4.5 star rating: Recommended 923 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  9 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Versailles and Giverny Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 923 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Loved the tour Giverny was wonderful I am happy to have visited the gradens.
Lunch was well above the tour lunches I have had previously, have had tour lunches before usually not good.
Versailles was good the crowd and heat made it hard work but these are things you cannot change

Huyen
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My husband and I enjoyed this trip. Really worth the price since you're getting lunch as well. Lunch wasn't impressive but it was decent and substantial. A great supplement to any Paris trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Definitely a trip worth going on. It was very well organised and we had a super guide, all four of us agreed that Jean-Louis really helped to make the trip a great success. He was informative, entertaining and very clear about how much time we had to wander around on our own and how to find our way back to the coach. Versailles was packed but he managed to keep us all together and we could always see exactly where he was – no mean feat in the crush of so many groups going around at the same time. Monet’s garden was wonderful even thought we had a shower or two of gentle summer rain, it almost made it more enjoyable and there were trees to shelter under. The two chaps in our party aren’t normally interested in gardens but they loved it too. Versailles was opulent, over the top and a sight not to be missed – it helps you to understand why the ordinary French people resented the excessive riches of their royal family. Be prepared for the crowds, it was very busy and very hot on the day we went. Lunch was fine but not outstanding, however, the venue itself was great and the resident cat was cute. She worked out we were the ones who would feed her and shared our salmon and chicken but when the pudding came out she was nowhere to be seen – obviously knew it was apple pie and not fit for cat consumption. If you have limited time in Paris and want to pack in quite a lot this one day trip is well worth doing and, if you are very lucky, you will have Jean-Louis for your guide, I don’t think we could have had anyone better to take us around.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fabuulous. Guide was very knowledgable, and it was great to see these two sites in one day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very Well Done! This is a perfect example of “You get what you pay for”. Although the double tour was pricey, it was well worth it. The tour was very well organized with courteous and knowledgeable guides. The buses were clean, new and roomy.
Versailles: Although I feel this is an attraction that shouldn’t be missed, I think there could definitely be improvements within the palace itself (not the tour). It was what I’d consider dangerously crowded and very hot inside and I've been to some crowded places! Bathrooms, were in trailers and not adequate to handle the crowd, especially women. Lunch: Lovely, beautiful setting.
Giverny: Magical!!! I loved everything about this place from the house to the gardens and literally felt like I was walking in a Monet painting. An absolute treasure!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A wonderful tour. The guides were knowledgeable and accommodating. They shared interesting information but we also had time to explore on our own. The lunch stop was located in a glorious setting. The food there was o.k. - not great, but o.k. I would have liked a little more time to wander the beautiful grounds of Versailles but other than that, we really enjoyed it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guides were fantastic, fun and very informative. Giverny's gardens were beautiful. Versailles' palace was extravagant. Bus trip was very well organized. I highly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

If you've ever thought you'd like to see Monet's Garden, GO! It was so much more than I could have ever imagined! We toured London, Paris, and Rome; Giverny was the highlight for me. Lunch at the Inn was nice, although I would have sacrificed it for either more time in Monet's Garden or more time at Versailles.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very nice tour! Giverny gorgeous. Versailles very nice but crowded. Tour guides VERY knowledgeable, friendly, and make tour special. Highly recommended,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Visiting Giverny was so beautiful. Finding the exit out was rather confusing.

Lunch was excellent..paired with wine.
Versailles was way too crowded and too stuffy when Inside. Not enough ventilation. Air Con should be turned on.
Tour was rated expensive..in US $$!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Giverny was one of the high points of our entire trip. The gardens are incredibly lush (and the pond incredibly noisy with frogs - unexpected), the house is well maintained. The tour seemed to expect we didn't need much explanation, which is probably justified. Absolutely stunning.
Versailles was nightmarishly crowded, but I think this was just a matter of timing; others with previous experience said they'd never seen it so crowded. It was impossible to pay attention to anything other than keeping one's balance, until we got to the gardens. Not Viator's fault, obviously!
In between, a stop for lunch at a nice spot in the country, which does a remarkably good job of servicing 100-200 people a day (waiter's estimate).
The tour was efficient, the double-decker bus comfortable, the driver expertly skilled, the guides pleasant and informative without being overly directive. I recommend this trip without hesitation; just try to time it to avoid such an intense crowd. Unless you are a sardine.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great day with sufficient time for each location.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Everything was was just great,Especially the lunch. I wish there was some way to spend more time in the gardens in Giverny. More time in the Gardens would make the trip perfect.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Even though the weather was challenging we had a wonderful day at Monet's house and garden and palace of Versailles. The guide was informative and delightful. Thank you Viator!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fantastic day tour. Possibly could've had more free time at the Versailles gardens.

From USD $ 244.15

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 18+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2050GV_GVE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message