4 star rating: Recommended 1235 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  4-8 hrs

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1235 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great driver and prompt pickup.
Audio guides are very vague and not really useful.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Versailles and the palace were excellent. We booked a half day tour, but it turned out to be more like a two hour tour, not including the drive there and back. Our driver was due to pick us up at 1:15 pm but then when we confirmed they told us he'd pick us up at 1:30 pm. He didn't arrive by 1:40 pm so I called head office, and they told me he was delayed, and he'd be there in 5 minutes. He eventually arrived near 2 pm, so when we arrived at the palace, we had to rush through to visit all the rooms, Hall of Mirrors, the queen 's surrounding gardens, and then we had to return. I don't feel we received the value of a half day's tour considering the price we had to pay. Yes, our driver was friendly, but he didn't provide us with much knowledge and history of the Palace of Versailles on our way there. With the steep price of this tour, one is better off to find their way there and do the tour solo.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We chose the tour which included being picked up where we were staying in central Paris. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. The three course lunch with wine was included in our tour and exceeded our expectations. Lunch was at a beautiful little restaurant on the grounds near the Grand Canal. It was a chance to talk with the other six people that joined us on the tour. By the end of the tour we felt as though we had seen everything at a very nice pace. It was a perfect experience, one we highly recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It started good with the pickup being right on time and Jeff, the tour guide, was very friendly and informative. We did the half day tour which was more than enough. A must see place.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Touring Versailles was wonderful, but there was a lack of organization in getting started with the tour. Our tour guide picked us up at our hotel (which was great), but it seemed he did not speak into the microphone all the time as we were driving and he was giving us information. Two other couples were also in the same van, and they seemed to also have trouble hearing all of the information. We followed his instructions as to when and where we were to meet to begin the tour once we arrived at Versailles. We were all there (as instructed) and then waited probably 20 minutes or more before the tour actually started. We heard some talk that one of the tour guides did not show up (which of course was not our fault) and since we didn't have a tour guide in the palace anyway, not sure why this would have delayed us. Other groups were lining up and all had their audio guide equipment. We had to ask if we were going to get those, and finally our driver went and got them and brought them to us. He then told us where the restrooms were but gave us absolutely no further information (including which direction to go to start the audio tour, etc.) In fact, we actually went the wrong way until we discovered all the other people coming toward us. This should have been explained to us! Prior to that, we felt like we had been treated like kindergarteners with where we were supposed to meet to begin the tour and how long we had to take pictures outside, etc. before the tour of the palace would begin. We basically lost at least a half hour or more for some apparent confusion that was not our fault. We felt rushed to get through the palace in the time remaining. I would recommend making it very clear in your description of this tour that there is no actual tour guide. My husband and I and at least one of the other couples thought we were going to have a tour guide at the palace, not just the driver to the palace.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of Versailles. Our tour guide, Astrid, was excellent: knowledgeable, friendly and, generally, delightful. She provided interesting information during the travel to and from Versailles and during the palace and garden tour. We would definitely recommend this tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The pickup was very good, the driver was very informative.
The gardens impressive.
The Palace was a palace, very stuffy and and to me boring. Tons of people making visiting anything difficult.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Driver Dennis was pleasant, courteous and knowledgeable. Versailles itself was overcrowded and my audio pack didn't work properly. I would have paid more for a less crowded experience where the guide came with us. The palace itself was magnificent, but I don't feel like I learned as much about it as I would have liked to.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Had a great time, Driver was punctual, spoke english,and gave us a lot of interesting facts about France...

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I felt it was too long, we had too much free time. Could've been done in half a day.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Sophie was a very good guide, we were impressed of her historyknowledge and all the dates..
Super to be picked-up at our hotel.
Good food and nice persons in our group.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Perfect value for the time and price.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

If you are going to do this tour, allow for a full day. This tour doesn't give enough time to explore unfortunately. We were given a lot less time than thought and literally had to rush through the palace and gardens. Didn't get to see the fountain show as had to leave. If you are on very tight timeframes then do the half day, but really it's not enough to see this beautiful palace. Allow the full day!

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The drive to and from was longer than the actual tour, seemed like we did not get enough time to view the apartments esp. The Gardens.. Rushed! However, our Driver was very Knowledgeable and very Kind! He went the extra mile for our convenience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

From the easy pick up at our hotel, to the quick ride and no waiting in line, this tour fulfilled it's promise as written. Our tour guide was excellent, her driving safe, and her information very informative. We wanted a short visit due to time constraints and this tour provided us with seeing Versailles in a timely manner. The 9:15 time was perfect. Some rooms we had all to ourselves. Beat the crowds and go at this time.

Special Offer
$127.44 Save $12.74

From USD $ 114.70

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 18+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2050PLUSVR_VE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message