4.5 star rating: Recommended 93 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Loire Valley Castles Small Group Day Trip from Paris by Minivan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 93 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was great! The tour guide, Pablo was very knowledgeable. Plus, I really appreciated his punctuality especially since I had to be picked up at 6:50 a.m. the day after I arrived in Paris and was jet lagged. The only negative was the lunch. It was a bit lacking considering I was in France, but overall it was no big deal. Too I know this was not the usual place they take people to for lunch. I loved the three castles on the tour Amboise, Chenonceau and Chambord. I would do this tour again or something similar to see other castles.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Great tour-- the castles were lovely. Chenonceau was a favorite-- too bad the restaurant was closed. The alternate restaurant chosen was not great by any means. Our driver was also the tour guide--definitely not ideal as it was distracting to speak and drive. Drove way too fast-- scary!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We are very happy that we chose this tour. We saw all the places we hoped to see and had a lovely lunch. The group size was ideal, only 7 people. I have only one suggestion. While our guide was knowledgeable, his commentary was all delivered before we entered each chateau. I would have really liked it if he came inside with us and pointed out highlights or if audio headphones were provided.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Excellent outing! Very interesting and well organised!

Mirz
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Our mini van was full, but driver was prompt and informative. Beautiful chateaus to visit. Did a Lot of walking, for sure. Only downside was the lunch could have been at a better quality restaurant.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Manuel was great. loved this tour. highlight of trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

The castles were fun to see. After the first castle, I was very nervous that we had been ripped off but the next two gave us a good idea of the range of conditions that the castles are in. It was interesting to see where Leonardo Da Vinci is buried.

inails
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Great variety of castles included in the tour, very enjoyable day trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Spectacular...tour guide very knowledgeable and pleasant. Guided provided enough history for each to peak our interest.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

This was quite a good tour but was a very long day. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing the 3 castles and thought we were given just the right amount of time to explore each. Lunch was included in the price and was quite good. It was a small group of 8 which was nice, the guide was professional and knowledgable.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Really enjoyable tours of all the castles, which were phenomenal to visit, plus lunch at Chenonceaux was delicious! However, we were told when booking with Viator that this tour included a visit to Da Vinci's house -- in fact, we chose this tour specifically for that, only to find out on the van that it was not included, after all. This was very disappointing, since it was one of the main places my husband, a professional inventor, was looking forward to seeing. Viator needs to update its tour information as to what is and is not included.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

We thouroghly enjoyed this tour. The countryside is gorgeous and the castles impressive. I was disappointed that there were not many furnishings in the castles but they were still worthwile seeing, as well as their gardens. Our guide Flore was very friendly, incredilbly knowledgable about french history, and really brought out group together so we were all best friends by the end of the tour. I am also a handicapped traveller that uses a wheelchair and Flores went way above and beyond to make sure I had as much access to mostly inaccessible castles as possible. She really made this trip an wonderful experience instead of a disappointment. The lunch was also heavenly!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Pick was within the nominated range. Driver/guide was professional, knowledgeable and courteous. It's a full on traveling day but it was most enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Picked us up right at the hotel, super nice and very knowledgable tour guide. Nice itinerary with plenty of time to see everything. The lunch spot was perfect as well.

Brian M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Not a guided tour and 1 hour at each castle was not enough, if you got the electronic guide there was not sufficient time to listen to all the information.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

We were disappointed that the guide was predominantly a driver. He provided some history during our transport to the Chateaus but merely gave us our entry tickets and left us at the entrance. I had been sick from food poisoning and when we asked for our lunch selection I indicated that I only wanted tea and nothing to eat as I wasn't feeling well. After not having to be fed, I was then charged for my tea. The other members of our group had coffee after lunch as did the driver. They were charged for the coffee and the driver stuck the group for his coffee as well. Sites were very interesting but very cold in the winter weather.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Driver/guide was very pleasant and knowledgeable. My one regret was that we were not given enough time at each castle, but with the drive time from Paris it probably would need to be a two day trip to be able to stay longer.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Wonderfull to visit where DaVinci lived and worked. To see his drawings made into working models was sensational. The next castle at Ceananceau (') was very nice as was the lunch in the Orangerie Restaurant. Chambord was big and a bit boring although interesting from the exterior.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

The castles were lovely and the tour guide was very knowledgeable. The lunch was very nice as well. It would have been nice to have had a little more time at the castles and for the price, an audio guided tour included.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

A very enjoyable day in the Loire Valley. It's an expensive tour, but also a very nice one. There were only 3 people on our tour which was brilliant.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very enjoyable trip. Our guide, Anna, was amazing; great info about history and the region.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

If you want an introduction to two of the most famous castles of the Loire Valley (Chambord and Chenonceau), then this is the trip for you. The only part of the trip I found disappointing was Amboise. It's mostly a quick tour through Clos Luce (the residence where Leonardo spent the remaining years of his life). Otherwise, the tour guide (driver) was great. The scenery was beautiful; and, all in all, it was a nice day trip away from Paris.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Palaces were great, da Vinci's house was interesting. On-time hotel pick-up was fantastic, with small manageable group size. Transport clean and modern, well-informed guide who spoke excellent English. Would have liked to go into Chambord (even if just very briefly ,as it is apparently mostly vacant) rather than just look through the gates. Booking confirmations were fantastic to receive prior to departing home.

Janine D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

An exceptional day - lovely lunch included. You are left on your own to explore so if you prefer guided tours then this is not for you.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

I thought that we would be touring Chambord according to the description but we only stopped far away for a photo. We could not even see the entire Chateau. However, we saw Leonardo DaVinci's residence. Lunch at the the Orangerie at Chenenceaux was wonderful. The day started off badly after the Chambord situtation and I thought we were going to get shortchanged. However at the end of the day my group decided that throwing in Leonardo' s residence actually was a good thing. Three castles in one day plus over six hours of driving is a lot.

From USD $ 279.14

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2050PLUSCW

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message