4.5 star rating: Recommended 265 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 265 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This was more than I expected. It was great to skip the line. The experience of being in the catacombs and coming so close to the remains of so many people that lived before was humbling. Our guide was very knowledgeable, interesting and fun. I would recommend this tour to anyone. It was one of the highlights of our two weeks in France.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was awesome and our tour guide was the best! Without the guide to really tell you all about the history behind it I don't think it would have been the same experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Signing up for a tour is the only way to go. The lines are huge, but taking a tour got you in the door early, with a very knowledgeable and fun guide who had lots of stories, and the small group size ensured that you were able to see everything. If you want to see the catacombs, this is the only way to do it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Highly recommend this tour!! Laura our guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Found it very fascinating and interesting and probably was my favourite part of our Paris holiday. Thanks!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

I went on this tour because my husband was so excited for it. The only thing he wanted to do in Paris. I was a wee scared because it seemed pretty morbid to me, but our guide was amazing and totally worth paying extra to bypass the line. It was wrapped around the block! Once inside it was very interesting and didn't want to leave when the tour was done. I wanted more! Do not miss this;)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

our tour guide was great....im sorry dont remember her name. The only way to see the catacombs.....she explained the history of the catacombs and why they are so amazing. The day we went was in March and it was snowing. There was at least a 2 hour wait for the general public to get inside. Buy a tour.....and save your time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Both my friend and I really enjoyed the Paris catacombs tour the guide was very engagaing with the group and knowlegable , (I had done a lot of prereading re the history around the catacombs ) we also visited the Monteparnasse Cemetery prior to the tour into the catacombs .It was good not having to join the long line of people awaiting to get into teh catacombs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Found this tour very interesting, great insight into some Paris history. It was great not having to wait in lines, especially as it was very cold. Our tour guide Carolyn(English version) was very friendly and her English was perfect, easy to understand.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

My husband, 4 kids and I took this tour, and it was well worth the price! There was a huge line wrapped around the corner, and this is early March! The guide was excellent. She explained everything in detail and gave us enough time to tour. Very worthwile. I've been to Paris since I was 14 years old. I'm 48 now, and I never took this tour! My kids (aged11-19) really liked it!
Also, it really wasn't as creepy as I thought. Trying to decipher the Latin sayings was pretty fun, too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Tour guide Caroline was informative, friendly, courteous, witty...everything one might ask for! That alone is worth the price, and when you combine that with going straight in without waiting in line, it's what we Yanks call a no-brainer. An excellent tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This tour was really worth the money! Our guide was encyclopaedic in her knowledge, but interesting and friendly with it. I hadn't bargained on the scale of the catacombs or their history. My (reluctant) guests were also impressed. One was worried about claustrophobia, but found the catacombs to be spacious enough to be able to really enjoy the tour. I can thoroughly recommend this trip, although you may struggle if you have mobility issues (stairs at the beginning and end!). Tunnel paths are also quite slippery in places, so wear good footwear or you could end up crashing into stacks of bones!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Would not have understood what we were looking at without a guide plus really appreciated not having to wait in the 1 1/2 hour line outside. For us well worth the money spent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

So glad I booked this tour.. There was a long line that we didn't have to wait on, and we got so much more information than we would have without our guide. Alberto was awesome! The catacombs have a really interesting history and Alberto was very knowledgable and easy to follow. Great experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Awesome tour. Our guide was the best. She was so knowledgable of the history of Paris and gave a wonderful background for our tour. Well worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

We had a fantastic time on this tour, we were 2 of only 5 so was very personal. Our guide Alberto was very knowledgable on everything he told us and knew the answers to almost every possible question while bringing a good sense of humour to the trip, don't miss the chance to visit

From USD $ 61.81

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731CATACOMBS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message