4.5 star rating: Recommended 477 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 477 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our trip to Giverny was really a highlight of the three weeks we spent in Europe. We traveled by van directly from our hotel in central Paris with 2 other couples and a great guide who was knowledgeable and interesting. It is easy to see why Monet was such a great painter...he had a great garden in which to immerse himself. Versailles cannot be seen properly in only a few hours so that was a bit disappointing, but that was all the time available. A highlight was the gallery containing numerous large paintings of the historic battles in French history dating back to the 1300s. We enjoyed an excellent lunch along the way at a quaint water mill inn.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Another great day, lovey guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

What an experience. Our driver, Max, was superb, giving a detailed commentary along the way, and making sure we knew what was happening and meeting times, etc, throughout the day. He looked after us very well. Giverny and Monet's garden were delightful, and lunch at the Mill restaurant was fantastic. Then Max took us through small villages, pointing out places of interest before delivering us right to the gate at Versailles. After a couple of hours there, we were delivered back to our hotel. This was a day we will always remember and can happily recommend it to other travellers.

JOOLES
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

THIS WAS FANTASTIC.SOPHIE OUR GUIDE WAS AMAZING,FULL OF KNOWLEDGE OF EVERYTHING.SHE MADE SURE WE GOT TO VERSAILLES EARLY TO BEAT THE CROWDS,THANKS GOODNESS.IT WAS A SMALL GROUP WHICH WAS WONDERFUL,WE FELT LIKE A GROUP OF FRIENDS NOT JUMP A BIG GROUP FOLLOWING ALONG BEHIND A LITTLE FLAG.HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TOUR.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a terrific tour, just 6 people in a private van w/driver/guide.Picked up at our hotel, driven to Versailles where we toured using audio guides. Had lunch at a very cute restaurant in the countryside. Driven to Giverny where we toured Monet's beautiful gardens, ponds and home. About 8 hrs.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Absolutely loved this day. Giverny was the highlight of our trip for me.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The tour company did a good job. Small group tours are the way to go, as the big coach tours we did while in London left a lot to be desired. Giverny was everything I had hoped for, although they should have someone stationed at the bridge to allow people to take photos without other people in them that will last a lifetime. As it is, you may very well have to Photoshop a few tourists out of your otherwise gorgeous bridge photo. Beautiful waterways, exquisite gardens, and the artist's home make this a well-planned and well-timed excursion. Versailles? Well, they sure don't do a very good job of protecting the art. It's clear they look at it as a money making machine, which it definitely is. Hopefully they'll get some new management in some day to properly care for the artwork and sculpture and keep people from touching. They also need a queue to prevent too many people from entering at once. At times it's standing room only and its way too crowded. But if that's the only way you can see it, so be it. Definitely worth the trip, and if the palace itself gets too crowded, take a walk through the gardens. There's lots to see out there that can't be seen unless you go exploring away from the main palace. And yes, you won't have enough time. When I go back, I'll definitely spend an entire day and hope to see most of it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We enjoyed a delightful day with our guide who was also our driver on our day trip to Monet's Garden, lunch at a beautiful old mill and then on to Versaille. It was so nice to be only a small group being 7 in total.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Just the right amount of time at both venues. The number of tourists at Versailles was a bit difficult in several of the rooms. I'm glad we were there in September as opposed to the key summer months. A great driver for the day. Prompt pick up at our hotel. Called the number the day before and got a precise pickup time. A must trip for your personal "bucket list".

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Amazing. So good being in a small group. And doing both places was great. The included lunch was great and in a picturesque location. Fred was a great tour guide!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great day out. Our guide, David, was brilliant. Very informative, helpful and charming. The day trip made a fantastic extra to our visit to Paris. Really pleased we did it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Brilliant tour, picked up by our driver who gave us a most memorable day. The Palace was impressive, Monet's garden was everything we expected and more. Our tour leader was superb in his knowledge as well as the fact that he gave us some great trips through the countryside. Lunch with our fellow travellers was superb. We cannot fault the whole experience. It will be a day that we just won't forget. Thank you to both our guide and Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

I loved this trip. Versailles and Giverny was awesome. Lunch was also excellent!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This trip was amazing! Even after getting picked up and dropped off at our apartment, we were exhausted so I don't know how we could've made it through the day without this! Our guide, Herbert, was very knowledgeable and gave us great information on not just Giverny and Versailles but also on Paris while we drove in and out! We were lucky with Giverny as we had just beat the cruise tour rush but we weren't quite as lucky with Versailles. The gardens were lovely and spacious but the Chateau was just crazy! I almost wish we had skipped the Chateau altogether and spent the whole time in the gardens. Wintertime would be ideal for the Chateau since that is apparently when there are far less tourists and you can actually stop and enjoy where you are instead of being shuffled from room to room by the sheer force of the amount of people there are looking around and taking pictures. Lunch at Moulin des Rouges was so beautiful and charming. The food was just fine but the view and area in general were spectacular! All in all, two hours at Giverny was pretty sufficient for the gardens, house, and museum but if you have more time in Paris, you need a full day if not longer for Versailles! Definitely recommend this if you're on a time limit like we were and want a quick tour of some country while you're in Paris.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

If you only go on one trip I would highly recommend this duel visit. Monet's garden whilst busy is breathtaking. if you know his paintings you can see the inspiration. The Palace of Versailles is stunning.however I need to return to explore the gardens in more detail. The personal 8 person trip is worth the extra money. You get picked up and dropped back at your hotel and apartment. Our guide was knowledgeable and really tried to ensure we enjoyed the day. The lunch was in a wonderful location - a lovely surprise. I would recommend this visit although like me you will probably want to return to spend more time in each location.

From USD $ 287.21

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 18+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2050PLUSGE_GV

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message