5 star rating: Highly Recommended 293 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 293 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This tour was really worth the money! Our guide was encyclopaedic in her knowledge, but interesting and friendly with it. I hadn't bargained on the scale of the catacombs or their history. My (reluctant) guests were also impressed. One was worried about claustrophobia, but found the catacombs to be spacious enough to be able to really enjoy the tour. I can thoroughly recommend this trip, although you may struggle if you have mobility issues (stairs at the beginning and end!). Tunnel paths are also quite slippery in places, so wear good footwear or you could end up crashing into stacks of bones!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Would not have understood what we were looking at without a guide plus really appreciated not having to wait in the 1 1/2 hour line outside. For us well worth the money spent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

So glad I booked this tour.. There was a long line that we didn't have to wait on, and we got so much more information than we would have without our guide. Alberto was awesome! The catacombs have a really interesting history and Alberto was very knowledgable and easy to follow. Great experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Awesome tour. Our guide was the best. She was so knowledgable of the history of Paris and gave a wonderful background for our tour. Well worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

We had a fantastic time on this tour, we were 2 of only 5 so was very personal. Our guide Alberto was very knowledgable on everything he told us and knew the answers to almost every possible question while bringing a good sense of humour to the trip, don't miss the chance to visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

The guide was very knowledgable and patient with my questions. Highly reccommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Our tour guide was very knowledgable and helpful. Learned a lot about the history of the Catacombs.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Extremely interesting dont miss it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Brilliant tour, English speaking guide, definately pre book on a tour as the line to go in is insane...about 2 hours long! There are alot of stairs to get down and come back up so if you can't do stairs I wouldn't recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

It was awesome! Tour guid was nice and very informative. 83 stairs down to the start of the tour and then another 83 back to the streets. Other than that little workout nothing challenging about the tour. I don't get grossed out but the pictures you see on the catacombs are really what they look like. There's no smell or anything though and they have a venalation system running through the tunnels. If you're going to Paris I say put this on your list of to dos!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Unfortunately we were unable to take this tour because of flooding, Viator was great in getting our refund in a timely manner.

Dayanthi B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Guide was great, met some nice people in the group

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Awesome - very cool and spooky. Part of the exhibit was closed unfortunately as some skulls had collapsed onto the walkway, but we still had a great time. You should definitely check this out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Loved this tour, very interesting, not for everyone !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Our guide was well versed on French history, adding to the fascination of the Catacomb tour. We highly recommend this tour so you can break the line and learn the challenges of Parisian life during medieval times.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Excellent tour guide Alberto!! Loved skipping the line that would have taken hours to go through. Really interesting and different tour to take. Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

My husband and I probably haven't stopped talking about this tour . Our guide was brilliant and the place is mind blowing, you have to see to believe it .Still amazed !!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Highly recommend this tour - the lines were massive so to skip pass that and have a guided tour was awesome, would do this tour again on my next trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Excellent trip. Very knowledgeable tour guide and loved skipping the line that would have taken 2 1/2 hours to go through. Worth every penny!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This tour was awesome. I went with my 17 year old son who said this was definately one of the highlights of the trip. The tour guide was extremely knowledgable about the history of the tunnels and ossuary and we learned so much. Awesome and very highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Excellent guide with a lot of knowledge of the history of the area. Was a very enjoyable experience. The line to the catacombs was about 2 hours when we arrived, so skipping the line was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We really enjoyed our tour of the Catacombs. Our tour guide, Alberto, was obviously quite knowledgeable about the Catacombs. He was also friendly and approachable. He was easy to find as he was holding a "Viator" sign at the entrance to the Catacombs. The line up to this attraction was around the block and would've taken us hours to get through; but booking ahead with Viator allowed us to skip the line and enter at the exact time that our tour was scheduled! I strongly recommend the tour; if not for the convenience then the knowledgeable guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We were super happy to have prebooked this tour as the line at the catacombs was 3+ hours long! Our tour was on time and our guide was pleasant, easy to understand and very knowledgeable. We got lots of historical tidbits along the way and he gave us plenty of time at important spots to soak in the info and atmosphere. There are 120+ steps down on the way in and 80+ circular twisty narrow steps on the way up, so wear good shoes and be in fair shape. I was huffing and puffing the last 20 steps or so, but it was sooo worth it :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Fabulous! The guide was waiting for us when arrived and we bypassed 100 yards of people waiting in line in the hot sun. Well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

The tour guide was excellent. I highly recommend. There was virtually no waiting!!

From USD $ 68.74

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731CATACOMBS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message