4.5 star rating: Recommended 641 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  14 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mont Saint Michel Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 641 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a great experience. I'd been to Mont Saint Michel a few times but it was the first time for my wife, and this was something she'd wanted to do for years. We met at the Viator tour office near the Louvre at 6:45 on a Saturday morning. At check-in we were told that we would get on the bus in thirty minutes, so we walked across the street to a nice cafe for some coffee and pain chocolate. Promptly at 7:15 we were on the bus and soon underway. NOTE: DO NOT TAKE THE SEATS IMMEDIATELY IN FRONT OF THE BACK EXIT. We learned that lesson the hard way. Those seats don't recline and as soon as the people in front us violently reclined their seats, we were squashed flat. Our guide, Emilia, was terrific and thoroughly knowledgeable about the history of Normandy and the abbey at Mont St. Michel. It was a very long day but well worth it. Be prepared to climb a lot of stairs. According to my fitbit, we climbed 50 FLIGHTs of stairs, approximately 500 feet. We got to Mont Saint Michel around 11:30 and immediately had lunch at a restaurant at the foot of the causeway leading to the island. It had a great view of the abbey. Lunch was quite good, though I'm a bit underwhelmed by the appetizer. We were back at the bus at 4:30 in the afternoon and were back in Paris around 9:15. There was a 30-minute rest stop both going to and coming back from the destination. All it all, it was a great outing and well-worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We'll worth the time, guide was very informative. Lunch was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was such a nice trip. The bus ride was enjoyable and the tour guide was so good. We really enjoyed this trip. Very much worth the price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a wonderful tour. The interior of this monastery feels serene and provides the visitor with a unique spiritual experience not to be forgotten.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very nice lunch, spectacular day out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great experience and fun trip. Very knowledgeable guides. I really enjoyed the drive up there through beautiful Normandy and the bus was very comfortable. Highly recommend and can't wait to go again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

WOW....... This was a great, great tour. The expert complimentary was fantastic and expert level, and the tour was in depth and well worth the four bus trip from Paris. The one thing is that you need to be fit to attempt this as there is over 300 steps and a decent incline to get to the top. But well worth it. Stunning views, great architecture, fascinating history. WOW

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent day out with good lunch and great guide. Had time to look around afterwards before catching the bus back

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful experience! We paid to get picked up from the hotel and they came about 15 mins late but we got to the agency very quickly therefore had no issues. Their tours are very organized from check in to their buses to their timing. Our tour guide was very nice and spoke fluent English and that made it even better. The bus ride is very long almost 5 hrs each way but the scenery definitely helps. Lunch was provided and quite honestly the omelette was nasty but the rest of the food was OK. Despite the lunch not being good I still believe it was a great trip because Mont Saint Michel is breath taking, it was part of my bucket list and well worth it. Be prepared to walk a lot and climb a lot of stairs and most importantly to bring very comfortable shoes. ;)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic outing, well worth the day trip! Mont St Michel was awesome! Tour guide was at times difficult to understand with her heavy French accent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a long trip (4.5 hrs from Paris including the rest stop). Also, the level of activity to climb up to the top definitely not moderate. But the breathtaking views made the entire experience unique. Unless you combine this trip with another excursion in Normandy, I can not justify an overnight. The luncheon at the restaurant was good but hardly memorable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing place. Looks surreal when u first see it. Lunch served was excellent. There was a chicken option. Best meal we had in France. Abbey tour was full of information
And great. A long ride but totally worth it! A definite must see while in France!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Highly recommended. Long bus trip - but worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Must see!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip is well organized with scheduled stops, lunch, and the walking tour. This is a spectacular landmark . . . a recommended visit and work the bus ride.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This full day tour was fascinating. It seemed like it would be a tiring day, but the bus was comfortable and rest stops were timely. The tour up to the top of the Abbey was a bit long; the warning about walking should be heeded. I enjoyed the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Outstanding guide. Delicious lunch with a view. The location speaks for itself. Trés bon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

very good organised

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was recommended to us by a friend. This is an old abbey and is absolutely massive. It is built on a marsh, which they are in the process of shoring up, and is a two hour drive from Paris. Lunch is included. When we arrived, the tour takes about 3 hours. If I have one suggestion it would be to prepare visitors for, not only the walking, but the number of steps to the top of this massive structure. There are something like 8000 stair steps, all out of rough stone, and very few handrails. Despite my palms being tender from holding on to the stone walls, I made it all the way to the top and all the way down and every room in between with only having to stop once. I had to move at my own pace (have a slight disability) and the drawback was that I soon got out of range of the radio that the tour guide had and so did not hear any of the history other than what I could pick up from other tour guides as I went along. But the view is incredible and it is awesome to think that such a massive structure could all be built by hand and still be standing. I thought this was well worth the money and the time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Mont St Michel day trip was spectacular although my wife and I are in the older generation we still managed to et to the top (about 1112 steps) but it was worth it, I totally believe that this was one of the best days we had and would recommend it to anyone (you don't have to go to the top) there was so much to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent trip. Wonderful lunch in the relais. Everything worked out well.
Pickup time at our hotel was of concern as I wasn't able to contact anyone on the Friday and Saturday before our Monday morning departure. Finally got someone Sunday in the late afternoon and got the information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very well-run tour from Paris to Mont St Michel. Bus was very comfortable (even a double decker!) which was helpful as it was 4 hours away. Our guide Anne was wonderful - gave a great tour of the Abbey and answeried all our questions. Lunch was nice at a lovely restaurant with great views of the island. Our second tour through Viator and would recommend them for any day trip in Europe!

SL
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is an outstanding excursion! I wish it was longer since it already took us 3 hours to get there and another 3 hours to return.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Such a pleasant day trip! The guides were friendly and willing to answer any questions. Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth the trip from Paris. Checked this off of my bucket list!

From USD $ 192.37

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2050MS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message