4.5 star rating: Recommended 410 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  4-5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 410 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

our trip to versailles was excellent our tour guide sarah from texas was absolutely wonderful

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

One of my favorite spots. Justine was an excellent tour guide. Enjoyed his humor. I liked the idea of the 2 hour garden tour and than being on our own. Spending as much time as we wanted in Versailles. I would suggest this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was AWESOME!!! Juan Carlos was TERRIFIC and absolutely adorable….
Cheers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an awesome tour. Our tour guide was the best guide you could have she was so knowledgeable and so friendly, she made the tour worthwhile. She was a young American girl, if i can remember correctly her name was Sarah. EXCELLENT!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our family had wonderful time with our tour guide, Christine. My boys love her.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was "Top Notch" Guide Victor was extremely knowledgeable about Versailles and there was not a question that he could not answer. He gave a very thorough tour of the gardens and then we went to the palace where he got us in with no line, got our audio tour sets and bid us goodbye. We were then able to see the building on our own pace and leave when we wanted. When we were done, we used our garden tickets to re-enter the garden where we purchased two very good Ham and Swiss sandwiches for 4.50 Euro each. With a bottle of wine from the backpack, we enjoyed a great lunch before boarding the train back to Paris. I rate this a 10.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

timely, informative, pleasant experience, wonderful guide well worth it and will be recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you are going to Versailles opt for the train excursion; if you are lucky you may ride in one of the vintage, colorful train wagons. Morevoer, this specific excusrion allows you to stay as long as you wish unlike similar excursions with coach. Hence, no stress and more independence. The tour is well organized starting from the gardens, exploring the various themes in the gardens and then moving inside. Wear comfortable shoes

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Paul, our American tour guide, was very knowledgeable about the history surrounding Versailles and ensured that, as a group, nobody was left behind. Couldn't fault him. Versailles itself? Maybe our expectations were too high but the palace was a disappointment. Whilst appreciating that a large amount of furnishings had been auctioned at the time of the revolution, the palace looked tired and in need of some tlc. Renovations (if you can call them that) were extensive and we felt that the curators could have done so much more with such an impressive venue - particularly in relation to its own history. So sad to see broken windows in the upper floors and what can only be described as shambolic attempts at renovations compared to what we see in the UK. We have been and seen, but won't be rushing back. This rating in no way reflects badly on Paul!

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The skip the line was great, but I would suggest just booking a tour through Versailles. Then you get to skip the line AND get to see special rooms in the palace.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Juan Carlos was an informative and funny tour guide. I would highly recommend people do this tour package!

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

A great tour, although I would suggest visiting the Palace early in the day to avoid some of the crowd. We did the gardens first, by which time there was an unbelievable crush inside the Palace which made it difficult to see and fully appreciate its beauty.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Versailles was breathtaking. Victor was an awesome guide. He was very knowledgeable, patient, and energetic!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

So so glad we chose this "Skip the Line" tour. The queue was large when we arrived but we walked straight in and was enormous when we left. Crowded inside but still enough room to be comfortable and the hand held guide device was simple to use and informative. Would highly recommend our guide Martin as a patient and knowledgeable guide. Excellent. Gillian

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Nice tour of the gardens buy guide was only okay.

From USD $ 85.65

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 4+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3588VERSAILLES

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message