4.5 star rating: Recommended 123 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Versailles Walking Tour with Optional Fountain Show. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 123 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Janelle L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our walking tour of Versailles and would highly recommend it to anyone with a reasonable level of fitness. We found it informative, interesting, and fun. Our guide was knowledgeable, and kept us interested throughout the day. Versailles is a beautiful place to visit, and we learned a lot, and had a great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

It was great. Do the whole day if possible; it is massive and it takes time to see it all. This is highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

It was a great day. We saw so much and really got a lot of history along with all of the interesting sites. The guide was very knowledgeable and very friendly. The smaller group also added to the enjoyment.

Louise S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

The Versailles tour was brilliant. The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly and had a great sense of humour. We were spoilt from the beginning to the end. The meal was also great. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants an interesting and entertaining day. Wear your walking shoes.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

We did the full day tour with lunch. While I would highly recommend the full day at Versailles, I would not recommend the lunch. Either bring your own or have lunch at one of the other restaurants. Lunch was dried out, and the service was "tour group" service. Our guides for the day were fantastic and had a great knowledge base. It was clear they were really interested in the subject matter. Versailles itself was amazing. I loved all of it and felt I had just enough time to see everything and not feel rushed. I don't know how anyone does the whole place in a half day. This tour was well organized and enjoyable, worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

Do the all day. The half day only does the main building and to us the highlight was the rest of the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

We debated between the half day tour and the full day and were very happy that we chose the full day. Very interesting and thorough guide. Excellent!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Excellent guide. Thorough knowledge of French history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

We had a wonderful guide, he brought history alive. We really enjoyed every moment of the day. Also we felt safe as he was so careful of counting heads before moving on. He really made the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Amazing tour! Well organized with excellent tour guide who was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Small group format makes experience much more personal. Definitely one of the highlights of our Paris trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Outstanding. The guide was helpful and witty.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Excellent tour, and I was very impressed with the restaurant choice. Guides really knew the site, and I could tell they loved talking about Versailles!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great tour guide! Absolutely worth it. Did not do the lunch so I could check out all the gardens, which was a great idea, then met back up with the group after they ate to continue the guided tour. Well worth it. Could not have been happier!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our guide was tremendous! His English accent was as good as my own, though he was French. He was funny, entertaining, and full of information. All of us, including our 4 children, absolutely loved this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

EXCELLENT!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I've been to Versailles several times but always the half day tour. I HIGHLY recommend the full day to all. There things you see that you can not imagine.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2008

The tour was great, be sure to take the full day tour and see Marie Antoinette's Hamlet. It was the highlight of the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2008

The Versailles trip was well worth the cost. Despite rainy weather all afternoon, the tour went smoothly. I have taken three tours with this company and all have been worth the price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2008

This tour was the best tour that we went on throughout our entire trip. The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the place and very friendly. The whole day was well planned and it didn't feel rushed like some others have felt. I would definitely recommend to all my friends.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

I can only say the trip was phenomenal, and it is a must-see. The tour director was great, knowledgeable and personable. Worth every penny.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. It is a long day, but worth it. I don't think the grandeur of Versailles can be fully appreciated unless you do the whole day tour. Our guide was a lovely young woman who was able to answer all of our questions and give an insight into the history of this amazing place.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

If you want to see Versailles, you must book a tour. It's ridiculous to get into the Palais even with a prepaid on-line "Passport." Our guide Joelle was great - very informative and interesting. The Palais is wall-to-wall people, and frankly there are other better places to see awesome, original interiors. The gardens at Versailles are the "must see." They go on, and on, and on, and on. Really beautiful and eye opening. Make sure to visit Vaux Le Vicompte, the inspiration for Versailles. It's gorgeous and not crowded.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

overall we had a good experience. Do NOT purchase a 1/2 day tour - you won't have enough time. They start at 9:00, get to Versailles by 10:00 AM, walk you trough the palace til 11:00 AM and expect you to be on a bus back at 12:00 = not enough time.

We had a full day tour with lunch and it was a right thing to do. The fountains didn't work and that was a minus, but otherwise we were happy we booked the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

While Versailles is a fabulous place to see, getting there on a big bus was less than enjoyable and being herded through the place with a crush of people was not what I expected. Lunch was ok but took a lot of time away from viewing the castle. However, the time at the TriAnon was wonderful - enchanting place and worth all the negatives involved. That would be a great trip all by itself. Our guide was very good.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

We did the whole day tour which showed us more of the grounds than just the palace. i was looking forward to the horse and cart ride advertised for Winter but apparently they have not done this for 2 years.

From USD $ 168.65

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2050VT_VTG

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message