4.5 star rating: Recommended 123 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Versailles Walking Tour with Optional Fountain Show. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 123 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Excellent tour. Our guide Laurence (Sorry we can't remember how to spell it) was excellent also. Very informative and relaxed day with lunch at a lovely restaurant.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Minor hiccup at the beginning of the tour where we had to wait to get in, however it did not ruin the day. Versailles is beautiful and our tour guide was very knowledgable and told very interesting stories. DO THE FULL DAY TOUR!! you will spend a lot more time in the gardens and the pace is not rushed at all.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Versailles is wonderful. Our guide was wonderful in the castle and in the garden. We loved every minute of the all day walking tour. If you get the chance, be sure to see the fountains.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

We had a wonderful guide for a group of 23. She was informative without being boring. Lunch was good.The extra free time to explore the grounds could never be long enough since the area is so massive. I would highly recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Palace tour was OK but too many people squeezing into the rooms. This should be managed better. We were not guided at the fountains show and so nearly missed the musical dancing fountains. We were not guided in the Gardens and so missed some of them. Trianons and Hamlet were great and these are a must on any tour of Versailles.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

The tours and lunch were fantastic, and the guide was very professional and entertaining. Our only complaint was that we did not see the Fountain Show, even though we were there on Saturday when the shows were on. We were told that the schedule did not allow for it. However, we believe that rearranging a few items would have made it possible to see the show. Very disappointing.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Well worth the money we paid for the tour. The bus trip - better than expected, the tour guide great, they could work on improving the lunch. Was up to the standard of a good french lunch.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

The trip to Versailles was excellent value for money, the three course lunch included was excellent. The interpreter in the morning was very good however the one in the afternoon was very poor. I got lost and he had no intrest in stopping to find me, my mother inlaw had to refuse to move another step before he decided to try and find me. His english was hard to understand.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

great tour overall. our guide was very informative, gave lots of good information. only dissappointing part was that we didnt get to walk around Versailles garden, only through it on our way to dinner. Would have like more time to see a bit of the gardens. Dinner was good, maybe took a bit too long, (was a little over an hour) but its my opinion, i would rather see the sights than take a hour lunch! Long lines everywhere at Versailles, but with this tour we moved through them pretty quickly. Good tour for first time to Versailles tourists.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very enjoyable and worthwhile.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Our guide was very knowledgable. I booked the Saturday date because I wanted to see the Fountain show- -that is what the title says. Our guide told us that there wasn't time and we would need come back another day! Yea, right. I would have preferred the option of exiting her commentary and meeting up with the group after the show.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

We had a wonderful guide who was very knowledgeable about Versailles. However, there was A LOT of walking. If you have bad knees or other problems problems walking, skip this one. I don't and I still had difficulty by the end of the tour. Our guide estimated 7 to 8 kilometers (4 to 5 miles) and that is no exaggeration. The tour is wonderful and lunch was very good. I am so glad we got to see the Trianons and Marie Antoinette's hamlet. This is a very enjoyable tour and a great way to see Versailles.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

The trip itself was pretty nice. The guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The main palace at Versailles is a total zoo. You are literally pushed from one room to another. This is not the fault of the tour though, rather just the number of guests in the palace. Lunch was nice, as well as touring the other parts of the grounds.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

The tour was very good. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. She also was understandable

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Great day..lots of walking but you REALLY WANT to! Lunch is AMAZING! Had a great day...would have given 5stars except for the fact that we originally booked a small group tour and ended up having to do a big bus tour because AFTER they had accepted our booking then it wasn't available! We are more small group people rather than massive tour people!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

We enjoyed the tour a great deal. Seeing the Grand and Petit Trianons and the Hamlet were worth the time spent at Versailles. The guide was knowledgeable and had a good sense of humour. It was very crowded but the guide seemed to get us to the things we needed to see effectively. A couple of hiccups - when we arrived at the departure point there was some confusion as to where to go. We were sitting in the agency waiting to be guided to another bus but I think we would have been missed if we didn't go back outside ourselves. Also, some people did not have working headsets. When the place was so crowded, you needed the headset to hear the guide. Finally, Versailles is closed on Mondays and the crowds in the main chateaux are huge on Tuesdays. Go on a different day if possible.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Definitely worthwhile. The only criticism is that there should be time alloted for taking pictures of the garden FROM the palace, given that pictures taken at the garden level do not allow a fully detailed view of the beauty of these gardens. Otherwise fantastic. The guide was very knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed it.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Make sure to wear very comfortable and supportive shoes as this tour is a lot of walking. I'm a fairly young dancer, in great shape, and my legs shins and calfs were killing me by the end. I don't know how some of the older tourists in our group did it.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

The tour was great! Unfortunately, we lost at least 30 minutes while our guide took care of someone physically unable to take the tour. This was no fault of the tour guide. However, it impacted the amount of time we were able to view the fountains and that was the main reason we took the tour as we had previously been to Versailles.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

This was well conducted and the guide was lively and very knowledgeable. The group size was a little too large though so that it was some times quite difficult to hear what was being said. We also just didn't like Versailles but it's certainly worth seeing yourself.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

This all day tour was definitely a good one. The individual audio equipment made it easy to hear the tour guide. Be prepared for crowds in the palace! The garden tour part was spectacular. Lunch was excellent, and the wine was a nice extra touch. I would recommend adding bathroom breaks. I didn't have as much time to observe the fountain show because I was in line for the bathroom at the palace for such a long time. I also would have liked time for shopping at the gift shops. Part of the experience is taking something back with you. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining!

Carolyn M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

We took the whole day tour without the lunch option. We therefore had time to kill at lunch, and there were other things to see that weren't included in the tour. If we had known that, we could have seen them in the spare time, so while the tour was great, be warned that even the whole day tour does not cover the entire palace.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

Great trip. Unfortunately you are rushed through and very crowded, something the tour can't help. If you sign up for the seven hour tour get ready to walk a lot!! Very nice lunch, great desert!!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

Very poorly organised initially as we kept being redirected from one coach to another at the meeting point. Thereafter it was very good with an excellent tour of the royal apartments, time for a stroll on our own and a walk to the other apartments in the gardens. Be aware that the walk is very long and hot. Pity the fountains were not working!

From USD $ 168.61

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2050VT_VTG

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message