my tour but I wanted to go so bad I bought my own train ticket and went alone, it was very easy to find and well worth the trip, the place is fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was the highlight of my trip to France. Our guide was Andre and he was amazing. From the trip on the train, the comfortable bikes that anyone can ride, the hour spent in the market at Vernon choosing foods for the picnic, the bike ride to Giverny, and the beauty of Monet's garden. What a fantastic day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Need to make sure you say that the bike tour does go through road traffic. Very nerve-racking!! Otherwise the guide was very nice and helpful to the "novice" bike riders on this trip! Would recommend this to anyone who is a better bike rider! The home/gardens were great to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This trip was everything we wanted and more. Andre was great at his job and had us all confident and at ease from his first introduction. Beautiful ride, well organised so no one was left behind and plenty of time to enjoy the surroundings. Even at this most busy time of year. Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Very well run tour, physically easy biking and the payoff is Monet's garden, absolutely stunning and peaceful. Our leader Kip is very passionate and knowledgeable about Monet and the history of the Impressionist movement. He did a great job.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Best trip ever - relaxing peaceful - lunch was priceless - bike riding in small town was east safe no stress
Market food etc fantastic - one of the best days in France - highly highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

really well organized! the guide was very knowledgeable about giverny and money and other relevant information regarding the two. the picnic was really lovely and the tour was both guided and plenty of time was also left to explore on your own. great way to take in giverny in one day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was truly a highlight of our trip. Our guide was so wonderful and was truly so knowledgable about Monet as well as the artists of the time who lived in the area. He showed us different paintings we which we hunted down in the various museums in Paris. The picnic lunches was one of our favorite lunches. Our guide sent us to all these wonderful food shops to buy the ingredients. We've recommended this trip excursion to many of our friends already.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Everything was wonderful - just as we had hoped. The bikes were comfy and in good working order, the guide was very knowledgeable and charming, the weather was perfect. It's a day we will never forget.
Thank you!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Kit was a terrific guide. He was knowledgable, thorough and pleasant to spend a few hours with on the bike tour. The tour was a nice get away from the hustle and bustle of Paris ! Thanks for a great time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

When visiting Paris, do not hesitate to book this bike tour. Following our family’s pleasant train ride to Vernon and a sumptuous picnic by the Seine, we took a leisurely bike ride along an old rail line as we experienced the charm of the French countryside and the quaint village of Giverny. The Monet gardens were exquisite with most of the flowers in bloom including the famed lily pads. However, the tour would not have been nearly a fun had it not been for our guide, Pete, from Liverpool, England. Not only did impart his vast knowledge of Monet using fascinating anecdotes, but his sense of humor made the trip all that much more enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had a terrific tour! We started off right by giving ourselves a team name, "team awesome" ...our guide was a young man from England who was incredibly knowledgeable about Monet and the impressionist movement and taught us some things we didn't know, even though we have a pretty developed art sensibility. The weather was lovely and his suggestions on our lunch couldn't have been better. We really wish we could have had another tour with Fat Tire Bike tours, but our time was limited. We plan on doing another bike tour with Fat Tire on our next stop in Barcelona.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful! We had a blast. The house and grounds are not to besides and our guide, Costigan made the trip even better!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Fabulous day - can highly recommend this trip as it was one of the highlights of my stay in Paris. Jason was a great guide. The bike ride is very easy and the day well spaced with time enough for everything on the agenda.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Fortunately it was one of the sunny day we had during our week in Paris. Our guide, Costigan, couldn't have been better. He was personable and very knowledgeable. The entire excursion went smoothly and we enjoyed the picnic by the Seine and the bike trip to Giverney. Of course, Monet must take some ot the credit for this tour. His gardens were marvelous and Giverney itself was quite quaint. This was the only excursion we took outside of Paris and it is well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour was absolutely perfect! Our guides, Kit and Justin, were wonderful.
Giverny and Monet's Garden bike tour was the highlight of my entire Paris trip!
Just note that you meet at an above ground train station not an underground Metro
station. This trip exceeded my expectations!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a fun day. Our guide Pete was terrific. At Vernon we picked up our bikes. Pete adjusted them to suit everybody including two children. Very easy bikes to ride. We shopped at the market for lunch again guided by Pete. The picnic spot on the Seine was perfect. A Monet primer from Pete while we ate. Best ham and cheese baguette I have had in years washed down with local cider. Then on the bikes along the easy bike paths to Giverny. We had plenty of time in Monet's garden although it was very crowded. A pleasant ride back to Vernon in time for the train to Paris. Recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Indeed the highlight of our Paris tour. A wonderful contrast from the buzz of Paris. A relaxing break and the cycling fun and easy. We enjoyed buying our lunch and our guide David C was just excellent with his clear instructions and knowledge of the area and subject matter. Monets house and garden was a treat to have been there. Thankyou Lyn and Ian Canberra Australia.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful Tour!!! Just wish we had more time on the bikes as it was good biking weather. I went Friday, May 18th. My guide was wonderful - very friendly and knowledgable. Monet's lily pond garden was in full bloom and the sun was shining right over it. I have never seen a garden quite like this before. The train ride was fast and very pleasant. It was also very easy to find the guides once I got to the train station platform. Highly recommend and would absolutely use viator again for tours in all cities that they work in.

From USD $ 91.33

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3588MONET

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message