4.5 star rating: Recommended 105 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Duration:12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Loire Valley Castles Small Group Day Trip from Paris by Minivan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 105 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great experience. If you are visiting Paris you should spare at least one day to visit the Loire valley. The guide was very nice and had lots of good information about the castles and the history of France in general. I definitely recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

I would recommend this small group day trip. Smaller groups make the experience more personal. Visiting Ambroise Castle sitting high above the city was a memorable and beautiful experience. Moving on to DeVinci's home for the last three years of his life and the grounds surrounding the home was very interesting as well. The Castle Chenonceau built over a river was a wonderful experience and the lunch at the Orangerie on the grounds of this castle was very good. Our group of eight sat together at lunch. By the end of our tour, we all felt like family. It was a great time had by all. I would absolutely recommend this tour. It was well worth the money. The history was great. Our guide was very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

This tour was a great and interesting way to see a different part of France other than Paris. All of the places that we were taken to were vary interesting and our guide Pablo was extremely informative and enthusiastic. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Paris who wants to see a different region of the country.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

This is a not miss tour. Tour guide was exceptional.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This is a definite must do on any trip to Paris. The castles are beautiful the teachings about Leonardo da Vinci and the Kings of France are so informative Anyone going to Paris should take this tour

Debra P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

very good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

I have taken many tours. This was one of the best. The bus was very comfortable, the driver excellent, and our guide was fabulous!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

We had a large group, 11 people, and Viator was very accommodating. Instead of sending a minivan to pick us up, a bus was sent so we could all travel together. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and extremely nice. I wish we had a little more time at some of the locations, but it was understandable since we had such a packed day. Lunch was great, the wine cave was interesting and of course all the chateaus were beautiful. Overall, this day trip was a success with our whole group.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Honore was a very informed and personable guide. The vehicle was immaculate and he was a good driver. The tours of the three chateaux were all wonderful, and the meal was delicious. The only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars is because we felt a bit rushed in order to get everything in. Honore encouraged us to check out the winery and was then a bit miffed because we went in and had a short tasting and he felt this delayed us. However, we arrived back in Paris at the stated time. I would recommend Honore and this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The trip was of enchantment and wonder. All the chateau were beautiful and the grounds were well kept. Lunch was good and the setting great.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tripwas as described. The driver arrived within a few minutes of the pick up time. The lunch included with the tour was much better than expected and in a lovely private room. Each stop gave us plenty of time to see the château. Would have liked more time to see Amboise but not possible. Next

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Just spent a half hour writing a review and your stupid system lost it. Suffice it to say we had a good time and would recommend this trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was great! The tour guide, Pablo was very knowledgeable. Plus, I really appreciated his punctuality especially since I had to be picked up at 6:50 a.m. the day after I arrived in Paris and was jet lagged. The only negative was the lunch. It was a bit lacking considering I was in France, but overall it was no big deal. Too I know this was not the usual place they take people to for lunch. I loved the three castles on the tour Amboise, Chenonceau and Chambord. I would do this tour again or something similar to see other castles.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Great tour-- the castles were lovely. Chenonceau was a favorite-- too bad the restaurant was closed. The alternate restaurant chosen was not great by any means. Our driver was also the tour guide--definitely not ideal as it was distracting to speak and drive. Drove way too fast-- scary!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We are very happy that we chose this tour. We saw all the places we hoped to see and had a lovely lunch. The group size was ideal, only 7 people. I have only one suggestion. While our guide was knowledgeable, his commentary was all delivered before we entered each chateau. I would have really liked it if he came inside with us and pointed out highlights or if audio headphones were provided.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Excellent outing! Very interesting and well organised!

Mirz
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Our mini van was full, but driver was prompt and informative. Beautiful chateaus to visit. Did a Lot of walking, for sure. Only downside was the lunch could have been at a better quality restaurant.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Manuel was great. loved this tour. highlight of trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

The castles were fun to see. After the first castle, I was very nervous that we had been ripped off but the next two gave us a good idea of the range of conditions that the castles are in. It was interesting to see where Leonardo Da Vinci is buried.

inails
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Great variety of castles included in the tour, very enjoyable day trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Spectacular...tour guide very knowledgeable and pleasant. Guided provided enough history for each to peak our interest.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

This was quite a good tour but was a very long day. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing the 3 castles and thought we were given just the right amount of time to explore each. Lunch was included in the price and was quite good. It was a small group of 8 which was nice, the guide was professional and knowledgable.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Really enjoyable tours of all the castles, which were phenomenal to visit, plus lunch at Chenonceaux was delicious! However, we were told when booking with Viator that this tour included a visit to Da Vinci's house -- in fact, we chose this tour specifically for that, only to find out on the van that it was not included, after all. This was very disappointing, since it was one of the main places my husband, a professional inventor, was looking forward to seeing. Viator needs to update its tour information as to what is and is not included.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

We thouroghly enjoyed this tour. The countryside is gorgeous and the castles impressive. I was disappointed that there were not many furnishings in the castles but they were still worthwile seeing, as well as their gardens. Our guide Flore was very friendly, incredilbly knowledgable about french history, and really brought out group together so we were all best friends by the end of the tour. I am also a handicapped traveller that uses a wheelchair and Flores went way above and beyond to make sure I had as much access to mostly inaccessible castles as possible. She really made this trip an wonderful experience instead of a disappointment. The lunch was also heavenly!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Pick was within the nominated range. Driver/guide was professional, knowledgeable and courteous. It's a full on traveling day but it was most enjoyable.

From USD $ 283.48

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2050PLUSCW

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message