4.5 star rating: Recommended 123 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Best Versailles Walking Tour with Optional Fountain Show. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 123 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

It was a great trip but a full day of walking. We didn't pick the lunch package and it worked out fine as there were other options. It would be really nice to see the fountain show which I think was really under promoted. It was great to have a guide on hand I wouldn't have wanted it any other way.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Go in spring time.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

Our guide was excellent. Sign up for the full day, the afternoon "walking tour" is a highlight and a must see of the gardens and other areas. We enjoyed the fountain show also.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Guide was not as proficient in English thus it detracted from experience. Should include transportation from Gardens to Little Trianon and then to bus. Extensive walking so not recommended for persons having difficulty walking or standing for 7+ hours.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Very long day and unexpected long distances to walk. Recommend stressing proper foot wear. We had comfortable shoes but I heard grumblings from others. Guide was well versed although in a 'rush'. Restaurant meal was wonderful.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

As to be expected Versailles was packed so going through the Palace was a challenge which the guide managed well. We could have ended the tour here and been quite happy but we went for the full day tour including lunch, fountain show and gardens. The fountain show even though we had paid for the additional entrance fee we didn't get to see as we were in the palace at the time. Which I thought was not very well organised as it was an advertised event. When i asked about it, the guide said the timing wasn't right. I wanted to ask for my 8 Euros back! Lunch was nice and the gardens were spectacular and trianon etc nice. It was a lot of walking and quite a few of the older people on the tour were complaining that the guide didn't stop enough. So if you dont like to walk all day, do the half day tour. After we book this tour we were told that the Versailles and Gilverney tour was great, that Gilverney was better than Versaille as it wasn't as crowded. But hey thats Europe - crowded and long lines for the ladies!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Your information DID NOT indicate how much walking would be required. This would have been helpful for several of us in our group. We were fortunate to have a good guide, but the guide of the accompaning group was impatient.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

Great trip, enjoyed it very much. The Palace was very crowded. It was difficult to understand what our guide was saying because of his strong French or Spanish accent and faulty mictophone equipment.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

Our guide had such a strong accent we could not understand him. Everyone in our group agreed that they were having difficulty understanding him. We actually lost him at one point. He actually lost one member of our group and her mother had to demand we return to find her. Despite our inadequate guide, Versailles is amazing and we would have missed some of the gardens if he had not directed us.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Tour was just OK. Crowded and impersonal. Enjoyed free Discovery Walks tours much more than those provided.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

We had a large tour group so it was difficult navigating the already crowded rooms of the Versailles Palace. The best part of the day was a tour of the gardens. The gardens are truly marvelous. I would have loved to have had a shorter lunch and instead had more time to see the gardens.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

Logistics were not very well organized. Our group guide, Celeste, was very good. She was friendly and very knowledgable about Versailles.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

Very popular tourist attraction judging by the crowds but once you get used to that, this tour is fairly comprehensive and well-planned.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Guide was nice but not clear and didn't really make the tour come alive in any way. Then for some (probably financial reason) we were joined by Spanish speaking tourists after lunch so our guide had to speak in both Spanish and Eng. Not what we paid for. Very average. Wouldn't recommend.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

This wasa disappointing tour. The organiisation at the tour operator was appalling: not clear and very confusing. The organisation once we reached Versailles was just as bad: no clear communciation regarding establishing the groups, supplying of audio equipment and understandign what we were doing. We were not provided with maps or overview regarding the limited facilities at Versailles.The guide knew the details but needs some attention to managing a group of people who need a greater sense of the day ahead.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

The tour was not the same as indicated in your promotion. We especially chose the Saturday so that we could see the fountain show. We kept asking the guide about it but he kept fobbing us off. Finally they showed us their booklet and there was no such tour advertised.We were very disappointed and detered from making bookings before we left.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

I specifically booked the tour for the fountain how, only to be told after lun ch at Versailles that the tour guide was not aware of this and so i again did not get to see the fountain show. I was not impressed.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

The morning part of the tour was good, but it then went downhill. As you well know, there are many tour company options for Versailles, and I chose Viator largely because of the promise of going to La Flotille restaurant. I called Viator and verified the restaurant and also that I would be able to order off the menu. I was very disappointed that what was promised was not delivered! The tour director took us to eat at La Petite Venise. It was a set menu for the group, chicken, and I called because I strongly prefer meat and potatoes. The restaurant did not face the Grand Canal and only provided an inside patio view. Another major flaw with the tour was that in the morning there were two guides, one providing commentary in Spanish for part of the group and another doing commentary in English for the rest of the group. However, in the aternoon, the guide doing the Spanish commentary left, and the other guide had to continue with the entire group by himself in both English and Spanish. This caused the afternoon session to drag. Also, since he was doing it in two languages, I'm sure he limited his comments and shortchanged each group on comments that he probably would have provided if he had the time and energy of one group only.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2009

You are better off taking your own tour or booking through another company. This tour was rushed, disorganized, and overpriced.

Jackie
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2011

Versaille was amazing but unfortunately we had a really boring tour guide who we could barely understand and who was not in the slightest bit interested in connecting with his group-very disappointing.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2011

2 years ago we hired your company and was picked up from the hotel by a well informed guide who took care of everthing for us. Loved it. This time we took a group tour and disliked it. The guide was terrible. You could not find her. She had nothing to distinquish her in the crowd and she was VERY unorganized. We had to take a cab back to the hotel.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2010

The tour was not worth the money paid. It was so brief and really felt like a rip off.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2008

The actual tour of the rooms in the Palace of Versailles was only 45 minutes and it was just too fast. After 45 minutes, the rest of the day is spent walking through the gardens and Marie Antoinette's home is shown at the very end of the tour for about an hour. We were in no mood to walk for three hours through the gardens and so we ditched the tour and did everything ourselves. The fountain show is much more spectacular after dark with the fountain lights on but the tour ends by 4pm. This tour just wasn't for us and even though we lost the money spent, I'm glad we didn't stick around.

From USD $ 170.44

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2050VT_VTG

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message