Insider's Guide to Paris

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 130 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Robert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I booked this class for my mom while we were in Paris. She loved it!

Jaymie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I had a fabulous time at this cooking class. The chef is extremely knowledgeable, hospitable and funny. I learned a lot about both the history and culture of France in addition to having a fabulous meal, probably the best one I ate the entire time.

I learned some skills that I will be sure to use when I return home. If you're planning to visit Paris, this class will be a highlight for you as it was for me.

Brian W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Marthe was awesome! We had a great time and not only learned some great recipes, the conversation was just as memorable!

Sarah-Louise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

My cooking class with Marthe in Montparnasse was amazing! The morning started with a espresso and chat, and then a walk to the market. Marthe then showed me how to cook three lovely dishes, two of which I have cooked since. It was just me in the class, which I was a bit worried about at first, but soon I realised how lucky I was to have a private class. The class was the highlight of my Paris trip, thank you.

Donna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed this cooking class and the market tour in the morning. Although it was pricey, it was a very memorable day and a nice way to spend part of a day in the home of a local Parisian. Our chef, Miriam, was very nice, patient and encouraging to our class of beginning students. I will recommend this class to my friends.

jblanton11257

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

We had a blast on the cooking class and actually got interviewed by a dutch magazine doing a story on "Meeting The French" Our hostess Martha was an outstanding source of information and the recipes that we cooked were challenging but simple.

Larry S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

WONDERFUL experience. Marthe was so kind and what a cooking experience. The trip to the market was eye opening as Marthe explained everything. Then back to the apartment for our prep and the cookjing of our three course meal. Learned a great deal from Marthe and woluld recommend anyone wantiung to learn a little more about French cooking to take the class. We had only 6 people so it worked out thate everyone participated in the prep and cooking.
plan on going back.

Cristi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

I had a blast! The chef was so helpful and made me feel so comfortable during the class. Her apartment was warm and inviting. Perfect Parisian experience. She also let us have a lot of hands on experience which made all the more fun! Food was delicious and at the end she gave us extra recipes and a couple of good inexpensive names of restaurants to try.

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Exellent class. Competent cook.

Jen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

This was an excellent way to get to know a french chef in her own apartment and she provided great tuition and a lovely atmosphere, good conversation and a fabulous lunch.

Barry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

A charming encounter! Unintimidating approach to cooking, lovely apartment, pleasant conversations about food and opera.
Warm and welcoming hostess. A highlight of our Parisian experience!

PAMELA E R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

The market trip was fun and interesting. Myriam gave some good cooking tips. It was an excellent meal.

Randy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

We were lucky enough to enjoy our class alone with our 'chef'. It was a wonderful introduction to a few French dishes and spending the time with Marta was a real treat. We have recreated the dishes at home and were enjoyed be all.

Amanda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

We had a wonderful experience. Chef Myriam was very patient and worked with our skills as well as taught us new techniques. The market was very enjoyable and added flavour to our experience. The meal we prepared was mouth-watering delicious! Can't wait to attempt to repeat it at home. For anyone who enjoys cooking, I would highly recommend this experience.

Anne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2010

Sensational - I was in gourmet heaven! A highlight of my trip to Paris which I will recommend to everyone as a MUST!!! I was lucky enough to be in a class of only 3 - our teacher was wonderful and welcoming and the food we prepared and ate was truly amazing. Don't go to Paris without attending this wonderful cooking class.

Zelko R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

This was fantastic, we loved going to the markets, our chef was fantastic, lovely and helpful and made the whole day informative and enjoyable, we had a great group to work with, I highly recommend doing this class!

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This was wonderful. Miriam's eggplant confit recipe was worth the trip to France. Both she and her mother were wonderful as were the young French couple who took the class with us. We got to take the metro to do the shopping at the open air market which was very interesting. Miriam's apartment was wonderful. Getting to be in this old building with its excellent courtyard was fascinating. A remarkable experience and worth every penny! It was perfect in every respect.

Emma H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The market tour was great seeing all the french produce and choosing what we would need for the recipes. The class was fantastic- especially as I was the only one to book it that day so I had my very own private lesson. The recipes although simple, highlighted the flavors of the fresh produce purchased that morning which was delicious- all in all a very enjoyable experience.

ddh2345

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Dominique was a well informed and affable gentle man. I learned some new techniques from him and had a very enjoyable experience. He graciously invited my husband not part of the class to join us at the end when he arrived to pick me up. My only concern was the time it took to email me the recipes. But the email arrived yesterday, and all is well. I intend to try the chicken, and the molten chocolate cake recipes immediately! Thank you, Dominique.

CindyK USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This was so much fun. Chef Frederick is the best kind of teacher - passionate about what he does, and committed to sharing and communicating it clearly with his students. The market tour is a unique experience for most Americans - markets with the number of vendors and the variety of products we saw in Paris are a rare find in the States. Wear good shoes as you walk through the market - Chef takes his time, chatting with the vendors to find what's fresh, frequently pausing to tell the class about a uniquely French item. Back to his kitchen-apartment to prepare our freshly-purchased ingredients for the menu that Chef decided upon that morning. Our finished product was delectable!

dianeglow

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Chef Frederic made the market and cooking class a lot of fun. He had a relaxed, open style, and did a very good job of explaining his methods and techniques. We all learned some new food prep techniques, he also exposed us to some new kitchen gadgets and new spices. And, the lunch was excellent.

Susan C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Dominique was very hospitable and we enjoyed his obvious love of French cooking. He is very knowledgeable and he gave some very good tips on ordinary cooking skills. The food was excellent: simple ingredients and things that we could definitely do at home. The fact that we were invited to cook in his apartment made the experience very intimate - like joining a friend to cook a meal together.

Joyce F Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was not so much a cooking class as we prepared a very simple braised veal with white beans. As a home cook I did not get much out of the actual cooking but the visit to the market and the pair from Hong Kong who joined the four of us made it more interesting. The experience for my husband was eye opening as he really didn't know the preparation required to get supper on the table. It was in an area of Paris we would not have gone to with any regular tours so it was good to get that view of the day to day Paris.

Linda N

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Iris K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great to have the class in a small group of 3 which allowed enough time to ask things and also to have some nice conversation; and yes, I learned some great new tips and was able to practice it at home immediately.

Viewing 4 of 6

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 139.80

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3234COOKING

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message