• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 1182 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  4-8 hrs

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1182 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

the driver was very nice, but he was an hour late. it cut our time out. The palace was packed and impossible to hear the earphone audio. I did like the gardens. Would not recommend this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Full day with great leisurely lunch, wine included. Tour was in depth, and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and easy going. A true full tour, visiting 4 sites.

Steve
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic day with a guide who knew how to make the whole day run smoothly .exactly on time for everything ,and although the palace was very busy he tried to make us have an individual experience

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The driver / guide was bit late 2 arrive at our hotel but he was very knowledgeable guy. The tour time given by our driver at versailles palace gate was way too short to cover the whole area n that too without any guide inside the huge palace.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our driver (Louis) was wonderful. He shared a lot of information about the city of Paris and helped us on our way after the tour. The Small Group Tour was nice, however the hearing devices did not work very well. Our guide at Versailles (Natasha) did her best to share the information with us. She was also very kind and helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Overall the tour was very good. The guide was a little slow in warming up to the group but did become quite personable. He was very knowledgeable about Versailles' gardens and palace. It seemed to take a little while for him to get our listeners but there was quite a few groups that he had to deal with.

The biggest peeve we had with the tour was the amount of time that was wasted on lunch. Although the food was good, we spent two hours at the restaurant. We would have preferred having more time to look around the sites.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A GREAT DAY with a GREAT TOUR GUIDE
We were collected on time from our apartment by our English Guide, IAN who was a well spoken and very experienced and knowledgable leader.
After picking up two additional Aussies we set off for the 40 minute trip to Versailles, with Ian painting a detailed but easily understood picture of the world of Louis XIV in Paris and how and why Versailles was established.
on arrival at Versaille we has time to look around the appoach to the Chateau before bypassing the 400m long queue to enter the Chateau at out allotted time.
The inside of the chateau was very congested as expected but we shuffled our way through the many amazing rooms with Ian explaining the history and uses of each of the rooms as well as the working of the court of the time. Imagine being "on show" from getting out of bed to going to bed !!!
After we escaped the crowds in the chateau we were set free to wander the VAST gardens before meeting up again for the INCLUDED 3 course lunch with wine in one of the on site restaurants.
The meal was enjoyable and surprisingly filling - and we even received an extra caraffe of wine free.
(Too much trouble for the bar staff - lucky for us)
After lunch we continued our tour of the Grand and Petit Trianons and also Marie Antionettes retreat until we all climbed back into out tour van exhausted. Quite a good deal of walking was done that day.

This tour is a full day - but a very enjoyable day. and be sure to ask for IAN from Lancaster.
He made it fun and very educational.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

If you only have a couple of days in Paris then this is an ideal tour. A small group made transport to / from Versailles relatively quick; the wait to go in was short and tolerable; the audio guide essential. If we had more time then I would have booked the all day tour; the gardens alone will take hours to fully explore and admire.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

If you only have a couple of days in Paris then this is an ideal tour. A small group made transport to / from Versailles relatively quick; the wait to go in was short and tolerable; the audio guide essential. If we had more time then I would have booked the all day tour; the gardens alone will take hours to fully explore and admire.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It's one of the tours you "need" to do in Paris. I was happy with the half day. A full day might have been too much. Plenty of people though!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Versailles was a wonderful place, but WAY too crowded. Our driver did not offer any tips or directions that might have benefitted us in negotiating the crowds. If so crowded, the duration should be extended to allow for enough time in the palace and gardens. The visit was way too brief. Also, combining audio and guided tours, as well as multi-lingual guests is distracting and time consuming. Basically, the visit was too brief, and no helpful information was shared because our tour guide was more concerned with the other passengers who were taking a personalized tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our day in Versailles. Our guide was very knowledgeable and, being a small group of 7, we had the opportunity of being able to garner more information from him than had it been a big group. I would give this tour a high rating and believe the additional cost associated with the small group tour, is well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The small tour was excellent. Our guide Selena, was helpful and as I needed a wheelchair, she was easily able to arrange this. We could Not see the gardens at all and the bus might be included in this tour as one could only see the gardens if one were a runner.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The ride out to Versailles was very interesting as the guide informed us of sights along the way. She provided us with personal audio guides which were easy to use. The gardens were so vast and beautiful, didn't have time to see much, and besides, it was so cold and windy even with the sun out. The palace is so impressive and ornate. The hall of mirrors with all those chandeliers would have been even more impressive if the chandelier crystals were cleaned.so that they would sparkle in the sunlight.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

You don't get the full "effect" of being at Versailles if you don't have a knowledgable guide to inform you of what you are seeing and some of the history and background of Versailles. Don't miss out on the Versailles Garden which is included and well worth it! Lunch, which was also included in this tour, was surprisingly good!

From USD $ 137.13

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 18+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2050PLUSVR_VE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message