5 star rating: Highly Recommended 107 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group French Cooking Class in Paris. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 107 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This was wonderful. Miriam's eggplant confit recipe was worth the trip to France. Both she and her mother were wonderful as were the young French couple who took the class with us. We got to take the metro to do the shopping at the open air market which was very interesting. Miriam's apartment was wonderful. Getting to be in this old building with its excellent courtyard was fascinating. A remarkable experience and worth every penny! It was perfect in every respect.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Chef Frederic made the market and cooking class a lot of fun. He had a relaxed, open style, and did a very good job of explaining his methods and techniques. We all learned some new food prep techniques, he also exposed us to some new kitchen gadgets and new spices. And, the lunch was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Dominique was very hospitable and we enjoyed his obvious love of French cooking. He is very knowledgeable and he gave some very good tips on ordinary cooking skills. The food was excellent: simple ingredients and things that we could definitely do at home. The fact that we were invited to cook in his apartment made the experience very intimate - like joining a friend to cook a meal together.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was not so much a cooking class as we prepared a very simple braised veal with white beans. As a home cook I did not get much out of the actual cooking but the visit to the market and the pair from Hong Kong who joined the four of us made it more interesting. The experience for my husband was eye opening as he really didn't know the preparation required to get supper on the table. It was in an area of Paris we would not have gone to with any regular tours so it was good to get that view of the day to day Paris.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great to have the class in a small group of 3 which allowed enough time to ask things and also to have some nice conversation; and yes, I learned some great new tips and was able to practice it at home immediately.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my experience with Dominiqe, our chef, and the students in the class. The market was a sight to behold. I learned much about melons, fine ham and more. I only regretted that it was already closed when class was over, because i would have done some additional shopping. The class itself was fun and informative. Dominique taught us some new tricks about knives, testing heat levels, cooking gear, and new recipes of course. The highlight was the tasting. I rarely eat heartily before the sun sets, but i was famished by noon. Good thing we got started early with wine and nibbles before we moved on to the real feast. I would definitely do it again.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great fun and very tasty

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

I really enjoyed the class. It was easy to get to by train or cab. The food was absolutely delicious!!! Martha was a joy to have as a cooking instructor and I felt as if I was experiencing a genuine authentic Parisian experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

This cooking class was amazing. Fred was very knowledgeable. His cooking class took us to the market where he gave us invaluable information on how to select products. We then returned to his beautiful flat setup specifically for cooking and made some of the most tasty dishes I have ever had. I will definitely make these dishes back in the states.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

We had great time in this cooking class, especially since it was in a private apartment. The location was convenient to our hotel, and the instructor was generous with her expertise not only in cooking, but in restaurants and chocolate shops enjoy in Paris. She even shared some smoked butter with us, which I certainly had never tried. The class was a nice break from the museum regimen. The only comment was one of our classmates had a nasty cold, which made me a bit uncomfortable cooking and eating with her. Overall fun experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

I must say that we had a wonderful time in our cooking class. Our chief, Fredrick was great, and the food was out standing. The only thing that we would like to have would be the recipes. We were supposed to get them at the class, but Fredrick said that he would e-mail them to us. It would be great if you could please ask him again to send them along. If we had gotten them at the time, the experience would have been a five star!!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Enjoyed the day thoroughly as did my 16 year old son. The tour details said we would be shopping first which we didn't do, we just met the teacher at her apartment. A really interesting experience but don't do it if you are a fussy eater as you don't know what you are going to cook until you arrive and I guess if it's something you hate, it might spoil your day somewhat.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Very personable chef/instructor; learned several nice kitchen tricks. The meal was delicious and fun to prepare. Would definitely do it again

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The class was a delight. Learned interesting techniques and some great new recipes. The instructor was friendly, engaging and helpful.
However, telephone support in Paris was very difficult. The people responding to calls did not speak much English which seems odd for a class emphazing English language cooking instruction.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The class began with a trip on a city bus to the local Farmers' Market.. We then went back to the chef's apartment to cook. We made a zucchini salad, quiche and chocolate fondant(cake). I kind of wish we had cooked something more exotic for the price we paid, but the day was fun and we ate a nice lunch served with a local wine. I guess the chef has to keep the menu rather neutral to satisfy all tastes. I wish we could have had some input into the menu since we had time to plan a menu before we went to the market.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

enjoyable intimate setting

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Cooking class was a very enjoyable event. Our host was great and had everything ready for us to try our skills at preparing a French meal. She made us feel right at home. I would recommend this event highly

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

The market tour was fantastic and the food amazing. I loved it. My teacher was informative, helpful and delightful. I will definitely book another next time I'm in Paris.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

enjoyable morning - i ws fortunate in some ways to have only one ther person in the class but it would have been nice to have more atmosphere wise when eating the dinner we prepared.

Also I have not received the recipes we made yet as promised.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Although Mathe was a lovely woman with a warmth of sharing and opening her flat, I thought that the price was very high for the experience. Marthe is NOT a chef, as I was lead to believe. She is a delightful woman who had another career and in retirement loves to share her passion for cooking. Beware that anything that you buy at the market tour should be packed into your luggage and not taken as carry on. I purchased an expensive (Fois Grois) can of duck liver pate, which was taken during the security check! The cooking experience was demonstration only as the flat was small and not equipped for hands on involvement. All recipes and tips were wonderful however all measurements are in metric so duplication at home will be a challenge.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Loved it! A small fun group in a very nice setting. Our Instructor was fantastic and we learned some excellent techniques! Highly recommend.

Pam V
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Very enjoyable and authentic Parisian experience, both our trip to the market and Miriam's wonderful apartment.. During our visit to the market we learned some great tips for selecting fruits and vegetables such as aubergines and melons. Once back in Miriam's kitchen we cooked Charlotte of Aubergine a la Creamed Goats Cheese and Red Pepper Coulis, Normandy Chicken and Peaches baked in Olive Oil and Basil. We picked up a few interesting tips from Miriam throughout the class. A great way to enjoy an authentic Parisian experience. It would be good to be able to review the day's menu or a few examples prior to booking the class, eg Miriam mentioned that the class mostly cooks seafood on Wednesday and Saturday as these are the days the seafood is fresh in the market - we would have been disappointed if we had been on these classes. An apron would be a nice item to take home as a memory of the class. Can recommend the class as a great way to participate in a true french cooking experience and to engage with a fun loving and english speaking Parisian. Throughout the morning Miriam was very generous with her tips on all things 'Paris' including the best food stores to visit, good restaurants, shopping, museums. As we were heading to Provence for two weeks Miriam also provided us with tips for our food shopping in Provence. Bon Appetite!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Really great experience in a nice apartment of a local Parisien. Mariam was very nice and very knowledgable about cooking. Lots of fun. Only problem no location given on our voucher. Contact phone number was not the number of our chef, Mariam. Because of location trouble, we missed our market tour, which was before the cooking class. Need better directions contact info. Loved the cooking class, however.

Note from Viator: Thank you for the feedback Susan. We have reviewed and updated the vouchers to ensure all departure details are listed.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Our host chef was very nice and spoke excellent English. We were the only 2 in the class so it was possible take our time and enjoy the experience. As a more experienced cooking couple, my wife and I would have like the recopies to be a little bit more hands on but we did learn a few things to bring home and share at our dinner parties. During the food preparation, in casual conversation with the chef, we were able to get some great sightseeing tips to the beautiful Rodin museum the gardens are very nice. We also got some advice on where to pick up some of the ingredients we used during our class. This small group cooking class was a great way to spend a few hours in Paris and a really nice way to get to know Paris from a real Parisian.

From USD $ 134.11

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3234COOKING

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message