5 star rating: Highly Recommended 268 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 268 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide was a delightful Australian with degrees in history, particularly focused on Paris. It was terrifically informative. My one caveat -- bring your own good flashlight or use the one on the I-phone. The stairs at the end of the trip meant walking up 122 steps, narrow and twisty.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was fantastic. Our tour guide, Adam, was a really friendly and approachable guy, with tons of interesting information to share about the history of Paris and its catacombs. He also made the tour very enjoyable overall, by keeping things interesting and entertaining with his quirky personality. The tour itself was really great, there are a lot of subtle details that you'd definitely miss if you did the catacombs on your own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Was apprehensive since my wife is claustrophobic, but absolutely no issues. Passages are actually quite spacious, and our guide very knowledgable. Facinating tour and well blended monologue as to history, uses and how the "bones" were placed. If you're cold natured, take a jacket as temperatures are cool. Really need to experience the catacombes and this small group tour was amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Very cool and creepy too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Skip the line, yes! thank you! as the lines were very long and only a certain amount of people are aloud in the catacombes at any given time. Very interesting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

I wasn't sure about this tour but I am glad we did it. The tour guide was incredible in her knowledge and we learned so much. I would recommend doing a guided tour when seeing the catacombes as there is so much history behind it that you would miss if you went by yourself. Skipping the line was great as there was a 2 hour wait. Well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Incredible tour! Definitely worth buying a ticket ahead of time as the line was 4 hours long. One of the best things we did in Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic place to visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the highlight of my trip in Paris. We had some issues initially when I booked this because the date I had booked 3 months earlier was cancelled. The company got in touch with me and made accommodations immediately for the day before which was fine by us. I arrived early and saw a line that definitely looked like it was 2 hours long. We met up with our guide who paid for our tickets in and we skipped the line without having to wait the nearly 2 hours line in the cold. Our guide was fantastic and told such wonderful stories about the history that even people who were not with the tour group were trying to stay with us while we walked underground with our guide. Loved Loved the catacombes and would highly recommend this. If you have very little time in Paris like we did.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was great; interesting and informative but got off to a bad start when guide was late. Considering I received at least five emails telling me the tour had been moved forward by half an hour, it seemed strange that no one had thought to inform the guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent tour! Our guide, Alberto, was well informed and funny. Skipping the line was a +++

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great guide, very small group, extremely interesting tour experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent. Really informative guide and very interesting tour. Reccommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Amazing tour! Tyler was our guide and he was extremely interesting. He really gave us an idea of how awful life was for the average person here in Paris years agao.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent! Our guide really knew his history and was very informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The Tour was great the guide was awesome, well worth taking.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

An important part of Paris history that shouldn't be missed. Although the idea of seeing human remains might sound a little bit on the creepy side it really was an amazing thing to see. You will want to use the "Skip the Line" as the line up around the block was quite long.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great guide and very exciting and interesting experience. I am so glad we did the tour, instead of waiting on long lines.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Tour was awesome, The Guide was lovely and gave us a good few titbits of information about the Catacombs and the history around them - would definitely recommend to a friend or family member who wanted to Visit the Catacombs.

Skipping the line really helped as well as the Line went right around the block to where the line started

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We went on a skip the line small group tour of the Paris Catacombs and Tyler was our guide. We found this to be one of the best things we did while in Paris and highly recommend. We also recommend bringing a small flashlight as it’s dark down there and sometimes a little slippery if the ground is wet. This helps you to see where you are going. It’s a long walk! We couldn’t believe how many skeletons were down there. Tyler was an excellent guide! The skip the line was so worth it since the line outside was wrapped around the block! Again, highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Fascinating and very unusual tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our tour guide Randa was very informative and personable. Even with a full group of people she made sure everyone could hear or see everything. For the catacombes I think if you don't do the tour there is not much point in going! The things I learnt on this tour were a revelation to me! Can definitely recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This was more than I expected. It was great to skip the line. The experience of being in the catacombs and coming so close to the remains of so many people that lived before was humbling. Our guide was very knowledgeable, interesting and fun. I would recommend this tour to anyone. It was one of the highlights of our two weeks in France.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was awesome and our tour guide was the best! Without the guide to really tell you all about the history behind it I don't think it would have been the same experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Signing up for a tour is the only way to go. The lines are huge, but taking a tour got you in the door early, with a very knowledgeable and fun guide who had lots of stories, and the small group size ensured that you were able to see everything. If you want to see the catacombs, this is the only way to do it!

From USD $ 65.55

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731CATACOMBS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message