• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 986 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Normandy D-Day Battlefields and Beaches Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 986 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The good news is that this is a fabulous tour and worth the money. The lunch in Caen was wonderful and the tour guides were very good and informative. The bad news is everyone got on the bus on time except two people. The tour guides decided to wait for them which put us behind by 40 minutes. I did not think it was fair for the rest of the tour members, who arrived way on time, to have to wait for these people. I know because of the wait that we lost some time at one of the stops. It was probably at the Normandy American Cemetery. We only had one hour there. We never made it into the museum or down to Omaha beach because we just didn't have enough time. We could have skipped Juno beach to be honest.
I give this tour five stars for the actual tour but waiting for two people who didn't figure out in advance where to pick up the bus should not happen. The check in time was 6:30am for a 7:00am departure and these people were an hour late for the check in. I called the phone number to make sure I knew where to
pick up the bus. I did my homework. Please...don't let the tour guides do that again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A must do for every American

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a great tour! Enjoyed it! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. Would recommend it! Normandy is a must! Countryside is beautiful

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

If you are looking to see Normandy from Paris in a day, you can't beat this. It's a long day, but worth it.

We had a knowledgeable guide that provided useful commentary for those not steeped in the background of the invasion. Plenty of time at the Caen WWII museum and American cemetery. The battlefield visits were fairly short but very meaningful. Certainly enough time to get a good perspective and take some pictures.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Awesome day. Great lunch, well narrated and covered lots of ground. Felt a little rushed at a few stops....would have liked to have had a little more time but understand the need to keep things (and a group) moving given the many stops. The 30 minute stop on the way back could have been about 15 minutes. Picked up by vans and taken to central location. Little lengthy in the morning, not bad in the PM but only because i was pretty adamant about getting returned after I saw all the vans depart and my group was not assigned to one. When I tossed Viators name into the discussion (and Virtuoso-my planner) i got pretty prompt attention.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Where do I begin? This tour was incredible! Our tour guide, Leila, was fascinating, very well-informed, and brought the entire experience to life. The museum was an unexpected experience, very well presented and was a great introduction to the WWII experience. We visited several beaches as well as the American Cemetery, which was sobering and fascinating at the same time. We had a delightful lunch at the restaurant chosen for the group. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was wonderful. Had a great tour guide.....Make sure you have a tissue when you go there. Normandy is a must if you get to France and can get a tour. I would recommend the 8 person tour. Had a great lunch too.
I have never been disappointed with any of the Viator tours.. jmc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was all good. The guide. The bus transportation. The pick up/drop off at our hotel. The weather. The sites at Normandy and the beaches. A must see for all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide Harvey was extremely knowledgeable and described not only the events of D-day but also on the behinds the scenes political and personal interactions between Roosevelt, Churchill, Eisenhower, de Gaulle and other major figures of WWII. He also talked about the history of the region which really gave us a better understanding of the people of Normandy and France. Harvey made the tour a rich and memorable event.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Ian was an absolutely perfect tour guide in every way. He provided extensive information and somehow seemed to know exactly when to leave us on our own to experience this emotional place of our history. Paying the extra money for the 8-passenger van tour was worth every extra penny. The place where we ate lunch was off the beaten path and delicious with a beautiful presentation. Thank you, Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

needed more time at omaha and less time eating, less time at museum............well organzied

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fabulous trip. Two big thumbs up. Adrian, our guide, was awesome. Very informative. Visiting the D-Day beaches and US cemetery were amazing. Very thought provoking. Plus you get to see Paris and the French countryside while traveling to and from Normandy Expensive but well worth it. .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Don't miss this one. If you are a WW2 this is an incredible day. Very poignant standing on these beaches.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fabulous! The entire day was incredible, guide was great, lunch at the old chateau was more than expected.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had fabulous time and our guide/driver was prefect. We would highly recommend this tour and it's great lunch.

I was thinking about obtaining a map or list of all the cities we went through and the restaurant name. We were so into the land scape, etc. we forgot to write down the cities and restaurant name. If you could have
Our drive supply the information it would be much appreciated.

Larry Sommers

From USD $ 240.89

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2050NP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message