4.5 star rating: Recommended 571 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 571 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very convenient way to see Giverny and Versaille. Pick up and drop off in van at hotel. Congenenial driver- guide, Magnus, who told us about the sites and there history while in transport, but did not actually take us through the sites, but made sure we were admitted and knew what to see. Giverny was a place you need to see, but a bit of a let down. had a nice lunch en route from Giverny to Versaille. Versaille was terrific. We enjoyed the gardens, more than the interiors however. A fellow tour member told us to watch Coppola's "Marie Antoinette" movie, which was filmed at Versaille, which we did that night. It helped put everything in context.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Exellent combination of activities - really appreciated the input of our driver who added a lot to the trip. A good way to get a "tourists view" of these places in a short time frame. Lunch was very good!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide is so knowledgeable that my daughter call him History Professor. The place he took us to lunch is so beautiful and peaceful. We enjoy the whole trip very much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide Julian was superb from the moment he picked us up to the moment he dropped us off. He had great knowledge and nothing was any problem. The Palace od Versailles was absolutely amazing. A great way of seeing these sights - worth the extra money to do a small group tour like this

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was amazing! Made the drive fun! Good lunch prep, giverny is amazing. Versailles was just too crowded.. But good tour overall!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. Limited time spent in Monets garden, just managed to get through. Had a beautiful lunch in the country, beyond expectation, wonderful. So glad we got to Versailles and truly recommend 'skip the line'is the only way to go here. Beautiful, full on day tour with a small friendly group and knowledgeable tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Christophe was an excellent guide. He was prompt in collecting us at our hotel. His driving was appropriate for the area; I felt quite comfortable with him. The line for Versailles was at least two city blocks long. What a joy to walk to the front and get in within two minutes from arrival. We were given the meeting time, a few tips for touring, and we were off. Versailles is amazing! We walked for miles (according to my pedometer) and still didn't comb the entire property in two hours. FYI, there are golf cart rentals in 30-minute increments available to drive the gardens. Next, Christophe drove us through the countryside, gave us a little history of the area, and then we arrived at the windmill restaurant. Nice atmosphere, quick service and delicious food. I'm not a dark meat chicken eater, but none of the thigh was left on my plate. Last on the list, Giverny...breathtaking. The opportunity to walk the Japanese gardens and enter the home, ahead of the crowds once again, was worth it. I can't imagine spending hours of my vacation waiting to gain entry. Very few spaces were off limits. I could see and feel where Monet's inspiration came from. Absolutely stunning!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. We were picked up at our hotel on schedule. There were two other families on the tour so the van was full, but comfortable. Our driver/guide was knowledgeable and energetic and spoke excellent English. On the way to each attraction she gave background history about what we were going to see so we had some orientation. Being on the tour meant that we skipped the ticket line. This was especially good at Versailles since it was very crowded. On the way from Versailles to Giverny we stopped at a lovely restaurant housed in an old mill for lunch. The food was excellent. An added benefit of this tour is that you get to see some of the French countryside and tiny villages with their ancient churches. Monet's house and gardens were delightful. The garden was in full bloom with a staggering variety of flowers. The lily ponds appear just as Monet painted them. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The extra expense of the small group tour was well worth it: we were the only people who booked for that day and so it was a private tour. We had plenty of time to get excellent information from our excellent guide, Pamela, and she indulged us by giving some of the tour en Français so our daughter could practice. Lunch was very picturesque and the "back road" from Giverny to Versailles allowed for a drive through sn area of troglodyte (cave) homes. Giverny and Versailles were very, VERY crowded. Skipping the unbelievably long line for tickets at Versailles was a priceless perk.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour size was perfect and our guide/driver was excellent in all respects.
The pace of the tour was good, the quality of the lunch and the location of the restaurant was a pleasant surprise.
Detours through some lovely villages was an added bonus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Pablo was an excellent and informative guide and we had a fabulous day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were very pleased with the whole experience from start to finish. Our tour director was very pleasant, informed, and very prompt. The trip to Giverny took us through a lot of small towns which we wouldn't have seen on a large tour. The Monet gardens are beautiful especially in mid- summer. Our lunch at a very quaint restaurant was most enjoyable and delicious. We had no trouble entering Versailles as our guide had our tickets and we were able to go to the front of the cue. It will always be for us a day to remember.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent day out. The group was small and the driver had a great sence of humour. Would definately recommend the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We LOVED this tour! The guide was amazing; so interesting and kind. She made our day and experience fantastic! Even more, she was so knowledgable and inspiring. We loved it all. Thank you!

judy.wilson
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great day out with a lovely lunch included

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The trip to Giverny France was my favorite excursion. Claude Monet's cottage and garden was absolutely breathtaking. The lunch was beautifully served and the setting was picturesque.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The venues were so busy and we were glad we had "vip" passes and didn't have to stand in the long lines. We had enough time on our own to enjoy both places.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were a group of 6 (family of four with two grandmas) and it was super convenient to have our tour guide pick us up and drop us off from our apartment. He was very friendly and handled everything for us. We just had to sit back and enjoy. The Giverny gardens are a must see. The ride out to Giverny and through the town was enjoyable and picturesque as well. Access to the museum was a nice bonus but seeing the gardens was an absolute delight. Lunch was also very good and at cute restaurant along the river. The tour of Versailles was good too, our guide gave us tips on what to skip so we would have enough time seeing the more interesting items. Definitely save time to walk the grounds.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great experience! Our guide, Pablo, was very knowledgeable about French history. I learned a lot and enjoyed visiting both Giverny and Versailles.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I guess everyone needs to experience Versailles if you want to really understand French history... particularly the excesses and extravagances that led to the French Revolution. It truly is an amazing place and a work of art in itself. However, I never thought I would see a site more crowded than the Vatican Museums in Rome but Versailles might have done that. Our guide was excellent and we were actually lucky to visit in early May. We can't imagine what it's like in mid-summer. Giverny was wonderful and we were amazed at how the gardens, the pond, the water lilies and the house looked just like so many of Monet's famous paintings. The lunch at an old mill was also very good. Great tour and guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

An absolutely wonderful day. Our guide was courteous and prompt, with nothing being too much trouble.
His knowledge was exceptional, which made this an even more enjoyable day. The venue and meal for lunch was again top notch, making this without exception a wonderful end to our Europe adventure. A wonderful way to finish our holiday. John and Elizabeth Kirk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was awesome. We had a great english speaking tour guide "Louie". We were picked up at the hotel promptly and taken to a seperate entrance to Versailles--we skipped the line and there must have been at least 600 people on line already to buy tix. The Palace and Gardens were beautiful. We only had two hours there--so we did not see much of the outside. We were then taken to lunch at a beautiful rustic restaurant located on a small river. It was great and the food and wine were wonderful. We then went to Giverny which was totally awesome. We skipped the line and went across the road to the lily pond and streams first. I suggest you go in late April--everything was is full bloom. We then took a tour of the house and gardens across the streeet. Louis also told us the history of Versailles and Giverny while we were in transit--it is at least an hour and half ride outside of Paris. We were then taken back to our hotel. It was a lovely day trip and I recommend it highly. Louis our tour guide spoke english and was a pleasure to have with us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A wonderful experience. The driver was very nice, knew the history of the area and gave us plenty of time at each venue. Highly recommended.

From USD $ 245.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2050PLUSGE_GV

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message