4.5 star rating: Recommended 1135 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Normandy D-Day Battlefields and Beaches Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1135 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was great. I would recommend the small group tour to anyone. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and the lunch was great

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was well worth the time and the money. When we first arrived at the bus loading area it was quite busy and crowded and I was concerned. However, once we were on the bus, it was comfortable, clean and not overly crowded. I suggest that you bring along a light breakfast to eat on the bus, but limit your liquids. It was a long drive to the first stop at the Normandy museum and there were no stops on that trip. I think it took about 2 and a half hours to get there. Once we arrived at the museum we were given 2 hours tour and then we were to meet for lunch at 11:45 for lunch. The museum was crowded and it took a long time to see the exhibits. We had to rush through the end to get to lunch on time. After lunch we went back the bus to visit the beaches. We were given ample time at Pointe du Hoc and at the American Cemetery at Omaha Beach. However we only had about 15 minutes at the last two beaches. This might have been because not everyone got back on time at the first two stops. I did have to ask that the bus driver make it cooler on the trip home. The bus had been sitting in the hot sun and it had warmed up considerably inside. After the AC was turned on I noticed that the bus exhaust smell lessened as well. On the trip back we made one stop at a truck stop. It took about 3 hours for the entire trip home. Our tour guide was pleasant and spoke English well. She was knowledgeable about the events surrounding DDay and share just the right information at just the right time. It was a long day, but a memorable experience. I was greatly moved by the men who bravely fought on those beaches some 70 years ago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great experience. The tour guides were both very knowledgable about the history of normandy. It was well worth the time needed to visit. They gave us enough time at every beach and museum to enjoy and take in the history. I would recommend this tour and company to all my friends. Keep up the good work and looking forward to future tours around the world with your company.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

By far- one of the best tours I've ever been on!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was everything I had hoped for!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guide was very knowledgeable and extremely pleasant. She was right on time and we were able to visit all the Landing sites. Particularly impressive was where the Rangers landed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guide was very knowledgeable and extremely pleasant. She was right on time and we were able to visit all the Landing sites. Particularly impressive was where the Rangers landed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very nice tour, but a couple hours too long for me. I did enjoy experiencing the battlefields and cemetery and seeing more of that area of France. makes me want to go back and visit longer. If you can sleep on a bus, it would be perfect. I was very tired the next day, but probably just jet lag. definitely, would recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were in France for a month and the trip to Normandy was the highlite of the trip. The tour left on time, the guide was excellent, we saw everything we wanted and more. There was also enough time alloted to explore each stop. I will definetly recommend Viator to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great Day . Bus broke down and we walked into Omaha Beach and had to stay for several hours . All in All it was a moving day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Used Paris hotel pickup option to avoid hassle of finding Viator departure point so early in the morning. Nice, modern bus helped us survive the 14-hour day. Included lunch at mid-day and time to explore the impressive ( and sad) WW II museum on our own. No remaining war artifacts at beaches, other than German bunkers. Cemetery very awe-inspiring. Great snacks at rest stop on the way back. Guide Dominique spoke good English - gave excellent historical narrative while en route - then allowed free time at the sites. This Viator highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide lead us through a wonderful day full of history. He was knowledgeable and relaxed making it a completely enjoyable day. There was plenty of time at each stop to explore. Our only complaint was the ride there, we had the most back seats and they are NOT comfortable or get any air flow. However, we did like the small group intimacy. It was one of those amazing great weather days as well. Driver drove safe and was on time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Quite a bit to cover in one day!! But if that's all you have it was an excellent tour hitting all the major spots. The museum was excellent and the quick stops along the beaches were perfect on a very windy day! The cemetery was absolutely beautiful and a must see! We were gone about 13 hours but a great tour guide and very comfortable bus. . . Don't hesitate. . . Do it!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fine overview of three of the five D-Day beaches. The American Cemetery at Omaha Beach is stunning and a fitting memory to our fallen soldiers. Pont du Hoc is amazing to see, trying to figure out how the Rangers made it up the sheer cliff (answer: fine training, focused determination and sense of mission, besides an abundance of courage and bravery). The Museum was a fine start to the actual site visits.

Fulfilled a bucket list item. I'm glad my wife and I did this, and the tour enhanced our experience. Just enough time at each site to drink in the enormity of the tasks that faced the troops.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a great experience! We were picked up at the hotel and taken back to the hotel after trip. It was moving and learned a lot.

Special Offer
$221.53 Save $26.59

From USD $ 194.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2050NP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message