Insider's Guide to Paris

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 287 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  From Paris: 4 hours - From Versailles: 3 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 287 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Trip was awesome and our guide went above and beyond to share information about the Palace and the people who had lived there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I loved this tour, the guides were very friendly and Theodore, the palace guide, speaks many languages and is extremely knowledgable. His casual approach was welcoming and comfortable. I'd highly recommend this tour :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour!!! Took the train from Paris out to the Palace and the guide was excellent. Very easy to meet up, as it was just a few blocks down and a few blocks over from the main street on the Champs Elycee.
Great not having to wait in any lines. Would highly recommend this tour. Mark from Colorado

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Good train ride, great tour of palace. Loved both tour guides. Some difficulty finding initial meeting location.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very knowledgable guide and an amazing tour !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was excellent and her enthusiasm really rubbed off on us. The Palace half day tour was very thorough and 'next time' we plan to do the gardens as well. You really need a whole day to cover this whole area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Really enjoyable your. The guide was very knowledgeable and took us around to all the highlights. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our tour was phenomenal--John was great on the train and Analise (spelling) was fantastic. So knowledgeable in her history and fun facts. The fact that we only had 8 on our tour made it like a personal tour. Versailles was amazing as well as the gardens, my only wish was that we would have done it sooner in the year to see the beautiful flowers. I would definitely use Viator again for any tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was amazing, the size and extravagant interior design and the garden was reason enough to cause a revolution. Our guide was great and extremely knowlrdgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour is a great visit to Versailles. The tour guide's commentary was very informative with the right amount of detail.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour of the palace and gardens. Versailles is stunning. A must see for anyone wanting to visit the height of French opulence and grandeur. Our guide was excellent (Caroline) and provided valuable information about the palace and its former inhabitants. Highly recommend this tour!

David M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Everything went so smoothly, well organised and a top great value for money tour. Tour guide new exactly when to be at the water features to ensure we had good viewing position and saw the water start which showed how intricate and involved the irrigation systems are.
The tour through the palace was amazing and again we were informed and spent time in the more interesting areas. A top tour well worth it. We met the guide at the rail station in Paris and hence ensured all went well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide Alexander was extraordinary. He was extremely knowledgeable, entertaining and kept the touring moving at a very comfortable pace. We were never rushed, he answered all questions and has a wonderful sense of humor. Speaking with Alexander he shared a good deal of advice on other sites and tours in Paris. He made the tour a wonderful experience, we learned a great deal and enjoyed the entire process. We highly recommend Alexander and this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was young, vivacious and very knowledgeable. The palace was gorgeous, albeit extremely crowded, but the skip-the-line feature made getting in easy. We hit all the highlights and could hear hear our guide clearly through the headsets. The fountain show at the gardens was breathtaking.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great! Better than we could have expected. Viator guide was there at Les Invalides metro meeting place early - and so were we- John from UK was witty and knowledgeable.
Viator was recommended to me by my son and a friend. And they were right!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent guide! Hebrard (I think that´s his name) tell history as a fairy tale! So in love with his country and culture, that he was available to transmit that feeling to the whole group!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We were unable to attend due to illness however we had done this one in 2011 and loved it so beautiful

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We joined the trip in Paris and caught the train with the group which was easy. We split up into 2groups of about 12 people which made it easier to get around. Going in mid September was great as although crowded, we kept moving through the palace. Our guide said in peak time you could wait up to 40 minutes go get to just another room. Be aware that from now, the queens bedrooms will be closed for renovation until 2017 which is unfortunate however they were already stunning. Going on a tour was best, however we did get a bit rushed looking at the garden, but in saying that, you were given your return train ticket and you could spend your own time in the gardens and return later. The gardens are a must, they are breathtaking. Getting back on your own is easy so if you can, stay and enjoy the gardens. Take good walking shoes!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was one of the highlights of our trip. Amazing. Everything well went, our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. We would recommend this tour to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic and we'll worth the time!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour! Travel by train was great and because of John, our trip guide, my husband and I felt safe and comfortable.Our guide in Versailles was absolutely great!!! I think his name was Harve (pardon - if this is not his name). He was passionate about the French history, extremely knowledgeable, accommodating, charming. Versailles Palace is definitely must see when in France. Very impressive, very beautiful. It was a memorable afternoon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour coordinators (3 of them) met us outside the Invalides station, had our train tickets ready to go for us (which were included in the price) and gave us our audio guides before we got to the palace. The tour guide, Chloe, was knowledgeable and gave us great insight into the history of the time of Louis XIV and the building of the palace. The fountain show was fun to watch but the gardens themselves were a bit plain, just a lot of tall hedges and a few statues here and there. The view from the back steps of the palace is spectacular, as are the rooms inside the palace itself. Definitely get a nice picture of the hall of mirrors from the entrance! We only had about ten minutes to go through the gift shop since we wanted to leave with the tour coordinators, but we had the option of just getting our return train ticket from them and taking our own time to go back to Paris. We felt very well-taken care of!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide Catherine was very knowledgeable and conscious to take our group to a quiet spot for her talks. A fun tour for sure!! East access via the train from Paris.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour and both tour guides who met us at each end of the tour were great and made sure we caught the correct trains. Highly recommened while you are in Paris.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was great. The company reps and the tour guide were awesome.
Versailles Palace and Gardens are a must see.

From USD $ 78.51

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VERSAILLES

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message