5 star rating: Highly Recommended 343 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 343 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Best trip ever - relaxing peaceful - lunch was priceless - bike riding in small town was east safe no stress
Market food etc fantastic - one of the best days in France - highly highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

really well organized! the guide was very knowledgeable about giverny and money and other relevant information regarding the two. the picnic was really lovely and the tour was both guided and plenty of time was also left to explore on your own. great way to take in giverny in one day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was truly a highlight of our trip. Our guide was so wonderful and was truly so knowledgable about Monet as well as the artists of the time who lived in the area. He showed us different paintings we which we hunted down in the various museums in Paris. The picnic lunches was one of our favorite lunches. Our guide sent us to all these wonderful food shops to buy the ingredients. We've recommended this trip excursion to many of our friends already.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Everything was wonderful - just as we had hoped. The bikes were comfy and in good working order, the guide was very knowledgeable and charming, the weather was perfect. It's a day we will never forget.
Thank you!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Kit was a terrific guide. He was knowledgable, thorough and pleasant to spend a few hours with on the bike tour. The tour was a nice get away from the hustle and bustle of Paris ! Thanks for a great time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

When visiting Paris, do not hesitate to book this bike tour. Following our family’s pleasant train ride to Vernon and a sumptuous picnic by the Seine, we took a leisurely bike ride along an old rail line as we experienced the charm of the French countryside and the quaint village of Giverny. The Monet gardens were exquisite with most of the flowers in bloom including the famed lily pads. However, the tour would not have been nearly a fun had it not been for our guide, Pete, from Liverpool, England. Not only did impart his vast knowledge of Monet using fascinating anecdotes, but his sense of humor made the trip all that much more enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had a terrific tour! We started off right by giving ourselves a team name, "team awesome" ...our guide was a young man from England who was incredibly knowledgeable about Monet and the impressionist movement and taught us some things we didn't know, even though we have a pretty developed art sensibility. The weather was lovely and his suggestions on our lunch couldn't have been better. We really wish we could have had another tour with Fat Tire Bike tours, but our time was limited. We plan on doing another bike tour with Fat Tire on our next stop in Barcelona.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful! We had a blast. The house and grounds are not to besides and our guide, Costigan made the trip even better!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Fabulous day - can highly recommend this trip as it was one of the highlights of my stay in Paris. Jason was a great guide. The bike ride is very easy and the day well spaced with time enough for everything on the agenda.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Fortunately it was one of the sunny day we had during our week in Paris. Our guide, Costigan, couldn't have been better. He was personable and very knowledgeable. The entire excursion went smoothly and we enjoyed the picnic by the Seine and the bike trip to Giverney. Of course, Monet must take some ot the credit for this tour. His gardens were marvelous and Giverney itself was quite quaint. This was the only excursion we took outside of Paris and it is well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour was absolutely perfect! Our guides, Kit and Justin, were wonderful.
Giverny and Monet's Garden bike tour was the highlight of my entire Paris trip!
Just note that you meet at an above ground train station not an underground Metro
station. This trip exceeded my expectations!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a fun day. Our guide Pete was terrific. At Vernon we picked up our bikes. Pete adjusted them to suit everybody including two children. Very easy bikes to ride. We shopped at the market for lunch again guided by Pete. The picnic spot on the Seine was perfect. A Monet primer from Pete while we ate. Best ham and cheese baguette I have had in years washed down with local cider. Then on the bikes along the easy bike paths to Giverny. We had plenty of time in Monet's garden although it was very crowded. A pleasant ride back to Vernon in time for the train to Paris. Recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Indeed the highlight of our Paris tour. A wonderful contrast from the buzz of Paris. A relaxing break and the cycling fun and easy. We enjoyed buying our lunch and our guide David C was just excellent with his clear instructions and knowledge of the area and subject matter. Monets house and garden was a treat to have been there. Thankyou Lyn and Ian Canberra Australia.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful Tour!!! Just wish we had more time on the bikes as it was good biking weather. I went Friday, May 18th. My guide was wonderful - very friendly and knowledgable. Monet's lily pond garden was in full bloom and the sun was shining right over it. I have never seen a garden quite like this before. The train ride was fast and very pleasant. It was also very easy to find the guides once I got to the train station platform. Highly recommend and would absolutely use viator again for tours in all cities that they work in.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was easy to get to the train station where we met up with Justine who shared with the group the plans for the day. The scenes from the train were beautiful but we had the most fun picking our out lunch from various booths at the Farmer's Market then biked a short way where we stopped for a picnic. Easy flat bike ride to Monet's Gardens and the flowers were spectacular as was the house. Very fun day for all ability of bikers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

The Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour was the highlight of our trip to Paris. It was so much fun! Not only did we get to share our picnic lunch with the friendly ducks and geese along the Seine, but we got some exercise too! But, what made the tour was our guide Kit. He was fantastic. As an art history major and artist in his own right, he was very knowledgeable about the Impressionist movement in Paris and about Monet and his contemporaries. His enthusiasm and passion for art was inspiring. He also took great care to make sure everyone was safe and enjoying their day. Good food, good learning and good exercise, what could be better than that?

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Well-organized and lots of fun. Our guide, Pete, from Liverpool, was friendly, knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. The train ride from Paris Gare St. Lazare to Vernon took about 45 minutes. We got to experience a little bit of Normandy, stopping in Vernon to buy lunch for our picnic, then riding bikes from Vernon to Giverny. Even though it rained on and off, the trip was hugely successful. Monet's home and gardens are a must see for every visitor to Paris and a great way to spend a day in another region of France. The grey skies helped make the beautiful colors of the flowers and foliage stand out even more than if the skies had been sunny. Mid week in May is a good time to go, avoiding the hordes of summer visitors.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This was one of our best tours during our stay in Paris. Our British Guide Pete was excellent, informative, and had a great sense of humour. The bike ride was easy and fun. We enjoyed the picnic lunch and the local food from the town of Vernon (including Pete's recommendation of the cider). Monet's gardens were stunningly beautiful and beyond my expectations as I had wanted to visit them for many years. We had light rain on and off that day, but the ambient light in the garden was perfect for photography. As well the gardens were not exceptionally busy with crowds as it was midweek. All in all, this tour is highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

It was a great day starting with our picnic purchase at the local market then off to Monet's garden by bike. The groups was great and the guide was fantastic

Joann
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

what a great day, loved every minute. Kit, the tour guide was so informative. He's a great host. The garden was the highlight of my Paris trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful! A great itinerary. We enjoyed having time in the small town of Vernon to wander the market and purchase our picnic lunch. Our tour guide Andre was outstanding...he was fun and engaging and provided the little extras to make our picnic by the Seine memorable. The bike ride was easy and gave us a chance to see things you wouldn't see from a tour bus. Gardens at Giverny were beautiful even in early May and well worth the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Easy bike ride and beautiful area in France. The food market was great and the tour guide Kit really knows his' stuff. Monet's gardens were amazing. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wow! This tour was the highlight of my trip. If you love Monet and impression art this tour is not to be missed. Our guide Kitt was fantastic. Kitt was personable and knowledgeable. He was definitely a GREAT tour guide. We met wonderful people on this tour. The picnic lunch was amazing. Beautiful views! Just loved the whole tour. Thanks Kitt : )

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Really the best way to see it. So much fun, and the picnic lunch was really great

From USD $ 89.43

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3588MONET

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message