4.5 star rating: Recommended 554 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  12 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 554 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great way to see the French country side, pasting towns, walking though villages and beautiful gardens; while hearing about all the history of the three castles.
We had lunch at Cheverny, farm fresh and cooked on site. The roast was magnificent and local wine, may have been the best I experience in France.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I loved this trip to the Loire valley. I particularly loved Cheverny. It was decorated with so many antiques and beautiful, fresh bunches of flowers. We bought a delicious lunch at the cafe at Cheverny. Overall, it was a marvellous day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well organized; nice bus; very good, informative guide; nice selection of chateaux. A very nice day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our trip was fantastic! Our guide Cécile (hopefully that's how you spell her name) was sooo informative and well educated about all the chateaus, and she spoke perfect and clear english. The tour was amazing!!! My favourite castle by far was Chenonceau, you cannot miss it it's beautiful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This turned out to be a good trip, despite a very bad start. Our coach did which was due at 0700 did not arrive until 0815 leaving us standing on the sidewalk for close on two hours - since we had been told to arrive at least a half hour before the due time. Our coach was comfortable and clean but I cannot understand why reclining seats are fitted to coaches when there is really no room. The recliner inevitably invades the space of the person behind. The chateaux were very interesting and our guide was very good with good English. A pity about the Total Service Station which was our first refreshment stop - a poor place.Loads of self service coffee machines - most of which were not working and the attendant disappeared as soon as the crowd arrived. I'm sure here must be better locations on the route. But, overall, it was a good trip and can easily be recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very good tours of three famous Loire Chateaus, plus several chateaus are visible along the route. On Summer Sundays the traffic is heavy coming back to Paris. The tour was close to 13 1/2 hours long.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

loved loved loved it- didn't have to worry about a thing- just showed up and enjoyed it all

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Once again, a rainy day in Paris, but an excellent tour. My favorite parts were sampling apple juice at Chambord during my free time, everything about Chenonceau (including excellent places to eat and lots of time to roam and explore) and the hounds and gardens of Cheverny. Chenonceau is beautiful without comparison. It's one of those "disney castles" if you will. Cheverny also had some beautiful greenery with gorgeous rose gardens and super cute donkeys!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Too good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. Very good guide, full of interesting history and information. Well worth taking.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We loved the castles, but we could barely understand the guide, her French accent was so strong that it almost seemed like she spoke in French, instead of English.
The tour was well-paced, although we could have used a little more time at Cheverny, the castles were well-picked, each one was different, and we were lucky to have excellent weather.

SL
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My favorite was Chambord, even though I wish there were more times to explore the back part of the Chateau and the 2nd was Chenonceau. I am not realy into the gardens but my picctures turned out great and gladly to share with my mother and sibling. Last, Cheverny was okay, didn't have enough time to roam around but this one was alright.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent guide, the visit are not too long, and suited the all family .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Make sure you tell everyone that at 2:00 the French take a break and shut down. That makes lunch difficult in the town.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well organized, interesting, comfortable, fun tour with a personable, knowledgeable young lady as guide. Bus driver also professional and careful on the narrow village roads. I would highly recommend this tour (though lunch is not included and time was limited to really sit for a meal in the nearby café). I plan to take another Viator tour next time I visit France.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

very good, We saw 3 castles and they were magnificent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

great tour with a great guide in a great vehicle - a bit long though

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic tour. We had a glitch at the first chateau with their semi-annual fire "drill" taking place as soon as we got inside and everyone had to go out but it was over quickly and we continued with the tour. Each Chateau was different and gorgeous and our tour guide, Stephanie, was excellent and well-informed. She also talked about the beautiful french countryside as we drove along. A truly wonderful with with beautiful places to see and lots of history to learn. I loved every minute of this tour.

Mario S
Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A great day trip out of Paris. We got to enjoy the provincial countryside, as well as extensive visits to three Castles of the Loire region. The tour guides provided a continuous commentary during the trip, as well as detailed information once inside the Castles. Not to be missed!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The castles were beautiful, it was an exclusive trip. Since they took you on a bus it was comfy and convenient. Chenonceau was the best with the best castle and gardens. The cafe next to chenonceau was delicious. They give you about an hour after the tour to explore the gardens and eat lunch which was enough time for us. Gorgeous castles, knowledgeable guides, convenient transportation, and yummy food, truly one of our best days of vacation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Comfortable bus trip, good guide and well organised day. Chateaus were great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful tour of story-book like castles. Great day trip from Paris. Well organized and a comfortable ride.
There is not that much free time- maybe about 30 min to wander on your own for each castle, but for a quick trip, it is worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Nice trip. Castles are beautiful, but most beautiful Chenonceau.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had a wonderful day touring 3 terrific castles. The group was small, (12), and friendly. The tour bus very comfy with lounging and group seating in the back. The tour guide was great and knowledgable. The day was long but well planned with a bit of rest transporting between each castle.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Long day but worth it. tour guides were great - very prompt, everything ran like clock work !

Special Offer
$178.25 Save $17.83

From USD $ 160.42

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2050CL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message