4 star rating: Recommended 1222 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  4-8 hrs

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1222 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a fantastic tour.... our guide/ escort/ van driver Cecilia was very knowledgeable and informative, personable and humourous... and a great driver!.... all this made it a terrific day.... the Palace was MAGNIFICENT! Well worth the cost.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a good tour, saw everything we wanted to see, shame about the crowds though, I guess to be expected. It was very cold, so didnt stay in the garden so much. beautiful palace, good guide, informative. would recommend.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Versailles was beautiful but we were very dissapointed with our driver/ guide. He was rude and he was only friendly and helpful to the white people in our group. There were 3 of us asians in the group and his back was facing us the whole time he was explaining things about versailles.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour guide - enjoyed hearing the history and avoiding the crowds.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

the 4 and half tour was to short. we got picked up at 8:10am had to go to 2 more hotels in morning traffic. by the time we got to Versailles we only had 2 hours to tour the museum and the flower garden. Did not have enough time . we spent 2 1/2 hours in the van. the tour of the museum should be 3 hours. Nicolas was wonderful great tour guide/driver. But, you should really make the tour 5 1/2 to 6 hours for the price we paid.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent Tour! Guide was well versed and pointed out several points of interest along the way to Versailles. A Must See. We did 4 hour tour and it was just perfect unless you want to fully explore each and every corner of the gardens. Would do it again!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Wow what a place. This was a fantastic tour. It dropped you off at the door, provided your with the audio guide and then your were on your own to do your own tour. But just plan your trip in advance so you get the most out of the trip as your time is limited to only 90mins once there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Although we had to wait for other groups we didn't have to wait in line as our guide took care of the arrangements and was very accommodating. Being picked up at our hotel made the tour more relaxing than taking the Metro. Versailles itself was crowded even for September but is a must-see!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great driver and prompt pickup.
Audio guides are very vague and not really useful.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Versailles and the palace were excellent. We booked a half day tour, but it turned out to be more like a two hour tour, not including the drive there and back. Our driver was due to pick us up at 1:15 pm but then when we confirmed they told us he'd pick us up at 1:30 pm. He didn't arrive by 1:40 pm so I called head office, and they told me he was delayed, and he'd be there in 5 minutes. He eventually arrived near 2 pm, so when we arrived at the palace, we had to rush through to visit all the rooms, Hall of Mirrors, the queen 's surrounding gardens, and then we had to return. I don't feel we received the value of a half day's tour considering the price we had to pay. Yes, our driver was friendly, but he didn't provide us with much knowledge and history of the Palace of Versailles on our way there. With the steep price of this tour, one is better off to find their way there and do the tour solo.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We chose the tour which included being picked up where we were staying in central Paris. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. The three course lunch with wine was included in our tour and exceeded our expectations. Lunch was at a beautiful little restaurant on the grounds near the Grand Canal. It was a chance to talk with the other six people that joined us on the tour. By the end of the tour we felt as though we had seen everything at a very nice pace. It was a perfect experience, one we highly recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It started good with the pickup being right on time and Jeff, the tour guide, was very friendly and informative. We did the half day tour which was more than enough. A must see place.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Touring Versailles was wonderful, but there was a lack of organization in getting started with the tour. Our tour guide picked us up at our hotel (which was great), but it seemed he did not speak into the microphone all the time as we were driving and he was giving us information. Two other couples were also in the same van, and they seemed to also have trouble hearing all of the information. We followed his instructions as to when and where we were to meet to begin the tour once we arrived at Versailles. We were all there (as instructed) and then waited probably 20 minutes or more before the tour actually started. We heard some talk that one of the tour guides did not show up (which of course was not our fault) and since we didn't have a tour guide in the palace anyway, not sure why this would have delayed us. Other groups were lining up and all had their audio guide equipment. We had to ask if we were going to get those, and finally our driver went and got them and brought them to us. He then told us where the restrooms were but gave us absolutely no further information (including which direction to go to start the audio tour, etc.) In fact, we actually went the wrong way until we discovered all the other people coming toward us. This should have been explained to us! Prior to that, we felt like we had been treated like kindergarteners with where we were supposed to meet to begin the tour and how long we had to take pictures outside, etc. before the tour of the palace would begin. We basically lost at least a half hour or more for some apparent confusion that was not our fault. We felt rushed to get through the palace in the time remaining. I would recommend making it very clear in your description of this tour that there is no actual tour guide. My husband and I and at least one of the other couples thought we were going to have a tour guide at the palace, not just the driver to the palace.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The pickup was very good, the driver was very informative.
The gardens impressive.
The Palace was a palace, very stuffy and and to me boring. Tons of people making visiting anything difficult.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of Versailles. Our tour guide, Astrid, was excellent: knowledgeable, friendly and, generally, delightful. She provided interesting information during the travel to and from Versailles and during the palace and garden tour. We would definitely recommend this tour.

Special Offer
$125.84 Save $12.59

From USD $ 113.25

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 18+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2050PLUSVR_VE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message