5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1263 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Versailles by Bike Day Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1263 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My wife and I highly recommend this tour!! We cannot say enough good things about it and it turned out to be one of the highlights of our multi-city tour of Europe. It was unique, informative and, above all, fun. You first meet at a spot near the Eiffel tower and take the metro to a spot closer to Versailles where you pick up your bike. Then you ride through some side streets to a local market to pick up lunch we got wine, cheese, a baguette, some tapenade, and a baguette sandwich. My wife and I also ate a breakfast crepe at the exact spot where we parked our bikes in the market. It was delicious!! From the market, we rode to a back entrance to Versailles. The paths there were easy to ride and just beautiful. We stopped a couple of different places where our tour guide gave us some history of Versailles and, in particular, of Marie Antoinette and the Petit and Grand Trianons. It was very interesting. We then stopped for about 45 minutes at the Petit Trianon and Marie Antoinette's Hameau and they were both fantastic. After that we biked to the Grand Canal for our half-hour picnic lunch and some pictures. From there we biked further around the Grand Canal and out of Versailles to turn the bikes back in. Afterward, our tour guide gave us tickets to get in to Versailles and set us free to explore at our own pace for the rest of the day and get back on our own. All in all, it was just a spectacular day and Versaille itself is just an astounding place to visit. We had great weather we went in early May and I'm sure that contributed significantly to our enjoyment, but if there is even a chance of good weather for the dates you'll be in the area, you should do this tour. You will absolutely not regret it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The other reviews pretty much sum it up - a delightful day avoiding the crowds and queues except in the palace which can't be helped. Despite the rain everyone was cheerful and Paddy very knowledgeable. He was a star and even loaned his waterproof to someone who only had a lightweight top on. It did rain so do check the forecast and go prepared, but it didn't dampen the day in any way and by lunch time all had dried out. Watching people trying to ride after consuming most of a bottle of wine was hilarious!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Spectacular tour! Our guide, Matt, was knowledgable and funny. He worked hard to make sure everyone in the group was comfortable and had a great time! Matt gave us ideas on what to purchase for lunch at the market before the trip, and everything he suggested was spot on. A must do trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I cant say enough good things about this tour. Our tourguide Misha was unbelievable! Really knowledgeable and nice thoughtful for everyone's comfort throughout. Really great way to get to see all of Versaille not just the palace itself. Weather was great! Loved it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was the highlight of my trip in Paris. The weather was the best!!! and so was everybody else that day. The bicycle tour idea is just awesome. The guided was very nice, but I sometimes feel like he didn't really master his subject sometimes. But great tour. Thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent guide Valentino, works hard and always some humour. Excellent shoe repairer of blown out Jogger. Would highly recommend. ( get on Valentino's group )
Many Thanks. Phil and Sylvia. Western Australia.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was excellent. Daniele did a great job ad a toyr guide. The chateau eas over crowded and next time i would skip that part.

Regina
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

MUST DO ACTIVITY!
This day tour was an excellent way to see Versailles. Josephine, our guide was fantastic. An easy and beautiful ride through the town, into the farmers market45min to shop, a bit too long in my opinion then on to the actual chateau grounds. I would have liked to picnic longer. Marie Antoinette's petit Trinon and little village was right out of a fairytale. Breath taking gardens, Spring was in full bloom.
This is well worth a full day out of Paris and you cannot beat the value.

Steven T
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide was great! The tour was beyond explaining......glorious! Fat bike tours does it right...we had Dan as a guide and he was the best! Skip the line...awesome......Intown shopping for lunch....a special treat!
Thanks!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great way to see Versailles. Tour guide was very good and looked after us all well. Lots of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would highly recommend this tour. It was fun with beautiful scenery.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a great time - even in the pouring rain! Alexandra was a great guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour and was made even more memorable by our guide Daniele. He was confident and knowledgeable and had lots of anecdotes and facts to make the tour interesting. We actually enjoyed the bike part of the tour more than the tour of the palace as it was very crowded inside. A not to be missed experience when in Paris!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A wonderful day trip from Paris. The bike ride is fun, the local market had great selection of items and the palace although very crowded was breath taking.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very fun way to enjoy Versailles and see much more of it than most visitors do. Plus get a little exercise to boot but not too strenuous. We shopped the Versailles street market for lunch provisions and enjoyed a wonderful picnic along the canal. The guide was fun and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Bicycle tour was a great way to see the grounds of Versailles. Easy, slow paced ride through area. First stop was to shop at the local open market to buy food for our picnic lunch. Wonderful selection of all kinds of food. Our guide, Paddy was fantastic. Very informative and enjoyable to be with!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The bike tour was fun. We enjoyed the market place and then eating our lunch. The guide loved his history and explained the French Revolution better than we learned in school.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic experience! Definitely recommend this tour!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

All of us loved this tour. It was an easy bike ride around the beautiful gardens of Versailles. Our tour guide, Claudia was the best tour guide we had in our 3 week adventure and the Versailles bike trip was certainly one of the many if not the top highlight of the trip. Once at the market she instructed us on her favorite vendors bread, cheese, wine, sausage so we could purchase items our picnic lunch, then lead us around the gardens sharing with us the history of Versailles, then to a lovely view point along the grand canal to sit and enjoying our picnic - the view was awesome. However, the palace tour that followed was not so enjoyable as there were too many people. We could have skipped the palace tour and still been very happy with this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fabulous your. The best part was the bike
Ride through the gardens if Versailles and the village of Marie Antoinette. Our tour guide Drew was great, friendly, knowledgable and fun. The palace itself
Was ok. The day trip to the gardens etc was the highlight .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a tour of a lifetime! I have never seen such a beautiful place. Mischa was so good at describing the history of Versailles that I feel the need to share this experience. Definitely recommend this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My favorite tour! We saw so much, had a picnic lunch where we relaxed on the lawn and just enjoyed being in this magnificent place. No rush, just so much fun!

From USD $ 102.40

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3588VERSA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message