4.5 star rating: Recommended 580 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Duration:9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 580 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The venues were so busy and we were glad we had "vip" passes and didn't have to stand in the long lines. We had enough time on our own to enjoy both places.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were a group of 6 (family of four with two grandmas) and it was super convenient to have our tour guide pick us up and drop us off from our apartment. He was very friendly and handled everything for us. We just had to sit back and enjoy. The Giverny gardens are a must see. The ride out to Giverny and through the town was enjoyable and picturesque as well. Access to the museum was a nice bonus but seeing the gardens was an absolute delight. Lunch was also very good and at cute restaurant along the river. The tour of Versailles was good too, our guide gave us tips on what to skip so we would have enough time seeing the more interesting items. Definitely save time to walk the grounds.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great experience! Our guide, Pablo, was very knowledgeable about French history. I learned a lot and enjoyed visiting both Giverny and Versailles.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I guess everyone needs to experience Versailles if you want to really understand French history... particularly the excesses and extravagances that led to the French Revolution. It truly is an amazing place and a work of art in itself. However, I never thought I would see a site more crowded than the Vatican Museums in Rome but Versailles might have done that. Our guide was excellent and we were actually lucky to visit in early May. We can't imagine what it's like in mid-summer. Giverny was wonderful and we were amazed at how the gardens, the pond, the water lilies and the house looked just like so many of Monet's famous paintings. The lunch at an old mill was also very good. Great tour and guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

An absolutely wonderful day. Our guide was courteous and prompt, with nothing being too much trouble.
His knowledge was exceptional, which made this an even more enjoyable day. The venue and meal for lunch was again top notch, making this without exception a wonderful end to our Europe adventure. A wonderful way to finish our holiday. John and Elizabeth Kirk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was awesome. We had a great english speaking tour guide "Louie". We were picked up at the hotel promptly and taken to a seperate entrance to Versailles--we skipped the line and there must have been at least 600 people on line already to buy tix. The Palace and Gardens were beautiful. We only had two hours there--so we did not see much of the outside. We were then taken to lunch at a beautiful rustic restaurant located on a small river. It was great and the food and wine were wonderful. We then went to Giverny which was totally awesome. We skipped the line and went across the road to the lily pond and streams first. I suggest you go in late April--everything was is full bloom. We then took a tour of the house and gardens across the streeet. Louis also told us the history of Versailles and Giverny while we were in transit--it is at least an hour and half ride outside of Paris. We were then taken back to our hotel. It was a lovely day trip and I recommend it highly. Louis our tour guide spoke english and was a pleasure to have with us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A wonderful experience. The driver was very nice, knew the history of the area and gave us plenty of time at each venue. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide. He was very very nice and very helpful I want to commend these to everybody nice trip beautiful experience thx Fred

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent guide and very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent as good as I hoped. Fred was a wonderful driver and guide. The transport and tickets were provided yet we were not on. "Tour " ,we explored Giverny and Versailles on our own. I would use Viator again.

Victor B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

3 Star Better to do them seperatly as the Palace is alive with people and this day trip does not give you priority for the palace, so you are stuck in long lines of people without time to see anything.

5 Star Don't miss Giverny and find an all day trip to enjoy the counrty side if your travel time permits.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Cecilia, our guide picked us up right in front of our hotel. Only seven of us in the group, transported in a comfortable van. Excellent job of filling the travel time with facts and points of interest along the road trip.

The gardens at Giverny were lovely, even this late in the season (late Sept.).The grounds at Versailles were incredible as was the self-guided inside tour. But for us, the arranged lunch at the little Inn was a high point. Beautiful setting in the French countryside, good food, good wine, good company - couldn't ask for more.

This a a full day trip, but highly recommended.

Dominic Y
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Versailles is very good, and the garden would have been more colorful had we visited it in spring or summer instead of late autumn, plus we had previously visited it some years back. But Monet's Garden at Giverny was beautiful. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

OMG this tour was fantastic! The your guide was funny and provided just enough history to keep the car ride fun, he left us to our own devices in Giverny and Versailles, which was perfect because we got to explore on our own, I wish we had more time in Versailles but overall extremely worth it!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a full day and being picked up and dropped off at our hotel was a real plus. Giverny is absolutely beautiful, such a wonderful place. Versailles is interesting to see, wouldn't go back but glad we saw it. Our driver, Fred, was great. Funny, personable, knowledgeable and really made the day fun and special. Lunch was at a lovely restaurant between Giverny and Versailles. Getting out of the city and seeing the beautiful countryside is a great way to spend a day. We were back in Paris early enough to still do some more sightseeing and have a nice evening.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Nice small group. A long day, but it was worth it. Visiting Monet's house was very special. Versailles was incredible. Our 3 course lunch at the restaurant was very pleasant. A lovely day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A great experience. Small group is nice and no waiting around. Our guide was perfect - gave us info and then let us explore on our own so we didn't have to follow him around all day! Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Paris. Our tour guide, Manuel, was truly wonderful -- funny, knowledgeable, and a terrific driver! At Giverny, we had plenty of time to wander through the garden, house, and village. The setting for lunch was so peaceful, and we had a chance to chat with our fellow tour members. On the way to Versailles, Manuel took some side roads and showed us some amazing cave dwellings. Also, he gave us excellent advice about what to focus on at Versailles in order to not be overwhelmed. Being picked-up and dropped-off at our hotel was a great feature too. The entire day was delightful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The trip and the guide were exceptional. Versaille is a trip I would skip due to the crowds of people and the pushing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Giverny was the high point of our 7-day trip to Paris! I have been to Paris twelve times, but never to Giverny. I was astounded by its beauty, never having seen so many fabulous, artfully grouped flowers in one place before. Our guide was personable and very well versed, a pleasure. Being in a small group is very pleasant. I recommend this tour very highly. Versailles is very impressive, but don't miss Giverny - with this tour you can do both in the same day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour, highlight of our trip to Paris.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were picked up on time at our hotel by a charming guide that was very informative. The first stop was Versailles and even though there was a long line we were whisked in quickly to enjoy the tour. Since we wanted to spend most of our time in the garden the hand-held audio guides worked well for us. As the tour before lunch was EXCELLENT, a most welcome surprise! Giverny was crowded! I would recommend going at a different time of the year. However, the flowers were beautiful. It was a pleasant stressless way to see and visit two sights in one day. If we come to Paris next year, I plan on using Viator again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our trip to Giverny was really a highlight of the three weeks we spent in Europe. We traveled by van directly from our hotel in central Paris with 2 other couples and a great guide who was knowledgeable and interesting. It is easy to see why Monet was such a great painter...he had a great garden in which to immerse himself. Versailles cannot be seen properly in only a few hours so that was a bit disappointing, but that was all the time available. A highlight was the gallery containing numerous large paintings of the historic battles in French history dating back to the 1300s. We enjoyed an excellent lunch along the way at a quaint water mill inn.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Another great day, lovey guide

From USD $ 252.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2050PLUSGE_GV

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message