Insider's Guide to Paris

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 129 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Jose L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My wife and I had an amazing time with Chef Frederic in his studio kitchen. He was willing to do a Monday class for the two of us on a last minute request. I found the techniques very useful but the conversation made this activity truly unique.

Timothy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Was totally amazing. Fredrick took us to the market where we walked booth to booth and got a good understanding of how he identifies freshness and quality. Back to his kitchen where we prepared a wonderful lunch. Of course as Fredrick said "a meal without bread and wine is not a meal." Was the highlight of our trip and would highly recommend it.

Ragan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My trip to Paris was everything I thought it would be and more. The cooking lessons and food were awesome. The chef was very thoughtful and took a lot of time with us. He was even kind enough to write down a list of great restaurants. We went to 3 of the restaurants he suggested! Perfection!

Leslie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Chef Dominique was charming and instructive. We took a bus to the Farmer's Market and got immersed in that setting. Then back to his home to cook up a wonderful lunch. We were joined by his charming children and wife, which made the entire experience even more wonderful. This was a highlight of our Paris vacation.

And he emailed us the recipes so we can try to recreate our culinary success at home.

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is my second class with chef Frederic and it was great again.
Really enjoy these hands on sessions. Nice area... can visit the cemetery after the class

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent class. Fred is a great cook and teacher. Hope to do it again the next time I'm in Paris.

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I absolutely loved this entire experience. Very relaxing, interesting, and we learned a lot! Mostly loved spending time with the chef and his family and learning about French life, but also enjoyed everything we learned about cooking, and had a fantastic meal to top it all off!

Sarah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fred was an excellent chef and teacher. We cooked fairly simple but delicious dishes that challenged me to eat things I normally wouldn't and to realize that in a matter of hours, it is possible to cook gourmet dishes. I enjoyed going to the market and learning how to pick the different ingredients, but actually cooking in a French kitchen was so much fun. I will make these recipes again!

Meg B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Marthe was wonderful, giving each of us a task that matched our skill level and supporting us through each step. She was a terrific hostess and made the whole experience so memorable. My husband and I loved meeting the other participants who were from all over the world. We would love to take another class with Marthe.

Mary Z USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I loved this. The chef chose what he was going to make from what was fresh at the market. He explained how to know if fruits and vegetables are fresh in the market. We made simple dishes that are easily replicated at home but are impressive and delicious. He then sent us through email all of the recipes we made.

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The chef made us feel at home and he was a great teacher! The ingredients were fresh and the final product was delicious

Mark D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great time! The market was wonderful and Chef Fredrick was very friendly and informative on the walk. For the meal we had a beet and cheese appitizer, Turbot w/ ginger over a bed of veggies, and a fresh fruit w/ honey and thyme dessert. It was so simple, fresh, and tasty. Well worth it!

Stephen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

great fun

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My wife and I had an incredible experience! Our cooking class began with an amazing trip to the local markets and ended with an fun and insightful cooking class and delicious meal. Chef Frederic was so enjoyable and his cooking studio was great to work in. This was definitely the highlight of our visit to Paris! This exceptional experience that is a MUST DO for food lovers!

David K Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very enjoyable lunch and a few good cooking tips.

Lynn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an amazing tour. I would do third over and over. It was great to see the market and Frederick was a patient and enthusiastic teacher. It is hard to believe we good prepare something so good.

Julia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed the class very much. The trip to the market was very informative, learned much in how to choose produce. Then the cooking class not only taught new techniques, BUT Fred offered many suggestions on how to take a recipe and modify to one's own taste. Great tips and the food was amazing. Fred was a terrific teacher, host, and made us all feel as if we were his guests for lunch. This class is a must for anyone who enjoys cooking, and also for the novice. Highly recommend.

judith s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The combination trip to the market and a cooking class in the "atalier/workshop kitchen" of a local gifted chef was one of the highlights of my trip to France. Fred was not only a experienced chef, he was also a patient teacher. I was lucky my kitchen mates showed up for only the cooking portion so I had Fred all to myself to answer my endless questions through the tour of the market.He began with a kind of fly-by to get a sense of what was being offered in the entire market-a foodie dream! He had no pre-conceptions of what the menu would be to source out only certain items;like all good chefs he trusted his experience and the local vendors to inform that choice-what was fresh and had excellent quality. I was taught what to look for in the items i was interested in and had some imput into the menu we would ultimately prepare. This was an outdoor market that shifted each day of the week so that was a change from NA approaches to this with their veg and fruit only outdoor markets. At his well-kitted kitchen, the 3 of us prepared 3 dishes-simple, delicious, and relatively easy to prepare. Knife technique and decent tools are obviousy lacking in my own kitchen so this class inspired me to save up to buy some. We had fun prepping and had a wonderful hour and a half lingering over the meal we had prepared with wine and stories of Fred's career and philosophy of food.It was a special glimpse into his passion for food and family and a lovely way to connect with fellow food travellers from another country.Merci! I highly recommend this experience!

Paige C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was amazing! The chef was delightful and gave great life advice. You must have the best produce in your life to make a great meal. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone that wanted a real experience in Paris.

Harriet T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The market tour/cooking class was a birthday present for our 19 year old son. He loved every minute of it, and he would definitely recommend it to others! Well worth the price, and such a lovely experience. Thank you!

jedcinc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was an excellent event. Our chef was outstanding and my wife and I had the market tour included which made the experience all the more enjoyable. I learned so much in the market and really enjoyed the experience. In the cooking class itself, there were only four of us which made it very special.
In addition to cooking we talked about a variety of subject and all in all it was a very enjoyable experience.

Christina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a wonderful day with chef Dominique in his flat in Paris. The menu was well thought and he took time to discuss the rationale behind the technique. His wine selection was so well suited to the meal. It was an outstanding experience. Dominique even made restaurant recommendations when asked. The only disappointment was that we haven't yet received the recipes -- but check email daily as we eagerly await to receive them and make them for our friends.

Sandra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Dominique was great! From the shopping in the market for the ingredients to eating the finished product, I thoroughly enjoyed myself and will definitely recommend this to anyone heading to Paris! Thanks, Dominique for such a wonderful experience!

Barbara K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great way to spend some free time in Paris, especially if you like to cook. The class took place
in the home of the chef. His children joined us for the lunch he prepared, which made it very special.
The market visit, which was very close to his home, was a great addition to the class plus a chance to
see meat and produce we don't always have in the states, The information and demonstration of various
cooking techniques was simple but and things I will try at home. A highlight of my trip,

Margo USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Chef Marthe was FANTASTIC!!! We had such a great time and met some very nice people. As a cook myself, I learned some new tricks and came back with great recipes to make for my friends. If you like to cook, definitely take this class. It's fun!

Viewing 2 of 6

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 139.85

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3234COOKING

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message