5 star rating: Highly Recommended 242 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 242 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

tour guide was amazing. Stephanie should write a book about French history. She was so entertaining. She was the best guide our family ever had. My teenage girls loved her also.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

AWESOME TOUR! highly recommended - we got to see a lot of behind the scenes places and also skip the line which is HIGHLY WORTH IT. Hall of Mirrors along with the gardens were my favorite highlights. this tour even though expensive is worth it though, so much to see that one can easily get lost.

Sonja C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolute delight. Super fun, very informative. Stephanie talks about French kings as if she personally met and knew them. History really does come alive on this day. Loved it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Best tour and am sooooo glad we did this VIP tour..The crowds afterwards was rediculous and would never be as enjoyable as the VIP tour we had..Well worth paying the extra money to see more than the public and having the whole tour limited to only 20 people. It was crazy the crowds afterwards once our tour was over. Would highly recommend this VIP tour. You won't be disapointed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We loved this tour! Our guide during the bus ride (I can't remember her name) was delightful. She came dressed as Marie Antoniette and was extremely knowledgable and entertaining. Our two teenage girls commented that they learned more in the time on the bus with our guide than they did in an entire year of history class. Versailles is amazing and having the ability to skip the lines and gain access to portions of the Palace not open to other groups was well worth the money. Everywhere we looked the crowds were huge and "suffocating". With our private guide we were able to avoid the crowds and actually spend some time in the rooms without being shoved and stepped on. Would highly recommend this tour - it was well worth the money!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic and a great guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was great--did not see the Hall of Mirrors alone but the private apartments and lack of crowd and no waiting in line was terrific. Rented a gold cart to see the gardens and it was great. Steph our tour guide was
TERRIFIC--some of the group was not very polite and very demanding and she handles it very well. Her historic tale was perfect and she had local knowledge too. All in all very worth it--no hassle and saw a great site. Our Guide in Versailles--Ann Marie was also very knowledgeable and answered questions easily. She was good at getting the group through the crowded parts and moving along. Great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Guides were excellent - on the bus to and from and while at Versailles. The private tour was worth the extra cost as no lines. When you finish the private tour go directly to the fountains rather than back into the Palace for 30 minutes as you will see essentially the same thing but with many more people. The gardens are large so you will need all the time to see everything.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Best way to see this wonder!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an amazing tour and well worth the price. Everything from the pickup point to drop off was perfection. The bus driver was excellent and charming. The bus tour guide was so knowledgeable and interesting to listen to as we hung on to her every word. Upon arrival we knew we had done the right thing by booking this tour as the wait line looked impossible. When turned over to the Versailles docent we were once again very pleased. She was most knowledgeable and her English was quite good. The audio system was excellent in that we could hear her from any position we found ourselves. It was wonderful as she weaved us through the crowds into doorways for the most wonderful view of times gone by. This tour gave us a solid historic review and a better appreciation for France in her struggle as a nation. Thank you Viator for assisting us with this fantastic experience!
Sincerely, The Atkinson's, USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well this was a great experience from start to finish. The two guides we had both in the bus and at the Palace were fantastic and their knowledge boundless and entertaining. "Boy" The four kings that lived there, Louis 13, Louis 14, Louis 15 and Louis 16 certainly new how to live. This was a jaw dropping experience and just has to be on your "Bucket List" if you are going to Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic, on time, great tour guide, great bus, no lines and access to many rooms that the general public did not have access to - I would highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

THis tour is well worth it. We were there on a a day when all the fountains were also active and playing to the music. Being in a small group made the visit that much nicer, since we were the only ones in some rooms. Avoiding the crowd was a must! We recommend that you rent a golf cart to see the gardens better, since they are such a large thing to see. We definitely recommend this tour!!!

By the way, we had 9 people in our family group, and the total size of the tour was only 16 people. You felt really special going to places where most people could not go in the palace.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Well this certainly did bypass the queues. Great to view areas of this stunning location without the crowds. Just managed the 'Hall of Mirrors' before the crowds arrived so we were able to take some beautiful photo's before retreating once again to the private apartments. Certainly worth what we paid highly recommended excellent tour guide. Jenny Anderson

From USD $ 323.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5622VERSAILLESPARVIP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message